We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel was quite nice, clean, good location and a staff that was outstanding.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante

Save Saved
You added Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Bohio 50 Mts West | (towards the beach), Jaco 4123, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Sandy Springs, Ga.
1 review
“The hotel was quite nice, clean, good location and a staff that was outstanding.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

This boutique hotel was the best I have ever visited even in the U.S. All of the staff were very helpful and even spoke very good English. The restaurant was superb and if you go, try the ribs and the tuna. The fish is caught and cooked daily and the portions would feed a large man.
I will definitly go back to the Hotel Poseidon and maybe stay longer than a week. It is a very relaxing hotel to stay in.
The Sports Bar on the third floor gets all the games from the U.S. by satellite and it is a fun and relaxing bar. You can order anything on the menu from the main restaurant.
Next time you go to Costa Rica, don't miss the Hotel Poseidon!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    36
    27
    16
    14
See reviews for
14
52
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield Beach FL
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

Right near the beach to check the surf and the surfers.! Though it was the rainy season when I arrived on Sept 22 and stayed thru the 27th, I soon found the staff to be friendly, couteous and friendly!!,,,and the environment soon began to feel like 'home' despite the weather. My first contact with the hotel was Bolivar, who carefully explained the rates and rooms available. He was most helpful up to the time I formally booked the hotel.
Upon arrival, I was assigned a superior room that I found unacceptable. I immediatelyy told the front desk, and was assigned a nicer room . Continental bkfst is included with the room rate and a complete breakfast, lunch menu is available AND the dinner menu is eclectic and superior in selection and preparation. I strongly recommend the 'catfish' and 'lamb chops' among others. Marco, the bartender was the perfect employee also, as were the wait staff and housekeeping staff. I was especially pleased to have the proprietor 'Tim Odom' join me prior to dinner to discuss the hotel's operations...a most amiable host. The total staff is quick to act upon any request!!! My hotel choice while in Jaco was a very good one. If my search for a vacation retreat finds me in the Jaco area again, I will unhesitatingly arrange to stay at the Poseidon.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

the hotel was amazing. about 40yards from the beach. the food was garunteed the best in town by a long shot. the rooms were very very nice and quiet, which was nice being so close to the night life. the skylounge on the top floor was awsome. it had like 5 different games on at the same time. air conditioned and very nice inside. the pool was a perfect temperature which was good being that it is summer there year round it seems. this was our second time back to the hotel posideon and are planning our next trip.

do you know when you wanna rip your face off cause you cant begin to express how great you feel about something? thats how i feel about the posideon and jaco.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010 via mobile

Excellent hotel with VERY friendly and helpful staff, AMAZING food, drinks and service, prime location (seconds from the beach and shops,) big, clean and A/C rooms, affordable, American owned (the owners were VERY friendly to us and treated us great.) They even had an upstairs sports bar with American channels and A/C. Overall a five out of five stars. Would DEFINITELY stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

website makes it look like a 5 star hotel, but it is much different in person. We stayed in room #15... stay away from that one and the one next to it (i'm guessing #16)... when room service is talking over their radios the tv goes out and you can hear them through the tv's speakers, when it rains the picture gets fuzzy as well... room service is great though and cleans every other day. oh, beds are not great, but ok i guess... bring your own pillows because theirs are not very good at all (imo) BUT! their restaurant is amazing! we were eating one night and the power went out and the cook didn't miss a beat (you can watch her cook because the kitchen is out in the open). they have a special from 6-10 where you can get two meals and an appetizer for $25 (nice sized filet minon is on the list along with pasta and fish dishes)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoseidonOwner, Owner at Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
We appreciate all of the compliments on our Restaurant. Also, for the Radios heard throught the TV and Phone in your room, this is not room service as you thought, it is actually the dispatch for one of the Taxi companies in town. Ttheir office is 4 doors down from the hotel. We are talking with them about what can be done. Will check the mattress in #15 as well as the pillows. It may be time to buy a few new items. Again thanks for the feedback, if we did not have it, we would not know where we need to improve. By the way, that was the rainiest September in the 9 years we have lived here. Tim Odom, Owner Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

Great staff great food great atmosphere Sky Lounge rocks coldest beer in town best mixed drinks Owner is friendly and accomadating to all your needs. Eat the ribs they are the best in Latin America Hotel is clean and nice swim up pool bar quiet and nice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Not thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

I started my trip at a terrible hotel down the street and decided I had to find something better. I walked by Hotel Poseidon, popped my head in and was greeted by Bolivar at the front desk. He gave me a tour of the hotel, informed me that some rooms were available, and gave me a tasty discount off the normal price. I was sold right then and there.

The rooms are in a boutique style, with spacious and comfortable beds, a small patio overlooking the pool (that has a swim up bar), TV/DVD/Fridge/Safe/Coffee Maker/Air Con, etc. I really felt at ease in the room and didn't mind that it was raining as I could sit on the patio and read or watch the hummingbirds buzz around.

The only real negatives, and these are minor, are that the all the towels are in desperate need of replacement. Very dirty, worn, and stained. Also, the hotel locks it's doors around 10ish in the evening and the security guard down there is a bit on the grumpy side. The hotel is very quiet in the evenings, but starts to get busy about 7am and the sound carries through the rooms above. So if you go out for a big evening, it's hard to sleep in late with the goings on downstairs.

More of the positives were the location (1/2 block from the beach), the very tasty restaurant as you enter, and a good little sports bar on the top floor, great for watching whatever big game is on. Bolivar was extremely helpful in assisting me to get transportation from Jaco back to the airport, and all of the staff (minus Mr Grumpy security guard) were very friendly and helpful. Every day the maids ensured that the room was spic and span. The free in room WiFi was faster than most hotel speeds, so big plus for that.

I was extremely pleased with this hotel! Great value, location, rooms, and people all combined to make my stay very relaxing. I'll definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante

Address: Calle Bohio 50 Mts West | (towards the beach), Jaco 4123, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique hotel with a quality restaurant and air conditioned sports bar. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. We are in the center of Jaco near all of the shops and restaurants that Jaco has to offer. Our service is what keeps people coming back!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.