We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Jaco Beach Costa Rica - March 2010” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club del Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Club del Sol to your Saves list
Club del Sol
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   1 Madrigal Costanera Highway, Jaco 4023, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Jaco Beach Costa Rica - March 2010”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

Driving into Jaco Beach, I was concerned we may have not selected a good hotel over the Internet.
But, we were very pleased to see the inside of Club del Sol.
It is a guarded hotel and the rooms are the best we have seen (under $300/night) and the price was around $115USD/night.
The staff and service was excellent and we slept very well.
It doesn't have a restaurant but there are quite a few in Jaco Beach.
The pool is very nice and we really enjoyed our two night stay.
I included a few pics but the other bedroom (2 queen size beds), laundry facility and second bathroom are not included. Nor is the large patio with doors from the living room and master bedroom.
It is slightly outside Jaco Beach proper (away from the younger night life people) and about a three minute walk to the beach.
If you aren't driving, it is advisable to take a taxi to town for meals at night (about $3 USD), as the approx 1 kilometre walk is on a dark street with few houses and has potential for encounters you would not prefer (as in most poorer areas).
If you arrived in San Jose, Jaco Beach is a good location to stay overnight if you are going to Manuel Antonio NP and is about 2-3 hours drive from San Jose.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

My wife and 2 young daughters (1.5 and 3.5 yrs) just returned last Wednesday from a week long trip to Club del Sol. We stayed in unit #7, and booked through Expedia.

Our condo was on the ground floor, steps from the shallow end of the pool. We could not have asked for a better location. The sliding doors all have locks that are up high, preventing little ones from letting themselves out. That was a big plus for us.

The condo was very clean. We have absolutely no complaints - it was all great - with the exception that the dishwasher didn't work. That wasn't a big deal, as the cleaning staff washed the dishes that were not clean every day.

We asked for a crib for our 18 month old, and it was in the room when we arrived.

I would have rated the sleep quality at 5 stars, with the exception that there is a highway that is a hundred feet or so from the back bedrooms. The trucks with engine brakes got a little annoying on the first night, but after that we didn't notice them. I was told that there was a rooster that woke up residents on the other side of the condo. Give me the trucks any day!

We spent most of our days in the pool. We only went to the beach once, and it was HOT. The sand has a muddy consistency, and we just chose to stay close to the pool.

We did go to Neo Fauna one day (the butterfly farm). Cab ride each way was $10, and entry fee was $15/adults - our kids were free. Our guide was nice, and seemed educated about the animals. Not a bad way to spend a few hours.

The last full day, we arranged for a van to take us and two other families to Manuel Antonio. We paid for a "guide" to show us the animals at the park, but he turned out to be a dud. The only benefit of getting a guide is that if the line is long, you get to go in first... Wear your suit into the park if you go. We mistakingly left ours in the van, and had to swim in our clothes. There are fresh water showers to rinse off with just steps up from the beach.

On our way back, we ate at a restaurant called El Avion in Quepos. I would highly recommend it!

Speaking of restaurants, Los Amigos in Jaco was pretty good. There is also a pizza place on the west side of the road between Jaco and Club del Sol - I can't recall the name, but it is an outdoor restaurant - that was really good.

We bought a lot of groceries at Mas x Menos. Cab rides home were around 1200-1500 colones (a little over $2 US). The most we paid was 1,800 colones, and that was when we called a cab to the hotel to take us in for dinner.

There are better deals to be found than what Expedia offers. We got into a discussion one night with a few other guests, and the rates paid ranged from $1,800 for a month, to $700/week for 2-1/2 weeks, to the $1,300 or so that we paid for one week. I didn't see these all in writing, but I did want to highlight that you can shop around, and try to find how these are being managed/rented. Contacting the office (Julietta) is probably the best bet for pricing on extended stays....

We booked Juan Carlos, the driver recommended by Club del Sol to take people to and from the airport, for the whole day when we went to Manuel Antonio. He was awesome. I think that the 10 passenger van cost us $210 for the day (we tipped up to $240).

The walk into town is about 15-20 minutes. It gets really hot in the middle of the day, so I would encourage you to go early, or to go late if you want to walk.

Credit cards are taken, with a photo ID. I was told that restaurants charged a surcharge for credit card use, but we always paid cash. Dollars work, too, just about everywhere.

We ate dinner at Club del Mar, Club del Sol's sister property on the beach, on the first night we were in Jaco. I would not recommend it. The food was overpriced for the quality that it was. Take a cab, and head into town!

There is a new highway (opened this year) between San Jose and Jaco. The drive is about 1.5 hours, versus the 2.5 hours that it took before the highway opened. For those brave enough, the drive looks manageable if you wanted to try it on your own. We chose for a shuttle (arranged elsewhere) to get us to and from the airport.

My wife and I have already discussed returning next year. We had an awesome time, and met some really great people. If you are looking for a party place, there are probably better ones closer to town. But for just about anyone else, this is a great place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Ct
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

The 3 of us stayed here this past July 2009 from Sat-Sat. The photos do not do this quaint hideout any justice. The rooms were large and furnishing newer. We had a 2 bedroom condo 30' from crytal clear. pool water. The condo comes with full kitchen, wireless internet, large living room and our own washer & dryer in a smaller room. The staffs (all of them) were extremely pleasant and always help. The location of the condo is approx 300 yards to the beach which has nice waves for surfing and a beautiful sunset every evening around 6pm. Costa Rica was an experience of a lifetime with Club Del Sol being our perfect home away from home. Tom (Milford, CT USA).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

We spent Christmas and New Years in Jaco 08/09. The hotel Club del Sol is the only reasonable option for staying in Jaco. The condos are huge, clean and come with everything a westener would desire even a blender for making them daquiris. Our condo had 2/3 rooms with one being an open kitchen/living room combination with TV, Stereos, DVD player etc. The Kitchen at the Condo has everything for you to prepare your own meals. This is useful since Tico food is the worst I have ever tasted. There are good supermarkets around and they are not over priced. The condos even have both washer and a dryer for londry which was a huge benefit. All the condos come with huge terrass/dining area or a balcon. All the condos surround the pool where we spent many days just sunbathing and relaxing. All the rooms in the condos have brand new air con and the decoration of the rooms was astonishing.

The hotel staff was friendly and very very helpful. Julia & Johnny both made us feel like home =) They even gave us a regular modem since my computers wireless port was broken.

Overall I would recomend Club del Sol for every kind of traveller. Don´t book through an agent call or email Julia or Johnny at the club del sol instead.

I am not adding any photos, but I can honestly say that the photos at their website don´t do justice. The rooms are very nice and affordable.

www.clubdelsoljaco.com

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

There is absolutely all positive comments to say about club del sol jaco. Location, staff, condos, pool, property and value can not be understated. The experience was so relaxing and stress free the thought of writing a bad review was considered so this gem of an oasis could be ours alone. We advise a daily routine of a sunset and surf followed by drinks at the bar located at the sister complex to club del sol.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

The staff is very helpful and friendly and the casas are very clean. This experience has been the most wonderul for us. With all the options for tours to zip line, and Manual Antonio state park, the nature is gorgeous. There are many options for travel and exploration. The town itself is very friendly and safe. There are many choices of restaurants and night clubs. You can take a taxi to town for very little or walk the beach for 10 min and be to the middle of town. As the property sits, its 200 yds. to the ocean. The Costa Rican people are very friendly and accomodating. The pool at Club del Sol is like a meeting spot for all those who stay here, like a family gathering. We've met so many new and friendly people around the pool. Pool and grounds are superbly maintained. The ocean is an awesome 82 degrees, great for surfing and boogie boarding. World renowned Hermosa Beach 5 min. away. We even saw white faced monkeys and macaws on our hike up "Miros Mountain" right out the back door. We truly experienced Pura Vida!! We will definitely return!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Club Del Sol in Jaco Beach, Costa Rica.
The experience was superb. It is, in our opinion, one of the best places to vacation and simply enjoy life.

All the suites face the exotic gardens and the pool, which has a waterfall in the center.

The suites are impecable......and the best thing is that all you have to bring is your bathing suit and toothbrush. The kitchens are equipped with everything you can possible need, including the corkscrew.

The staff is wonderful.....from the Managers to the Security Guard, everyone is at your beck and call. We felt like we were the only ones at the hotel.

It is only 1/2 block from the beach, with exquisite waves for surfing. Also, it is very close to the downtown area of Jaco, but far enough that you are not in the center of the hustle and bustle of a vacation town.

We definitely recommend Club del Sol, to anyone wanting an amazing eco-friendly vacation.

  • Liked — The staff, cleanliness, and location
  • Disliked — The was nothing that I did not like
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club del Sol

Address: 1 Madrigal Costanera Highway, Jaco 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club del Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious condominiums rest idyllically between a juncture of rain forest and Pacific Ocean, where sun and sunsets will warm every inch of you. Located on the south end of Jaco Beach, Club del Sol is a gated property of 16 magnificent condominiums just one block from the beach front. You will enjoy hotel style service provided by our friendly, bilingual staff. These luxurious two bedroom condominiums can accommodate up to six people. All condominiums are steps from the private swimming pool and waterfall. You will have an on-site office for check in/out, where we provide services for booking tours, transfers, fishing trips, and other activities. Daily maid service, full time maintenance, 24 hour security, cable TV, free wireless high speed Internet, and excellent air conditioning units. Kitchens are fully equipped for you to make your own meals and sit out on your private patio with your family dining. Washer and dryer units also are provided for your use. A Jenn-air BBQ grill is available at the pool-side area for our guests. Nestled in a beautifully lavished garden in the jungle within a small gated community of 17 gorgeous condominiums with 24 hour security. Best of all, the surfing beach is a block away from your front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Club del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Del Sol Hotel Jaco
Club Del Sol Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.