We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A happy accident” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante to your Saves list
Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Bohio 50 Mts West | (towards the beach), Jaco 4123, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A happy accident”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

When my husband and I visited Costa Rica back in March, we hadn't planned on visiting Jaco but due to some extenuating circumstances, we had to change our route and found ourselves in Jaco for 4 nights. We booked this hotel literally a day before we arrived in Jaco and were a bit nervous because it was high season in Costa Rica, busy everywhere we went and we were worried the good hotels would be picked over. However, Hotel Poseidon was a pleasant surprise. We ate at the restaurant several times and loved the staff and the food. The pool was clean and refreshing. We were a 5 minute walk from the beach and stunning Jaco sunsets. Our rooms had 2 beds, a mini fridge, shower, and much needed air-conditioning. There was an English league soccer game my husband really wanted to watch and the bartender upstairs made sure it was available for him. There was an issue with brown water coming from the shower one day and we experienced a storm one evening which left us without power and therefore air conditioning. But those were the only two hiccups during our stay at Poseidon. I would recommend this location to people as an affordable option with a great restaurant, close to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    46
    28
    18
    14
See reviews for
14
57
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I found this hotel on my first trip to Costa Rica. The rooms were neat and clean, but a bit dated. The staff was very friendly and the pool was gorgeous. The proximity to the beach was also a plus. I would definitely stay here again. Hopefully by that trip they'll have updated the rooms a bit.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Safe, clean and comfortable! Stones throw from the beach and in the middle of the Jaco strip. The staff is friendly and helpful as well as the colorful locals that frequent the resturuant. The continental breakfast is healthy, delicious and more than ample. The dinner menu is also impressive and the service top notch. The ladies behind the bar and in the kitchen are outstanding! We will stay again when we return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sallisaw, OK
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed a week at Hotel P., and it was a good week. Staff at the hotel are overall very friendly and fun. Now, we're not huge party folks, so we weren't out there at late night hours. The ladies at the bar and in the kitchen are truly some hard working folks. We saw them there all the time. The male staff seem to have a few days off during the week. Service is good, rooms are a little dated. Hotel P is about 75 feet off Avenida Pastor Diaz toward the beach, and it might be easy to miss if you're not paying attention. About 100 yards from the beach. Never saw a security guard. The location couldn't be much better for being in the heart of Jaco. It's a short walk to about everything. 3 short blocks to the bank, bakery, grocery store. Restaurants and shops are just around the corner.

Rooms are cleaned daily. There's about 14 different units on two floors. There's another unit or maybe two over the restaurant. Gets a little loud there at night, but not too bad. Good AC units. Good power grid. Rooms have a small fridge. Two double beds. Rooms are a little cramped, but who's staying in the room at Jaco, except to sleep. Bathrooms are clean, but be careful with the commodes. They don't tolerate paper at all, and will clog up easily. There's plenty of hot water on demand. Water kind of surges here, so there are episodes of cold and hot water rushes. Pool are is small but nice. Pool cleaned and water dosed (chlorinated, etc) regularly. Couple of tables with chairs for lounging.

Dining is very good. Breakfasts can be ordered off the menu, but I suggest the continental. Plenty of fresh fruit, coffee, juice, toast and a wonderful fruitbread, warm. We ate this almost every day, and it was hard to finish. Dinners are good, also. We ate at many different places, but had a couple of evening meals here. The mahi mahi is excellent. There's a little bar in the restaurant serving juices, cokes and a wide variety of mixed drinks. Sports bar way up on the rooftop, showing about 6 screens. You can order your meals up there, if you want.

Poseidon is getting a little dated, and is in need of some basic maintenance. They were in process of plastering and painting the walls. Otherwise, it looks like it has been a couple of years since any serious maintenance was done on the structure, other than room interiors. Lots of cracked woods, sagging pipes, etc. Almost everything needs a good touch up and some places need some solid repair. Nothing that seemed gross, but definitely run down. Hotel P would have been a marvel 10 years ago. Nobody uses the swim up bar. Pool pump and circulation system is housed there. There is absolutely no view of the beach. There's a wall that separates this property from the neighboring properties, and that's the view from your room. I could guess it gets a little claustrophobic in the downstairs room. Saw some reviews from other recent guests that mentioned bugs...didn't have a problem with pest insects. Keep in mind, in Costa Rica there are bugs, but we didn't see any of the nasties.

Hotel P makes a good base to operate from. The price is great. That is a major plus. Over the past 15 years, the price of everything in Jaco (CR in general) has skyrocketed even if the quality hasn't improved. But the rates here are most reasonable. Hotel P is not an all inclusive deal, nor is it a 4 or 5 star resort. We enjoyed our stay here. We weren't bothered by a soul, and never had a concern during our stay.

Room Tip: Not really a place for kids or children. Older teens might do okay here, especially if you have lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Let me first start by saying the positives outweigh the negatives. The location was excellent, the room was clean, food/service in the restaurant were good. However the guy at the front desk seemed miserable. Out of my entire week in Costa Rica he was the ONLY unfriendly person I encountered. The WiFi could use improvement as well. Given the price point and comparing it with similar priced hotels in San Jose and Manuel Antonio, I'll likely try another hotel during my next visit to Jaco.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We found the hotel via a LivingSocial ad. Unbelievable deal and we always wanted to travel to Costa Rica. Booking was easy and the owner went the extra mile by booking our travel to and from the hotel for us. Knowing little about the country, that small gesture went a long way in making the trip easy. The sheets weren't changed in the first room we had. We asked for another room and were given one near the laundry room on the first floor. It was clean and comfortable - and probably quieter than rooms nearer the pool. The beach is about half block away and the staff can arrange any tour you want. The restaurant is amazing - great food, great people and great price. Make sure to have the Gallo Pinto for breakfast and enjoy the coffee!

Room Tip: I would ask for a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The staff went the extra yard to make sure we were taken care of and made everything easy from money exchanges to advise on local activities. They looked out for us and obviously valued our business. Rooms aren't new but attitude more than makes up for it. Great food too.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante

Address: Calle Bohio 50 Mts West | (towards the beach), Jaco 4123, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique hotel with a quality restaurant and air conditioned sports bar. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. We are in the center of Jaco near all of the shops and restaurants that Jaco has to offer. Our service is what keeps people coming back!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.