We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa

Save Saved
You added DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa
Quebrada Seca | 400 M Este from Costanera, Jaco 4132, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Jaco
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Restful experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Docelunas is a great place to stay. We stayed towards the end of February and were glad to be in such a peaceful and quiet place. The pool area with the jacuzzi and waterfall is great. It is a great place to hang out at night and use the jacuzzi or just float in the pool. It is very large and even if others are there you never feel crowded. The chairs and lounge chairs could be updated and have a few more, but were adequate. It would also be great if they offered drinks by the pool at least in the evening. It is s a long walk to the bar. If you want to relax with a drink, plan ahead.

The rooms are huge (junior luxury suite), and so are the bathrooms. The water pressure and hot water were some of the best I have ever had in a hotel, possibly the best. They use an "on-demand" hot water heater(s), which I had installed in a house once. They are the best. There is a placard warning that if the pressure is too low, there might not be any hot water, but the pressure was great the entire time we were there. And this is the dry season.

The restaurant is open air, which we like, although a little buggy at night. The food is good and the package with breakfast included is a good deal. The fruit and sweetbread with the eggs & rice were excellent. We had dinner there once, and it was good. Because they are there for the guests, there were only 3 choices for dinner, but they were all great choices.

We would recommend anyone who wants to visit Jaco and still stay in a peaceful beautiful place, try Docelunas.

Also, the staff were all polite, helpful and pleasant. Brian the owner is great to talk to. And the spa for massages etc. was awesome. I love massages and this was one of the best ever!

Thank you Docelunas staff!

Room Tip: The larger rooms along either of the sidewalks to the restaurant, bar, and yoga studio are quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    24
    8
    6
    9
See reviews for
50
99
32
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This hotel is an oasis of peace in the chaos of Jaco. It is set off of the main road that you take from the airport in San Jose, and is about a 5 minute cab ride from downtown Jaco, but it is worlds away from the crazy, touristy main strip.

The hotel grounds a mini rainforest and are absolutely amazing, loaded with tropical plants, trees and flowers. Our room was tucked under a large banyan tree, which added to the rainforest feel. We saw Scarlet Macaws and Toucans while lounging at the pool! The pool was really nice, with a waterfall feature, which was great for cooling off during the heat of the day and a Jacuzzi tub. The rooms were nice and very clean, and the air conditioning made short work of the outside heat.

Without a doubt, the staff made the experience top notch though. Everyone was very attentive and really wanted to make sure our stay was enjoyable, even packing a picnic lunch for us when we day tripped to Manual Antonio National Park, or having a box breakfast ready to go at dinner the night before we went fishing. Rafael at the restaurant was very polite and eager to please and the owner Brian went out of his way to help us. using his extensive knowledge of Costa Rica and fluent Spanish to arrange taxis and activities for us (rainforest zip line tours, horse back riding, waterfalls, day trips to the national parks) and advised us what to do ( like watching the sunset at Villa Caletas) and what not to do.

The restaurant onsite was phenomenal, with a great, covered, outdoor dining area. We ate in Jaco the 1st night, but after that we ate dinner at the hotel, as the food far surpassed anything we could get in town, with a mix of traditional Costa Rican fare (whole roasted snapper), the chef's take on classic recipes (beef tenderloin with hollandaise made with coconut milk) and traditional standards (roast pork loin). They even made a 3 course chef's tasting of the dolphin (mahi mahi) we caught while fishing! The breakfast was great too, and I am still craving the pinto gallo with eggs. Costa Rica grows a lot of fruit and mangos, water melon and pineapple were included at each breakfast. Needless to say, the coffee was very good.

The hotel also offers yoga and massages (which my wife and I both took advantage of) as well as a list of other spa treatments.

Long story short, you will not be disappointed with Docelunas. We will definitely stay here during our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Doce Lunas is a hidden gem, a surprisingly serene spot given the reputation of Jaco as a party town. We visited the week of New Year's, and even though the hotel was almost full, it was quiet, and comfortable. The grounds are immaculately kept, lush vegetation, lots of flowers. The pool is super clean. The rooms are larger than any other hotel's we stayed in Costa Rica, and very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful and varied. The day we were leaving also happened to be our daughter's 5th birthday, and the staff was nice enough to bring her a slice of cheesecake with a candle at breakfast. Nice touch and will be remembered.
I even took advantage of their yoga classes, and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of instruction, especially considering that most of the students in the class were tourists.
After having been in about 10 different hotels during our trip, I can easily say this hotel was by far the best. Granted there are more luxurious hotels, but for the price, this is a great, great value. We loved our stay and hope we could come back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallandale Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We just returned from taking our House Guest and our Long-Distance Driver to this Hotel
in Jaco for 3 Nights. It is not located in the city of Jaco, but at the end of a long Country type
road across from the main entrance to the City. Safety is not an issue here because the area
where the hotel is located is gated with a gate attendant always on duty to check your status
each and every time you enter the property. There are two very special employees here
that I would like to give special credit to, namely Rafael who serves both as a Bar Tender
at the Wet Bar in the Eclipse Restaurant and also serves breakfast, lunch and dinner on
other days, depending upon his required work schedule. This young man has a wonderful
friendly personality and tries his best to always keep the client happy. In addition there is a
lovely, attractive young lady named Michelle who works part-time at the Reception Desk and
she too, is not only friendly and attentive but goes out of her way to assist in any way she can
in order to keep the Guests well-informed and happy.

The pool at the front entrance area is just exquisite with plenty of seating, a beautiful
Jacuzzi and a gorgeous Waterfall at one end of the pool, plenty of seating with Lounges,
comfortable chairs, tables and chairs with umbrellas where you can avoid the direct sun if
that is your requirement, etc. The Dining Room/Restaurant and the Wet Bar are also
nicely furnished and nicely appointed.

What I would suggest however, is that Management purchase at least one Golf Cart or
something similar or if that is not possible, hire a "Bellman" to transport the Guest's Luggage
to their rooms, as the room we occupied for instance was a very, very, long and tegious
walk from Reception. We were transporting 3 large suitcases, 2 carry-type bags, a Cooler,
Cameras, etc. I myself, have severe Arthritis and use a cane, so needless to say if I didn't
have my husband, our visiting house guest, and our Long-Distance Driver to help with
transferring all of these items to our room, no way could I have remained there. I also
arrange tours and trips for many of my friends and acquaintances from the United States
who want to visit Costa Rica and these are women and their friends from the age of 75
all the way up to 85 years of age and obviously if their rooms were located anywhere near
Room No. 114 where my husband and I stayed, it would be virtually impossible for them to
stay at this hotel. Again, if you are looking for an attractive, "off-the-beaten-path" very quiet
place, just to relax and meet some nice people, then this is for you. But again, for the folks
up there in age or with any kind of "moving around" problems, this is definitely not for you,
unless they make some immediate arrangement for aiding the guests with their luggage
and transportation to and from the Bar and Restaurant areas, or even down to the Pool,
unless you are right next to one of these places. Also, these Senior types would also need
to take a Taxi into Jaco itself unless they had a rental car with them or a private driver, as we
did.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Grounds well kept, fragrance of flowers fills the air. Upgraded to a suite as they were not booked up, was very nice and spacious with a patio for outdoor sitting. Owner Chris always on grounds if anything needed, staff friendly and courteous. Taxi ride to Jaco $3-$4.00 or rent a car , I did both. It's 5 min to Jaco or Hermosa Beach, 90 min to Manuel Antonio, 15 min to Vila Calitas for sunset drinks. Breakfast included more than adequate with eggs and fresh fruit, pool and jacuzzi are clean and refreshing , waterfall a nice touch, would stay again, fourth trip to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Upgrade to suite if possible. All teak furniture, comfortable beds , sitting area, flat screen TV, h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ijamsville, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I hate to travel. I have a bad "vacation" history, so taking my long deserving wife to Costa Rico to watch birds was way out of my comfort zone. Docelunas is really a hotel in a nature preserve. Everything went right! The room was beautiful. The food was very good. If you go fishing, they will prepare your catch…fresh maui ceviche…to die for. Everything was well done. I felt pampered.
There was a genuine concern that I have a wonderful, safe, time. It was a very personal type of service. If it was determined we would be out the door before breakfast, they would make up a breakfast to go for us. We didn't have to ask for this. It was just done. If this is your first trip of this nature, you can not do wrong at Docelunas. It's a jewel, and we will be back next year.

Room Tip: Rooms 111 and 112 are under a huge Banyan tree, always shady and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Best food in Jaco,
Best Pool in Jaco
Best rooms
Best Location
Friendly Staff
5 minute walk into town

This is my 4th time visiting Costa Rica and I always make my way to this wonderful Hotel! I have stayed in many areas and hotels in Costa Rica and this is by far my favorite place to stay and eat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa

Address: Quebrada Seca | 400 M Este from Costanera, Jaco 4132, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#1 Business Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#7 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoceLunas is a spectacular Four Star hotel with five acres of tropical gardens at the base of a cool jungle covered mountain. Coatimundi, kinkajou, anteaters, toucans, and scarlet macaws can be seen here. We have a lovely mosaic lined pool with a waterfall cave, a full services spa, and daily yoga classes. Check out our excellent reviews and come join us in paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Docelunas Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Jaco
Docelunas Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Doce Lunas Hotel
Doce Lunas Resort
DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.