We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax Relax Relax!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa

Save Saved
You added DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa
Quebrada Seca | 400 M Este from Costanera, Jaco 4132, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Jaco
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Relax Relax Relax!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We needed to get a way and relaxxx... Fished Quepos and Surf Jaco for a couple days...Doce lunas is the place in Jaco to stay. The Owner and Team there are so friendly and warm, The property is maitatned like a Tropical Garden.. Our studio was perfect, and the Kittys are very cool..The Food was Excellent, as I know Food... We will be back at Christmas and with the plans for the Culinary events there maybe soooner!!!! Great spot to relax, and have a cold beverage at the beautiful pool....

Room Tip: they all are great>>>>
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    24
    8
    6
    9
See reviews for
50
99
32
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Doce Lunas is a perfect hotel. It's beautiful and so natural, well maintained rooms and grounds, close to town but tucked away in the jungle that it feels like you are a million miles away from everything. But then it's so close to the best part of Jaco Beach, the south end, one couldn't ask for more. Great restaurant, bar, cool people, for sure would book there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

First and foremost I cannot say enough about the owner Brian. He set up all of our excursions for us and pointed us in the right direction of reputable companies to go through and the right things to spend our time and money on. He also gave us a ride into town one day to rent a car and suggested great restaurants to check out. And if that wasn't enough, he woke up out of bed at 5 am to offer to take us to the airport when our driver (from another unrelated company) didn't show. We really enjoyed the rest of our experience at this small and colorful hotel. We took a yoga class one day and the instructor was awesome. The free breakfast included fresh fruit, eggs, toast, and a yummy home made bread. We also had dinner in the restaurant twice and really liked it. The grounds are beautiful and make you feel like you are staying in the jungle. Our room was spacious and clean. This hotel gave me the experience of being in Costa Rica which is just what I was looking for! I would definitely go back!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stay here every year. The rooms are spacious, clean, and cool. The grounds are beautiful with plenty of trees, and the pool is the most relaxing i have found. Always a nice stay! I would recommend this hotel to my mother.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicottville, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This hotel is about a half mile from the pacific. Easy walk, or $ 3 taxi ride. Private spacious rooms. The most comfortable pool, sunny areas as well as shade. The grounds are well maintained. The restaurant-bar area is casual, comfortable, staffed with friendly bilingual staff. Would not hesitate to rebook! Thanks to chris and brian for their help in planning the rest of our trip!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Docelunas is a great place to stay. We stayed towards the end of February and were glad to be in such a peaceful and quiet place. The pool area with the jacuzzi and waterfall is great. It is a great place to hang out at night and use the jacuzzi or just float in the pool. It is very large and even if others are there you never feel crowded. The chairs and lounge chairs could be updated and have a few more, but were adequate. It would also be great if they offered drinks by the pool at least in the evening. It is s a long walk to the bar. If you want to relax with a drink, plan ahead.

The rooms are huge (junior luxury suite), and so are the bathrooms. The water pressure and hot water were some of the best I have ever had in a hotel, possibly the best. They use an "on-demand" hot water heater(s), which I had installed in a house once. They are the best. There is a placard warning that if the pressure is too low, there might not be any hot water, but the pressure was great the entire time we were there. And this is the dry season.

The restaurant is open air, which we like, although a little buggy at night. The food is good and the package with breakfast included is a good deal. The fruit and sweetbread with the eggs & rice were excellent. We had dinner there once, and it was good. Because they are there for the guests, there were only 3 choices for dinner, but they were all great choices.

We would recommend anyone who wants to visit Jaco and still stay in a peaceful beautiful place, try Docelunas.

Also, the staff were all polite, helpful and pleasant. Brian the owner is great to talk to. And the spa for massages etc. was awesome. I love massages and this was one of the best ever!

Thank you Docelunas staff!

Room Tip: The larger rooms along either of the sidewalks to the restaurant, bar, and yoga studio are quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This hotel is an oasis of peace in the chaos of Jaco. It is set off of the main road that you take from the airport in San Jose, and is about a 5 minute cab ride from downtown Jaco, but it is worlds away from the crazy, touristy main strip.

The hotel grounds a mini rainforest and are absolutely amazing, loaded with tropical plants, trees and flowers. Our room was tucked under a large banyan tree, which added to the rainforest feel. We saw Scarlet Macaws and Toucans while lounging at the pool! The pool was really nice, with a waterfall feature, which was great for cooling off during the heat of the day and a Jacuzzi tub. The rooms were nice and very clean, and the air conditioning made short work of the outside heat.

Without a doubt, the staff made the experience top notch though. Everyone was very attentive and really wanted to make sure our stay was enjoyable, even packing a picnic lunch for us when we day tripped to Manual Antonio National Park, or having a box breakfast ready to go at dinner the night before we went fishing. Rafael at the restaurant was very polite and eager to please and the owner Brian went out of his way to help us. using his extensive knowledge of Costa Rica and fluent Spanish to arrange taxis and activities for us (rainforest zip line tours, horse back riding, waterfalls, day trips to the national parks) and advised us what to do ( like watching the sunset at Villa Caletas) and what not to do.

The restaurant onsite was phenomenal, with a great, covered, outdoor dining area. We ate in Jaco the 1st night, but after that we ate dinner at the hotel, as the food far surpassed anything we could get in town, with a mix of traditional Costa Rican fare (whole roasted snapper), the chef's take on classic recipes (beef tenderloin with hollandaise made with coconut milk) and traditional standards (roast pork loin). They even made a 3 course chef's tasting of the dolphin (mahi mahi) we caught while fishing! The breakfast was great too, and I am still craving the pinto gallo with eggs. Costa Rica grows a lot of fruit and mangos, water melon and pineapple were included at each breakfast. Needless to say, the coffee was very good.

The hotel also offers yoga and massages (which my wife and I both took advantage of) as well as a list of other spa treatments.

Long story short, you will not be disappointed with Docelunas. We will definitely stay here during our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa

Address: Quebrada Seca | 400 M Este from Costanera, Jaco 4132, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jaco
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#7 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoceLunas is a spectacular Four Star hotel with five acres of tropical gardens at the base of a cool jungle covered mountain. Coatimundi, kinkajou, anteaters, toucans, and scarlet macaws can be seen here. We have a lovely mosaic lined pool with a waterfall cave, a full services spa, and daily yoga classes. Check out our excellent reviews and come join us in paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Docelunas Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Jaco
Docelunas Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Doce Lunas Hotel
Doce Lunas Resort
DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.