We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club del Sol

Save Saved
You added Club del Sol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club del Sol
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   1 Madrigal Costanera Highway, Jaco 4023, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Thermal, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

For the past 8 years we have been staying at club del sol, its become a home rather than just a place to stay. The location is great!! There is a minimart, soda, and surf shack right across the way. The beach is about a 2 minute walk, and an 8 minute bike ride into town.. a taxi into town will usually cost around $3. The cleanliness of the rooms are great! Very nice modern decor.. The staff is always so friendly and wiling to help with whatever you need. its also a plus to have a washer/dryer/dishwasher! Trust me every time you go to club del sol your bound to make new friendships. We were fortunate enough to become good friends with David, Kelly, Steve, and Melanie. We see them every year and always have a great time with them! If your visiting Costa Rica and need a clean, friendly, roomy, great location place to stay, than club del sol is the place for you. Pura Vida!!!
-Abram,Maria,Ariana

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubdelsol, Manager at Club del Sol, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Soto family,

Thank you for your kind review, the feeling is mutual and we love to have you at Club del Sol!

Julieta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

5 stars, but I would list 10 stars if I could. The place is right near the beach, great staff, beautiful property and the rooms decor were inviting and relaxing.
Plenty of room and the pool's eco-friendly (alternative to chlorine) didn't burn our eyes and made swimming in the water much more pleasant.
Great Place to Stay!

Room Tip: rooms farther away from the main highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

These condos are great. Amazing value, clean, safe and the staff was unbelievably helpful. The pool was great and the walk to the beach was quick. We felt safe and were treated like family. Thank you guys for everything. We will be back and hopefully sooner than later!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was our second stay at Club del Sol. First stay was for the summer of 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Julieta, Lenin and all of the staff are friendly and very helpful. Condos are roomy, clean and cool. Kitchens are not lavishly equipped but adequate, appliances work (washer/dryer/dishwasher), wi-fi usually works and pool setting is gorgeous. Some road noise but got better later in the night. Added bonus was our daughter and friends joined us for a week and she met Mr. Right while zip lining - and this lead to our second stay here for her wedding.

Great place if you are staying more than a couple of nights and prefer some eating in, doing laundry and relaxing.

Room Tip: If you are real sensitive to noise, ask for a room away from the road. Feel free to ask questions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Isidro de El General, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Great value, great rooms. Quiet! Clean. Friendly and a nice pool. The family loved it. The niece loved the pool. Walking distance to the beach. And the room was cool, the bed was not the best but it was a minor thing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We found this condo through TripAdvisor, and as usual, were very satisfied. The condo was bright, spacious and well equipped. We were a family of five with 10 thru 16 year old kids. We stayed a Thurs. and Fri. night. Someone below us had music playing loudly, but it was only heard in the master bath, so we could shut the door and keep out their entertainment.
The pool was pleasant, the beds were great. Wish we'd stayed longer here, as the laundry in our condo would have been very beneficial later in our stay!
We drove to town and beach, though you probably could have walked to the south end of the beach relatively easily from here. Tortuga Surf School was just down the road (on the beach).
Also saw many multi-generational families coming in for the weekend.

Room Tip: Our room was 2 king size beds and a pull out sofa. Washer and dryer with soap provided!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I have stayed at Club del Sol many times, but this year I was able to use Club del Sol as my home base for 3 months, June, July and August. During the month of July I had my whole family, which includes 2 teen boys. Over the course of the summer, with many friends and family members visiting, we stayed in 4 different condos.

Each condo is owned indivudually. Each condo has the same layout, 2 bed and 2 bath. Some units have dishwashers, some don't. Some units have TVs in the bedrooms, some don't. The furniture is different in each condo, depending on the owner. All of the condos we stayed at over this summer were very nice. Club del Sol does a great job with the maintenance of the complex. Staying there as long as I did I could see how much work they were always doing to make sure the place looked great. Being so close to the ocean there is constant upkeep and CDS does a great job. All the units have a large outdoor patio or balcony overlooking the pool. This is a great place for meals and games and to get the kids away from TV. Many other condo complex don't have this feature, and I find we really like having a large outdoor table when we are on vacation. The cleaning people keep the inside of the condos spotless, and if we didn't want the cleaning people we never had problems getting new towels. The kitchen is well stocked to be able to cook, but you need to get your own food and spices. We travel light, so having laundry in each condo is a huge plus. The master bath is huge and very nice. The second bath has a basic shower, toilet and sink.

I love the staff. They are always so friendly and helpful. Anything we needed they did their best to help. We had many things delievered, like groceries and food. The office always helped us when we need translation. Booking tours or any other info we needed they would do their best to find what we wanted. Thankyou to Julietta and your whole staff.

My teen boys, 13 and 16, had a great time. They loved the pool and being so close to the beach. They wanted to learn to surf, so having the surf place across the street was great. The mini mart, across the street, reopened while we were there. There are some restaurants and sodas that are a couple minutes walk that were great to send the kids to when I didn't want to cook. Taxis are $3 into town, but during the day we would walk to town along the beach if it was low tide, or along the road during high tide. We hired a cook many times to come in and cook for us. During the week it is quiet and you often have the place to yourself, but on the weekends many Ticos come with their families. This was the best of both worlds for us. The kids made friends on the weekend and could practice their spanish, and during the week we had peace and quiet. There are roosters next door. Roosters Crow. They didn't bother us. The masterbedrooms face the pool, so you shouldn't hear them anyway. Some of the second bedrooms hear the roosters, but if you are a light sleeper then earplugs should do the trick. All the units we stayed in had double paned windows, so no problem.

I love the location of CDS. It is close enough to walk into Jaco during the day and a cheap taxi ride at night. You are a quick taxi ride to Playa Hermosa. CDS is easy in and out off the main road, but very close to the beach. You can easily do a day trip to Manuel Antonio. The public bus stops right near CDS and is a great option. The south end of Jaco is quiet, so for me I have the best of both worlds, fun beach town with lots to do, but quiet place to go home to at night and hang out at during the day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club del Sol

Address: 1 Madrigal Costanera Highway, Jaco 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club del Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious condominiums rest idyllically between a juncture of rain forest and Pacific Ocean, where sun and sunsets will warm every inch of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Club del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Del Sol Hotel Jaco
Club Del Sol Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.