We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club del Sol

Save Saved
You added Club del Sol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Club del Sol
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   1 Madrigal Costanera Highway, Jaco 4023, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Atlanta
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2008

We had another great stay at Club Del Sol. After many stays, and seeing many of the other condos our favorite is 111, because it sleeps up to 7 people. All the condos are great, but if you need a condo that holds more people, I think it is the only one that sleeps that many. I was sad that the soda closed across the street, but there are other great options. The management is so helpful. We love the security. It is like your own intimate vacation home.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Soda closed across the street.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2007

My two sisters and I booked Club Del Sol at the last minute after our 14-day cruise in Costa Rica had been cancelled. What a wonderful surprise we got!

The condo was spacious, clean and extremely comfortable. The management of the complex, in particular Johnny was fantastic! He was able to recommend many great day adventures for us and was helpful in any request we had. The pool is always warm and welcoming and the grounds are beautifully maintained.

The condo was very close to town and we would walk there with regularity. But beware to make sure you start that walk early (before 9am) in the morning as the temperatures heat up quickly in Costa Rica. Then after a casual shopping we would take a taxi back to the condo (a whopping $2 ride including three people and many shopping bags! And that included tip!).

The management of the condo made many trip outing for us including canopy tours(2), catamaran sails(2) and a great coffee tour on our way to the airport on the day of our departure! It was a fantasic vacation and I would recommend it for all!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2007

We love Club del Sol. Our family has stayed there 3 times. We live in San Jose, so Jaco is an easy drive for us. Every time we go, we stay at Club del Sol. The rooms are large, clean, the beds are comfy and there are even cartoons in English for our kids!!!! The pool is great, and the decks are very nice and relaxing too. You can walk about 1 1/2 blocks to the beach or you can drive and park there. The beach is not busy and is great for kids. I have seen many of the local "dives" and I wouldn't go near them. You will not be disappointed in Club del Sol.

  • Liked — It is new, clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — no restaurant
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vallejo, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2007

This brand new condo complex of 16 condos, set just south of Jaco, 1.5 blocks from the beach are gorgeous, modern, clean and have fantastically strong A/C. Each condo is 2br/2ba with vaulted ceilings, full kitchens (oven/stove, coffee maker, blender, full fridge, & granite counter tops), large TVs with several English stations, washer/dryer in each unit (laundry detergent also supplied), two balconies or porches with sliding glass doors and full sliding screen doors and all facing inward on a small lovely pool with waterfall and manicured grounds with BBQ facilities and lounging areas -- great for a group, there were 20+ of us traveling together. The master bath had double sinks and a large tiled shower, shampoo, conditioner & soap. Club del Sol is associated with Club del Mar (set directly on the beach) and looks very similar – staying at Club del Sol allowed us to utilize all services at Club del Mar (pool, lounge chairs, spa, restaurant). I had also gotten a great group rate, $118/nt per condo for double occupancy, including taxes! It was around 7pm when we arrived and a staff member was awaiting us in the office, all of the staff was extremely nice & helpful, she just gave us all the keys and said we could settle the paperwork anytime before we left – great! There’s a security guard on site who helped us all with our luggage and finding each room. The A/C in each condo was blasting which along with the tiled floors and ceiling fans kept the condos wonderfully cool. These condos were much bigger then we needed, but allowed a great escape from the heat of the day & group gatherings. Looking out from our condo you could see lush hillsides, some power lines and a good number of birds. The most "Americanized" hotel we stayed in on our 3+wk trip to CR. Only minutes from Jaco which had a great selection of restaurants & shops and didn't seem nearly as "seedy" as others have reported. It was very easy to walk to the beach from the condos & the south end of Jaco beach is relatively clean and very quiet, but the sand is HOT!

  • Liked — Walking into the wonderfully cold condos after a hot day at the beach, love that AC! And great staff!!
  • Disliked — Minor street noise from some condos
  • Stayed March 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2007

Club del Sol was wonderful! If we ever travel to Jaco again, I would definitely book this place. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The condos are big and clean. Cleaning service everyday and security every night. Washer/dryer and full kitchen in condo. Airconditioning. Grounds are beautiful and great pool. Beach one block from hotel. Hotel in safe and quiet location. Excellent stay!

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2006

We did not have much expectations about the city town of Jaco, so we just planned for a one night stay there of our 15 days trip to Costa Rica. We booked into Club del Sol, and the place was so nice and relaxing that we stayed for 5 nights! The condos are very comfortable, the staff helpful and charming, the near by beach is safe and the location perfect, close but not too close to the town.

In addition the rates are great! We will return next year with a group to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

  • Liked — The layout of the condos
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2006

Club del Sol is a beautiful, serene setting for your time in Costa Rica. Julietta and Bonnie in the office are very informative and provide wonderful recommendations for tours and restaurants. Whether you want to simply sit by the pool or on your private patio or see the sites in Costa Rica, this is a wonderful place and location to stay. The condo was very spacious whether it is only two of you or your whole family.

The tours that Club del Sol set up for us were great and the tour guide was very knowledgeable.

We would highly recommend Club del Sol and we look forward to returing in the future.

  • Liked — Very convenient location and helpful staff
  • Disliked — The internet access wasn't always available or fast.
  • Tips/Secrets — Books tours trough the office at the condo.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club del Sol

Also Known As:
Club Del Sol Hotel Jaco
Club Del Sol Hotel
Club Del Sol Costa Rica/Jaco
Address: 1 Madrigal Costanera Highway, Jaco 4023, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 47 Specialty lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club del Sol 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious condominiums rest idyllically between a juncture of rain forest and Pacific Ocean, where sun and sunsets will warm every inch of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Club del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.