We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa

Save Saved
You added DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa
Quebrada Seca | 400 M Este from Costanera, Jaco 4132, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Jaco
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The room was wonderful, but the reasons to stay here are the food and the staff. The restaurant was willing to make a vegetarian meal on request. The staff were extremely accommodating and worked very hard to make sure that I had the tours that I wanted, that I was picked up at the hotel by the bus to take me to my next destination. There are no phones in the rooms, but the front desk always helped me make calls.
Again, all the staff was extremely helpful and made me feel as though my stay was very important to them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    24
    8
    6
    9
See reviews for
50
99
32
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

A short distance outside of Jaco set back into the country side is DoceLunes Hotel and resort. The staff is attentive and courteous to all. The staff will schedule excursions or make reservations at local restaurants for you. The yoga studio is set up the hill overlooking the tree tops. Exotic birds fly by while you practice. Refreshing pool available on site or a short walk through town takes you to a gorgeous ocean. Full body massage and scrub at the spa to help you relax into your vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Doce Lunas is a quiet refuge from the crowds of Jaco beach, and a great option if you want your time here to be a quiet retreat. Set back on a sprawling estate at the base of a hillside, the grounds are majestic both night and day. The over-sized pool is the nicest one we've seen in Costa Rica, and features a relaxing waterfall. Our suite was spacious and full of wonderful original artwork, most of which was inspired by, and created on, the grounds of the hotel. Very clean, with modern amenities including cable TV, cold air conditioning, and a stereo system. Breakfast and dinner at the restaurant were good, and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was the only night we did not have a reservation in Costa Rica, as we left the NW Pacific beaches which were not as beautiful as we thought they might be. We thought it would be easy to find a room between Los Baulasand Jaco, but discovered there were extremely few hotels along the way. Jaco was in the midst of a surfing contest and partygoers from San Jose flooded the place. Due to the almost always accommodating and friendly Ticos, a room was found for us at Doce Lunas, a couple kilometers out of town away from the beaches and activity. Night staff who hablan no Ingles, and my little Spanish got us a room for the night. As we arrived at midnight, the place was quiet and the grounds dark. But we got a superb room and discovered the next day immaculate grounds and well maintained facilities. If one wants to relax in a secure environment and enjoy the encroaching jungle with birds and flowers galore, and enjoy a spacious room with a grand shower/bath and pool, this is a great place removed from the hub-bub of Jaco. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: I am certain anywhere at this facility would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

DoceLunas is a beautiful place near to Jaco Beach. It has lovely,well maintained grounds in a very natural setting. The room we stayed in was spacious and beautiful. The hotel staff was helpful and service was very good. It is a short walk to the beach, in a very quiet location. My friend and I have nothing but good things to say about excellent property.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed there for an event that was going on at the hotel in January called JungleJam. We debated back and forth as to whether or not we wanted to be at one of the hotels on the beach, or at DoceLunas. We couldn't have been any happier with our choice! The grounds of the hotel were beautiful, the rooms were exceptionally clean, and the service was excellent. Also, as a bonus, the shower pressure was great, and you could drink the water right out of the faucets. The staff was very friendly and made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived.
If your like my friend and I, and are concerned about not being right on the beach....don't be. The front desk people call you a cab, which arrives in a matter of minutes, and it only costs $2. Or you can walk the mile easily.
I have high standards for hotels, and I thought this place was great :).

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Lovely pool with a waterfall cave, grounds well maintained and attractive, polite friendly service and knowledgeable guides, punctual and well organized transportation. Overall, a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa

Address: Quebrada Seca | 400 M Este from Costanera, Jaco 4132, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#1 Business Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#7 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoceLunas is a spectacular Four Star hotel with five acres of tropical gardens at the base of a cool jungle covered mountain. Coatimundi, kinkajou, anteaters, toucans, and scarlet macaws can be seen here. We have a lovely mosaic lined pool with a waterfall cave, a full services spa, and daily yoga classes. Check out our excellent reviews and come join us in paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Docelunas Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Jaco
Docelunas Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Doce Lunas Hotel
Doce Lunas Resort
DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.