We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends came down and stayed here for husband's 50th birthday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa to your Saves list
DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa
Quebrada Seca | 400 M Este from Costanera, Jaco 4132, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Jaco, Costa Rica
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friends came down and stayed here for husband's 50th birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I live in Jaco and earlier this year friends of mine were looking for a place to go & stay for a 50th birthday celebration. I put my friends Mark & Kim directly in touch with Chris, the owner of Doce Lunas. He gave them great personalized service as well as tips & insights for viewing flowers, birds & animals located on the property. My friends had an amazing (first) trip to Costa Rica. I would happily recommend Doce Lunas to anyone look for a quiet, peaceful getaway, close enough to everything while still feeling like you're in the middle of the jungle.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    25
    8
    8
    9
See reviews for
53
103
33
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dominical, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I stayed recently at the Doce Lunas hotel right outside of Jaco, Costa Rica. We were not planning on staying there, but turned into the resort to just check it out, and ended up having a really pleasant 3 days there. It is not right at the beach, but actually that was kind of welcome because so many places in Jaco are crowded and noisy, and this place was secluded and peaceful. Nice restaurant, really nice and spacious rooms, and a great swimming pool. Overall the money we spent there was less than if we had stayed in town and put up with the noise and the hustlers in Jaco itself. I recommend this to any real travelers who are looking for quality and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Doce Lunas was a wonderful surprise and very conveniently located close to Jaco but not in the middle of town. The grounds are exquisite and the whole property is spotless and well maintained with a fabulous variety of tropical plants. The open air bar is a great spot to enjoy an ice cold cerveza and have a snack at any time of the day or night.
The rooms are spacious, clean and bright, just as I like them and the swimming pool sparkled and was very inviting on a hot day.
As a resident of Costa Rica I am very fussy about where I stay and can honestly recommend this gem of a hotel with no reservation.....
High on my list of places that I'd definitely go back to!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Amazing property and amazing service! Stayed here for a business trip and honestly was blown away. Michelle, Rafael and Roney really made us feel at home and management was wonderful to deal with! Highly recommend the Aztec soup and continental breakfast. Yoga class was also top notch and so was pool area. Wonderful array of nature and animals, we even saw monkeys!

Room Tip: I highly suggest the Aztec soup and also renting a car to take a day trip to Manuel Antonio. Memo th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

As wedding photographer I travel from hotel to hotel and Doce Lunas was one of my favorite places during 2013 weddings. A wedding is not an easy task to arrange and takes lots of planning and Dolce Lunas team did a great work! Amazing is that the owner of Dolce Lunas is always available for the couple and open for any change if requiered! Not many places will provide that flexibility and that showed me that they really care about the wedding day! You can feel that Doce Lunas is working to have everything perfect and under control so the couple can enjoy a great time with their family and friends.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

15 of us stayed here here for an event in october. It was bloody magic! staff were super nice, food awesome, pool was lovely. the location is just amazing. all tucked inside a jungle. no one wanted to leave after our week was up. it took a crow bar to remove a few of the group who seems determined to live there for the rest of their days,. haha.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had a wedding here during the first week of May. 38 of our closest family and friends attended. Brian, one of the hotel owners, did an excellent job in planning the wedding and went above and beyond to make our wedding more than we could have dreamed of. From the day we decided to host our wedding in Jaco, Brian assisted us in every detail, making planning the wedding a breeze. Brian offered several suggestions including florists and photographers to choose from (both were top notch).

Our guests, who have never been to Costa Rica, were beyond pleased with the tucked away location of the hotel, the quality and cleanliness of the rooms, the delicious food, and friendly staff. Brian did an excellent job coordinating our guests’ stays, including transportation from the airport.

We attended a yoga class, at the hotel, that was instructed by Phoebe. There were several beginners in the class and she could not have been more accommodating and helpful in her instruction.

The accommodations were custom to our needs and every effort was made to ensure our stay was a positive experience. If Brian was not on the premises he was never further than a phone call away. Should you be in need of a laid back yet service oriented hotel, DoceLunas is your place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa

Address: Quebrada Seca | 400 M Este from Costanera, Jaco 4132, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jaco
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#3 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#6 Family Hotel in Jaco
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoceLunas is a spectacular Four Star hotel with five acres of tropical gardens at the base of a cool jungle covered mountain. Coatimundi, kinkajou, anteaters, toucans, and scarlet macaws can be seen here. We have a lovely mosaic lined pool with a waterfall cave, a full services spa, and daily yoga classes. Check out our excellent reviews and come join us in paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Docelunas Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Jaco
Docelunas Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Doce Lunas Hotel
Doce Lunas Resort
DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.