We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pura Vida at Club del Sol” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club del Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Club del Sol to your Saves list
Club del Sol
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   1 Madrigal Costanera Highway, Jaco 4023, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pura Vida at Club del Sol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

My family and I just got home from nearly three weeks at Club del Sol in Jaco, Costa Rica. It was a great base for us to explore the various sights and attractions of the Central Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. The condo was spacious. The master bedroom had a king sized bed and ample closet space. It also had its own spacious full bathroom. The second bedroom had two twin sized beds, which were great for our kids who are 8 and 5. The condo also had a full washer and dryer, which came in really handy for us. The pool and the grounds are immaculate. Julietta and the staff are warm, welcoming and very helpful with arranging to see sights, tours, etc. Club del Sol is located on the south/quiet end of Jaco, away from the craziness of the main drag through town. The beach is just a block away. Our kids loved boogie boarding at the beach. Manuel Antonio is just an hour and a half away. Club del Sol has its own 24 hour security guard to keep things safe. We loved our weeks of "Pura Vida" - pure living at Club del Sol. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, RS
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

We went to Costa Rica to celebrate our 15th anniversary (marriage) and the first place we visited was Jacó Beach , in the Pacific Central coast , the reviews we checked about CLUB DEL SOL in TRIPADVISOR made us sure where to stay for the first 03 days of our trip , and as soon as we get there ,we realized that it was way beyond our expectations!
The place is very clean , cozy, well furnished,with a full kitchen and laundry,the bedrooms equiped with LCD's TVs and DVDs, powerfull A/Cs units,etc... has a beautifull garden in the pool area ,we felt at home and will come back for sure , with our kids !
We went to the north pacific afterwards and Julieta (owner) suggested that we should go to Playa Flamingo instead of Tamarindo , and it saved us some really precious time finding a place that would fit our standards , at a very reasonable price!
Thanks Julieta and Club del Sol staff for the good days at Jacó!

Robinson and Flórence

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

Driving into Jaco Beach, I was concerned we may have not selected a good hotel over the Internet.
But, we were very pleased to see the inside of Club del Sol.
It is a guarded hotel and the rooms are the best we have seen (under $300/night) and the price was around $115USD/night.
The staff and service was excellent and we slept very well.
It doesn't have a restaurant but there are quite a few in Jaco Beach.
The pool is very nice and we really enjoyed our two night stay.
I included a few pics but the other bedroom (2 queen size beds), laundry facility and second bathroom are not included. Nor is the large patio with doors from the living room and master bedroom.
It is slightly outside Jaco Beach proper (away from the younger night life people) and about a three minute walk to the beach.
If you aren't driving, it is advisable to take a taxi to town for meals at night (about $3 USD), as the approx 1 kilometre walk is on a dark street with few houses and has potential for encounters you would not prefer (as in most poorer areas).
If you arrived in San Jose, Jaco Beach is a good location to stay overnight if you are going to Manuel Antonio NP and is about 2-3 hours drive from San Jose.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

My wife and 2 young daughters (1.5 and 3.5 yrs) just returned last Wednesday from a week long trip to Club del Sol. We stayed in unit #7, and booked through Expedia.

Our condo was on the ground floor, steps from the shallow end of the pool. We could not have asked for a better location. The sliding doors all have locks that are up high, preventing little ones from letting themselves out. That was a big plus for us.

The condo was very clean. We have absolutely no complaints - it was all great - with the exception that the dishwasher didn't work. That wasn't a big deal, as the cleaning staff washed the dishes that were not clean every day.

We asked for a crib for our 18 month old, and it was in the room when we arrived.

I would have rated the sleep quality at 5 stars, with the exception that there is a highway that is a hundred feet or so from the back bedrooms. The trucks with engine brakes got a little annoying on the first night, but after that we didn't notice them. I was told that there was a rooster that woke up residents on the other side of the condo. Give me the trucks any day!

We spent most of our days in the pool. We only went to the beach once, and it was HOT. The sand has a muddy consistency, and we just chose to stay close to the pool.

We did go to Neo Fauna one day (the butterfly farm). Cab ride each way was $10, and entry fee was $15/adults - our kids were free. Our guide was nice, and seemed educated about the animals. Not a bad way to spend a few hours.

The last full day, we arranged for a van to take us and two other families to Manuel Antonio. We paid for a "guide" to show us the animals at the park, but he turned out to be a dud. The only benefit of getting a guide is that if the line is long, you get to go in first... Wear your suit into the park if you go. We mistakingly left ours in the van, and had to swim in our clothes. There are fresh water showers to rinse off with just steps up from the beach.

On our way back, we ate at a restaurant called El Avion in Quepos. I would highly recommend it!

Speaking of restaurants, Los Amigos in Jaco was pretty good. There is also a pizza place on the west side of the road between Jaco and Club del Sol - I can't recall the name, but it is an outdoor restaurant - that was really good.

We bought a lot of groceries at Mas x Menos. Cab rides home were around 1200-1500 colones (a little over $2 US). The most we paid was 1,800 colones, and that was when we called a cab to the hotel to take us in for dinner.

There are better deals to be found than what Expedia offers. We got into a discussion one night with a few other guests, and the rates paid ranged from $1,800 for a month, to $700/week for 2-1/2 weeks, to the $1,300 or so that we paid for one week. I didn't see these all in writing, but I did want to highlight that you can shop around, and try to find how these are being managed/rented. Contacting the office (Julietta) is probably the best bet for pricing on extended stays....

We booked Juan Carlos, the driver recommended by Club del Sol to take people to and from the airport, for the whole day when we went to Manuel Antonio. He was awesome. I think that the 10 passenger van cost us $210 for the day (we tipped up to $240).

The walk into town is about 15-20 minutes. It gets really hot in the middle of the day, so I would encourage you to go early, or to go late if you want to walk.

Credit cards are taken, with a photo ID. I was told that restaurants charged a surcharge for credit card use, but we always paid cash. Dollars work, too, just about everywhere.

We ate dinner at Club del Mar, Club del Sol's sister property on the beach, on the first night we were in Jaco. I would not recommend it. The food was overpriced for the quality that it was. Take a cab, and head into town!

There is a new highway (opened this year) between San Jose and Jaco. The drive is about 1.5 hours, versus the 2.5 hours that it took before the highway opened. For those brave enough, the drive looks manageable if you wanted to try it on your own. We chose for a shuttle (arranged elsewhere) to get us to and from the airport.

My wife and I have already discussed returning next year. We had an awesome time, and met some really great people. If you are looking for a party place, there are probably better ones closer to town. But for just about anyone else, this is a great place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Ct
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

The 3 of us stayed here this past July 2009 from Sat-Sat. The photos do not do this quaint hideout any justice. The rooms were large and furnishing newer. We had a 2 bedroom condo 30' from crytal clear. pool water. The condo comes with full kitchen, wireless internet, large living room and our own washer & dryer in a smaller room. The staffs (all of them) were extremely pleasant and always help. The location of the condo is approx 300 yards to the beach which has nice waves for surfing and a beautiful sunset every evening around 6pm. Costa Rica was an experience of a lifetime with Club Del Sol being our perfect home away from home. Tom (Milford, CT USA).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

We spent Christmas and New Years in Jaco 08/09. The hotel Club del Sol is the only reasonable option for staying in Jaco. The condos are huge, clean and come with everything a westener would desire even a blender for making them daquiris. Our condo had 2/3 rooms with one being an open kitchen/living room combination with TV, Stereos, DVD player etc. The Kitchen at the Condo has everything for you to prepare your own meals. This is useful since Tico food is the worst I have ever tasted. There are good supermarkets around and they are not over priced. The condos even have both washer and a dryer for londry which was a huge benefit. All the condos come with huge terrass/dining area or a balcon. All the condos surround the pool where we spent many days just sunbathing and relaxing. All the rooms in the condos have brand new air con and the decoration of the rooms was astonishing.

The hotel staff was friendly and very very helpful. Julia & Johnny both made us feel like home =) They even gave us a regular modem since my computers wireless port was broken.

Overall I would recomend Club del Sol for every kind of traveller. Don´t book through an agent call or email Julia or Johnny at the club del sol instead.

I am not adding any photos, but I can honestly say that the photos at their website don´t do justice. The rooms are very nice and affordable.

www.clubdelsoljaco.com

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

There is absolutely all positive comments to say about club del sol jaco. Location, staff, condos, pool, property and value can not be understated. The experience was so relaxing and stress free the thought of writing a bad review was considered so this gem of an oasis could be ours alone. We advise a daily routine of a sunset and surf followed by drinks at the bar located at the sister complex to club del sol.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club del Sol

Address: 1 Madrigal Costanera Highway, Jaco 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club del Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious condominiums rest idyllically between a juncture of rain forest and Pacific Ocean, where sun and sunsets will warm every inch of you. Located on the south end of Jaco Beach, Club del Sol is a gated property of 16 magnificent condominiums just one block from the beach front. You will enjoy hotel style service provided by our friendly, bilingual staff. These luxurious two bedroom condominiums can accommodate up to six people. All condominiums are steps from the private swimming pool and waterfall. You will have an on-site office for check in/out, where we provide services for booking tours, transfers, fishing trips, and other activities. Daily maid service, full time maintenance, 24 hour security, cable TV, free wireless high speed Internet, and excellent air conditioning units. Kitchens are fully equipped for you to make your own meals and sit out on your private patio with your family dining. Washer and dryer units also are provided for your use. A Jenn-air BBQ grill is available at the pool-side area for our guests. Nestled in a beautifully lavished garden in the jungle within a small gated community of 17 gorgeous condominiums with 24 hour security. Best of all, the surfing beach is a block away from your front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Club del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Del Sol Hotel Jaco
Club Del Sol Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.