We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best family vacation ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa

Save Saved
You added DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa
Quebrada Seca | 400 M Este from Costanera, Jaco 4132, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room+free dinner
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Jaco
Long Island, NY
1 review
“Best family vacation ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

We had the pleasure of staying at the Doce Lunas Hotel this past February. It has beautiful resort like grounds with a small hotel feel. It was quiet and peaceful, especially in the morning, when all you could hear were the birds chirping. Weather was fantastic and the kids particularly enjoyed the pool, with the waterfall cave. Pool also has a shallow end which was perfect for my two year old to wade around in and play. Staff at the hotel was friendly and accomodating. Rooms were extremely spacious and clean. We stayed in one of the family suites, which had ample room for me my husband and our two kids. Rooms also had fridges and coffee makers so we were able to buy some groceries at the local bodegas and relax in the mornings.
Our only issue with Doce Lunas, if you could call it that, was that breakfast didn't begin to be served until 9am and when you are traveling with small kids (2&4 year olds) they are up way before 9am. However, a coffee maker and coffee were provided in rooms. Restaurant/ Bar area was a beautiful open air area. All meals we had were delicious, staff even prepared Super Bowl Patry for us. However, everything takes a long time so just have to be aware and order way before you want to eat. We also took a really great yoga class at the rooftop yoga studio. It was a great way to start the day!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    24
    8
    6
    9
See reviews for
50
99
32
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

If you want to go to Jaco and have a car, this is a good choice. Disappointed in the pool area but the landscaping was done very well. The visiting chef from NYC made an excellent vegetarian meal for my husband.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

Report from Jaco, Costa Rica

One of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed anywhere is Docelunas in Jaco, Costa Rica. It’s totally unassuming as you drive up but once you enter the grounds you are swept away into a world of delight. The grounds are gorgeous, flowers abounding everywhere, beautiful birds cruising through daily. The pool has a tiled sunburst on the bottom and a sweet little waterfall you can sit behind and wash away your troubles, if you still have any after arriving.
The rooms are beautiful. Original art work in all the rooms all tastefully decorated and super comfortable and clean with plenty of hot water.
The staff was kind and courteous. The owner, Chris is the coolest guy ever, who we spent time with around the bar eating, drinking and laughing. Did I mention that the food is outstanding? I had the best meal in all of Costa Rica there.
There is a lot to do in the surrounding area if you get tired of lounging around or doing yoga at the hotel.
What can I say more except if you are going to Jaco, you MUST stay at Docelunas.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Doce Lunas resort and spa over Halloween weekend of 2009, and it was a blast. The resort is nestled on a quiet hillside and was absolutely beautiful. There was a masseuse there, great food and drink, and a very hard working staff who made sure our stay was perfect. My girlfriend loves Halloween and heard about how great it is to be in Jaco for the festivities, but we never imagined the resort itself went all out themselves. They turned the grounds into a haunted house walk through that many of the locals came to venture through, there was a great band from the states that played through the night, and an artist who painted the party as it happened. The staff was great and for as hard as they worked, barely made a sound. I cannot say enough about that pool either, except for you have to see it for yourself....so relaxing!! When we were'nt being pampered we ventured out to the local shops and eateries that were only minutes away. We cannot wait to go back down again and visit Jaco..... Doce Lunas, here we come!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

I visited Costa Rica last week for a Bikram Yoga Retreat and was BLOWN AWAY by the experience I had at this hotel. It truly exceeded my expectations in every way. The staff is so friendly and helpful, the rooms were huge and nicer than expected, and the pool is fantastic. The grounds are beautiful and very well kept - like a gorgeous botanical garden. The yoga room is set up high with a nice view of the grounds, it is very nice and clean and perfect for yoga - Bikram, hatha, vinyasa, or whatever style you prefer. The hotel was quiet and serene - perfect for a peaceful gettaway. Dee, the yoga instructor and retreat organizer, is wonderful and a true pleasure to work with - she gave fantastic advice and did a great job organizing our retreat and excursions. Brian, the manager, is incredibly helpful and hospitable - going out of his way to make sure my group had everything we needed for an enjoyable stay. The Chef was amazing - our meals were healthy with the freshest ingredients, fine dining quality, and reasonably priced. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

Doce Lunas Hotel and staff were amazing! The moment we arrived we were catered too and made sure that our needs were attended too. We were traveling with two young children and extended family. The resort is a wonderful size for families with young children as it is not overwhelming, beautiful grounds that made you feel in the rainforest and the most beautiful yoga studio overlooking the tree tops! The yoga instructor had a beautiful heart and her class greatly added to our experience. The pool is gorgeous and is extremely toddler friendly. The rooms were beautifully decorated by the beauty of nature, great size for families and extremely clean. The food was so fresh and delicious that we looked forward to each meal. The kitchen staff would make everything from scratch with local foods and make anything 4 hungry children under 6 yrs. desired (what a treat for parents!). The staff was so polite and eager to make our stay exceptional....they made our trip so easy with children - Mom and Dad was able to relax!!! It was refreshing to stay in an authentic Costa Rican hotel that was stripped down of a lot of Americanization (gift shops and tall buildings) instead we were surrounded more by the beauty of the country and the people of Costa Rica.

Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

One of the nicest hotels you will find in Costa Rica. 20 spacious and tastefully decorated rooms, all set in beautiful gardens connected to a jungle in the back of the property. It has a beautiful pool, complete with waterfall, surrounded by exotic plants and big old-growth trees. A spa and yoga center offer everything you need to find your internal balance and feel young and healthy. Only a few kilometers away from downtown Jaco and the beach, with their never ending parties, loud bars and restaurants, Doce Lunas offers the greatest relaxed night sleep in a cool, comfortable room located in a natural setting you cannot find in any other hotel in this area.
Great restaurant, great food and a friendly staff - this is definitely a place you want to spend your vacation.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa

Address: Quebrada Seca | 400 M Este from Costanera, Jaco 4132, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jaco
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#7 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoceLunas is a spectacular Four Star hotel with five acres of tropical gardens at the base of a cool jungle covered mountain. Coatimundi, kinkajou, anteaters, toucans, and scarlet macaws can be seen here. We have a lovely mosaic lined pool with a waterfall cave, a full services spa, and daily yoga classes. Check out our excellent reviews and come join us in paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Docelunas Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Jaco
Docelunas Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Doce Lunas Hotel
Doce Lunas Resort
DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.