We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice change of pace for jaco. Real people with awesome service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa

Save Saved
You added DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa
Quebrada Seca | 400 M Este from Costanera, Jaco 4132, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A nice change of pace for jaco. Real people with awesome service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

I spend quite a bit of time on the central pacific coast of Costa Rica, between Jaco, Uvita and Manuel/Quepos. Jaco I typically avoid like the plague- except for Doce Lunas. See, Jaco has the main drag and beach areas which are close ( walking distance or quick cab) but the real advantage is this hotel is set just outside all the hustle and bustle of Jaco. So for me, it's all the benefits and conveniences but NONE of the noise, activity, detractors that one might find in downtown Jaco. It's like being in another world, with old growth trees ( try finding one of those in Jaco central), lush landscaping, and the pool is OFF THE CHAINS. Not to mention, the staff rock. Honestly they are your friends and will be over backwards to make sure you have the Costa Rican dream stay that you dreamed about. Talk to Chris or Brian or any of the others and they will take great care of you. Oh yeah, bar and restaurant rock too. Thanks for a good time fellas

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    24
    7
    6
    9
See reviews for
48
98
32
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacó, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Amazing grounds with a perfect bar. Great place to listen to music and enjoy wonderful food and drinks. They have a great Friday happy hour with tasty bocas and drink specials. The staff is always awesome and entertaining.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We enjoy Friday Happy Hours at Hotel Docelunas for the following reasons: 1) the grounds are spectacular, it's as if you are at the foothills of the mountains (mainly 'cause you are!), 2) The restaurant bar is inviting and fun, 3) The restaurant/bar staff all speak English and welcome you by name and "care" that you are there, the complimentary "Bocas" are amazing (Chef Manuel is a magician) and make your cocktail/beer that much tastier, 4) most Fridays they have live music (guest musicians are sometimes famous and always talented) and 5) prices are so affordable, we can a few more than planned!!!

When in Jaco, don't miss this place..........They are open everyday of the week and serve three meals a day, so if Friday is not the day you there, stop in anyway!!!! Ask for Diana or Chris (the owners), they'll take great care of you.

I had the pleasure of staying there overnight this past summer and the room was beautiful. The bathtub was the size of a small pool and the amenities abundant..........can't say enough good things about the place.............GO, ENJOY, tell them ANGELA sent you!!!

Room Tip: Tell them what special occasion, if any, you are celebrating and they will help you make it memorab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

As someone who lives in Jaco and who has traveled all over the world for the last 25 years, I am glad I found Doce Lunas. It is a study in contrasts. On one side it is in Jaco, a great surf town with a lively nightlife. On another side, once you go through the large metal gates at the entrance you are transported to a magical hotel in the Costa Rican jungle. Chris, the owner and his staff do a great job and I always make it up there for their Friday happy hours as it allows folks to enjoy friends, bocas and cocktails while listening to nothing but the sound of the jungle.

I have introduced many out of town friends to Doce Lunas and have suggested to folks coming down. As a matter of fact, a friend from NYC is coming to Jaco for his 50th birthday next year. The hotel he found (and booked) on his own? Yep, Doce Lunas.

In todays "build everywhere" world, it is refreshing to find a hidden gem like Doce Lunas.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side border on nothing but miles and miles of fields, allowing nothing but peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The things that make Docelunas unique are the beautiful grounds, and the location. It is a short walk, bicycle, or taxi ride to the beach, or the center of Jaco...But when you arrive on the property, you are actually in a completely private, secure environment. The property sits at the base of a large, green, rainforest mountain. The temperature is always nice there, even when it is broiling in town and on the beach. Even though Jaco, and the beach are within a mile or so, there is a possibility that you might not even want to leave the property. Like I said, its super private and secure, and you might just find yourself sitting and relaxing by the large swimming pool, and walking the grounds to view the flora and fauna. They have one of the best Friday Happy Hours in Jaco. I go there regularly. You can get a beer and a boca (a small portion of delicious food from their restaurant) for 1000CRC...That's 2.00USD...After 4 beers and 4 bocas, I am usually quite full. Chris and Diana are awesome people and will bend over backwards to make your stay as close to perfect as possible. Brian and the rest of the staff are always incredibly kind, and all are concerned with providing the best service. They really go the extra mile. Keep your eye on this place. I'm sure you will hear more good things in the future. Thanx guys!!! I will see ya on Friday!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We had such an amazing time at Docelunas two years ago we had to come back again for my birthday. Unfortunately it was a shorter trip this time, (as there wasn't a zero at the end of my age this birthday) But we still had an amazing time. We can't say enough about Docelunas the grounds are amazing the food is incredible and the manager Brian was the most helpful person during our trip, he set up all of our activities, tours, cabs into town, restaurant and club recommendations . Every recommendation he gave us was spot on thank you Brian we look forward to staying with you guys again next time!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Well we went with one of the biggest rooms. room number 19 to be specific. We need a king bed . It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I have traveled to many places and stayed in many hotels and this one is by far the worst I've been to in way of customer service and cleanliness. We are frequent travelers and have several hotel memberships. When we arrived into our hotel room, at first it looked decent, but then we noticed roach on the bed and eggs on the bedspread. The room also smelled like it had been sprayed with pesticide.

We thought well ok, this does happen and felt we could stay the night. Then I saw some other bugs including a spider, my lady said that's enough. The bed stand lamp was broken as well and the TV channels were of poor quality. The odor of the room was getting to us and we decided to leave. This was later that evening and there was no one working at the front desk (past 9 PM). There were Security guys there though which was a plus. We're accustomed to at least someone being at the front desk though in case of need. The Security guys barely spoke English.

The next day we came back and spoke with Brian the Manager. When we tried to explain what happened, he became very angry and would not listen at all. He acted very insulted by our comments. We were not being irate about the issues, just trying to explain so he could know what to do to prevent this from happening again to other guests. He wouldn't let us finish and was hostile to the fact the we brought up the bug situation. We had to calm ourselves down (my blood pressure was rising) and we were stunned by his behavior. I have never in 20+ years of traveling been so insulted by a Hotel Manager. If I was the owner, I would seriously consider firing him. Very unprofessional.

He did settle with us on the no charge for the stay and we paid for the dinner which was good (to their credit). The outside areas and pool was nice, also to their credit.

Again though, we will never return and would highly recommend finding another hotel in the area. We did find one that was outstanding.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa

Address: Quebrada Seca | 400 M Este from Costanera, Jaco 4132, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jaco
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#7 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoceLunas is a spectacular Four Star hotel with five acres of tropical gardens at the base of a cool jungle covered mountain. Coatimundi, kinkajou, anteaters, toucans, and scarlet macaws can be seen here. We have a lovely mosaic lined pool with a waterfall cave, a full services spa, and daily yoga classes. Check out our excellent reviews and come join us in paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Docelunas Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Docelunas Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Jaco
Doce Lunas Hotel
Doce Lunas Resort
DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.