We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean deal for a budget traveler.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante

Save Saved
You added Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Bohio 50 Mts West | (towards the beach), Jaco 4123, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 42 hotels in Jaco
MA USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A clean deal for a budget traveler.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

You could find a discounted deal without too much difficulty, like on expedia, where it was "today's special" or something. You are there for the outdoors, so if your room's clean and they have security, you have a reasonable deal. There's cable TV when you're tired at night. The showers are tepid, solar assisted, but warm enough. The drains may have some beach-sand clogging but they worked OK although a little slow. Meet the housekeeping staff and the desk staff. They were all very wonderful Ticos. We enjoyed the breakfasts and a few snacks, but did not try dinner onsite. You're in town, so you will hear the nightlife. There is a disco next door that is booming till 3 or 4 but we hiked & swam all day and with a few drinks we still slept OK. Internet access (no charge) is available; you may have to wait your turn. Jaco was a good place to stay on a 1st trip to CR. Car recommended. They have mandatory insurance. Make sure you rent a GPS (that "speaks" English if you do).

Room Tip: Doesn't matter, but we enjoyed upstairs where there is a balcony/porch outside along the length...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    37
    27
    16
    14
See reviews for
14
53
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fieldsboro, NJ
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Poseidon a couple of years ago and didn't hesitate to book it again. Clean rooms, friendly staff, great food and walking distance to the beach, restaurants, shops, etc. Can't wait to go back for another visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We were stayed in nice hotels in Costa Rica until we came to Jaco, we ran away from the hotel we booked, booked 2 nights n stayed one night, we booke Poseidon Hotel last min without doing much research. After we booked it, my husband went online n read the reviews, we were freaked out by the bad reviews, so we purposely stayed around until 8pm to check in, cause didn't want to spend too much time in the hotel.
The check in reception desk is basically the cashier counter for the restaurant, you have to walk thru the restaurant then go up stair to the rooms. The hotel is old, the room is okay, not as dirty as it described on the reviews. We asked for nonsmoking, but the Room did smells. There is a bar on the top of the building, bartender was nice. Didn't use the pool, because the whole experience here we got freakout by the other reviews. It's locate in the center of Jaco, you can park your car across street in the parking lot for a fee. Continental breakfast is just some fruits and bread, but I think you get what you paid.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Just spent a week there an it was a good base station, the food was great an served by Cindy an Gabby 2 gorgeous local girls the rooms were nice but simple. Not for someone looking for elegance, the beach was only a block away an we were in the center of town, Tim the owner was around but mostly upstairs in the sports lounge. The pool was small an the pool bar hasn't been used in a couple of years but the jacuzzi worked. You can make calls to the states for $1 a minute but no one tells you the first minute has a 3 minute min. Then 5. So you need to talk for 5 min. A call All in all my group of 9 would go back

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I would not stay here again. My wife and I fortunately booked only one night. The Room is dark, smells like mold, and whatever you do, do not look under the sheets at the mattress. The mattress is covered with black mold and god knows what else spots. No one should sleep on such a mattress, and that is why this is 1 star. We brought one bed sheet with us just in case of something like this and our own pillow cases since it takes very little room in luggage and were able to use this to spend the night there. Restaurant is awesome, food is delicious. Location is also awesome. With a few small changes, could be good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladera Ranch, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The hotel rooms are amazing great space, clean very well decorated. Staff is friendly and helpful very good prices for an American owned. Great location for beach access and night life. Must stay place for family business or pleasure with friends. Every time I'm in Jaco ill

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samara Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Two friend had told me that they recommended The Poseidon. I had to go to Jacob on business so my sister and I reserved a room there. When we walked into rm. #4 the smell of mold was bad. But what was worse was when we pulled back the bed spread and the black mold that was on the material of the box spring was really bad. The best thing about the room was the shower. Lots of hot water and good pressure. It was the only place in the room that was clear. Even the walls in the bedroom were dirty. The room did have a phone and a small refrigerator and we were told it had wifi but was only able to access it for about 30 seconds out on the patio/corridor. There is an air conditioner above the door to the room. On the A/C unit the adjustment panel cover was broken and hanging down so when you try to close the door the cover stops you, you have to reach up and try to push it out of the way to close the door. I am 5'10" and i had trouble reaching it.
I spoke with the friends that recommended it and one had only been to a banquet there and the other had stayed there 3 yrs ago. Something has changed, i don't know if ownership has changed or the owner is away but whatever reason I hope they can get their act together. The food in the restaurant is rated very highly but with the condition of the room we were afraid to eat there. We are not knocking the restaurant just the hotel section. Unfortunately they won't get our business again. I hope the owner reads these comments an takes notice to get the property back to where it once was.

Room Tip: Don't stay in #4. Bad, bad, bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoseidonOwner, Owner at Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
1st of thanks for your review. 2nd Sorry you were so disappointed. 3rd Yes, this is the same ownersdhip for the last 11 years and yes we still live in Jaco and work in the hotel almost every day. We actually began re-painting all rooms the following Monday after your stay. We had to skip re-painting rooms last year, as there was no money. We have re-painted every year since we arrived until last year. We have already re-painted 4 of the 5 rooms downstairs, wihch includes the room you described. Maybe we have lived here too long, but your description is quite harsh, especially not eating in the restaurant based on it. Finally, we will have all 14 rooms painted and matresses bought where needed by December 19th. We are also re-tiling stairs, some walk ways and other general improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante

Address: Calle Bohio 50 Mts West | (towards the beach), Jaco 4123, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique hotel with a quality restaurant and air conditioned sports bar. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. We are in the center of Jaco near all of the shops and restaurants that Jaco has to offer. Our service is what keeps people coming back!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.