We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden ++Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa to your Saves list
DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa
Quebrada Seca | 400 M Este from Costanera, Jaco 4132, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Jaco
Fayetteville
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Hidden ++Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I visited Doce Lunas again this summer. While I did not stay at the hotel this time (I was renting a condo down the road), I greatly enjoyed having dinner there, attending concerts, happy hours with live music most fridays, and wandering the ground with the kind permission of the staff. It seems I always find something new to explore in the gardens, from interesting tree frogs, frsh mangos and a little monkey who was very interested in the yoga studio. It's really a wondrous place, off the beaten path, but yet only a $2 ride from townl. +

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Good_Advice_on_Jaco, Guest Relations Manager at DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thanks Brad! We are glad you got to see one of the monkeys! We have had the kinkajous on the property since we opened, but the monkeys left during construction. We preserved the canopy in hopes they would come back, and finally they did. Sightings near the yoga studio are becoming increasingly regular. Fyi - for other guests - we only do a few music shows a year, and we will always tell you if we have one going on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    24
    8
    6
    9
See reviews for
50
99
32
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My band The Judy Chops had a great time staying at Doce Lunas on our recent trip to Costa Rica. Relaxing poolside at the beautiful swimming area and enjoying the impeccable food and great service was exactly what we needed in the midst of a busy summer schedule! 5 days here left us wanting more! Can't wait to come back next year!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I got engaged on my trip there!
The resort is a very short taxi ride away from Jaco. There are also a lot of outdoor activities that the resort can set up for you like horseback riding, canopy tours and hikes.
The resort is beautiful, the rooms are great. The food and service were excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Good_Advice_on_Jaco, Public Relations Manager at DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Congratulations! And thanks for the kind words! We will get the honeymoon suite ready.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My experience at Doce Lunas Hotel this year was absolutely amazing. I have been there twice this year. I visited in January for The Jungle Jam and in July for the Midnight Spaghetti concerts. What can I say but "music in paradise".

When I fist arrived at the hotel staff greeted me with open arms and friendly smiles. My room (a single suite) was spacious, comfortable and clean. The grounds and gardens around the property are lush and spectacular with different varieties of plants and trees all around. The pool is big and always kept clean. I feel very safe when staying at Doce Lunas as it is a fenced in compound with a guard at the gate at all times. At the restaurant the new chef was attentive to my dietary restrictions and cooked great food. Overall my experience there has always been amazing and I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Good_Advice_on_Jaco, Public Relations Manager at DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thanks for the kind words. Those shows were great! If you are considering visiting DoceLunas, normally its very quiet, except for the birds. We only have a couple big live music events a year, although we do have acoustic performers in the Eclipse Restaurant more frequently. We will let you know if you book with us when there is a live event, although we almost always sell out immediately when we announce one. Jungle Jam 2014 is already sold out, but you can get package deals off site from the Jungle Jam website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just down the road from the main strip of Jaco is Doce Lunas. The pictures online do not do the hotel justice. Beautiful plants and trees are all over the grounds. There was even a banana tree outside of our room! The pool is an excellent place to relax with a hot tub and grotto with a waterfall. The hotel itself is not terribly large, so you feel as if it is your own personal paradise. The rooms were large,clean, and comfortable. The food in the hotel restaurant was excellent. All of the hotel staff were professional and courteous. A lot of them speak english which is helpful if you don't speak Spanish. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Splurge and get the luxury room. You get your own patio which is nice to hang out at, especially if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I just want to say how much fun we had at Doce Lunas! The staff was very courteous and took very good care of us. The resort was very well maintained, and easy to navigate and the rooms were tip top!! The food was excellent both day AND night. There was mention of a concert happening one of the nights during our stay, and we were pleasantly surprised by the groups that played and how nice everyone was! We felt so at home there and can't wait to book another vacation come spring/summer. I would highly recommend booking a vacation there at Doce Lunas to anyone looking for a place to unwind, at a beautiful resort. I've already mentioned Doce Lunas to a few co-workers and some family members about travelling there. Thank you so very much for providing us, a home away from home on our vacation to Jaco:) See you next year!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Good_Advice_on_Jaco, Public Relations Manager at DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thanks and you are welcome! We are glad you got a chance to hear one of our rare live concerts. Normally it is quiet around here, except for birds and acoustic performances in the restaurant. Please know if you are considering a visit to DoceLunas, we rarely hvae shows - it is normally pretty quiet. When we do have shows, we usually fill up very quickly. Jungle Jam 2014 is already sold out, but you can get offsite package deals from the Jungle Jam website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Doce Lunas Hotel is a magical Oasis in the busy surf town of Jaco. The grounds are like walking into a wonderland with tropical flowers and lush vegetation surrounding you. And the pool is very nice- It is very likely once you drop your bags in the room you will not want to leave this place! We happened to be here the evening that there was a live music performance by the legendary, Michael Glabicki of Rusted Root. Boy, was this a real treat for us! The staff is super friendly and helpful and always suggestive of great things to check out in the area. We will be back in January for their Annual Jungle Jam which again will be full of wonderful musicians. Can't wait to get down to some great music in this wonderland of a place- Doce Lunas, thank you! Special Thanks to Chris, Diana, and Brian!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Good_Advice_on_Jaco, Public Relations Manager at DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thanks Dan! Glad you could make it for the show. Rusted Root is kind of a big deal, so that was a nice surprise for us too! Please note if you are considering a visit to DoceLunas, it is normally quiet around here. If we are having one of our rare live concerts, we will be sure to tell you. When we do have shows, we normally run out of rooms very quickly. We are already out of rooms for Jungle Jam 2014, but you can get offsite package tickets at the Jungle Jam website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa

Address: Quebrada Seca | 400 M Este from Costanera, Jaco 4132, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#1 Business Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#7 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoceLunas is a spectacular Four Star hotel with five acres of tropical gardens at the base of a cool jungle covered mountain. Coatimundi, kinkajou, anteaters, toucans, and scarlet macaws can be seen here. We have a lovely mosaic lined pool with a waterfall cave, a full services spa, and daily yoga classes. Check out our excellent reviews and come join us in paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Docelunas Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Jaco
Docelunas Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Doce Lunas Hotel
Doce Lunas Resort
DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.