We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very kind owners” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jaco Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Jaco Lodge to your Saves list
Jaco Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   De Pinturas sur calle laterial 100 ms al sur final de la calle, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very kind owners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This small lodge is a good alternative to the noisy Jaco centre hotels. The bungalows are divided into 3 rooms each. Our room was very tiny and very close to the other 2 rooms. So there was like no privacy. The owner is extremely nice & helpful, which compensates the lack of space. Pool is very clean. Jaco itself is a "Phuket"-like place with a loud nightlife & discos.
The lodge doesn't offer breakfast, which in Costa Rica is critical because of the tremdendous food prices. Even in the supermarket a simple shopping of basic breakfast items will cost you more than 30 € / 40 USD.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the parking space, that is the one with most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
5
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Been to the Jaco Lodge, i highly recommend it.

Leonardo the owner is really nice and welcoming. He went out of his way to accomodate me with transportation. Saved me a 20$ bus ride and a lot of time. Asked for an extra bag of coffee, he offered me two!!

Location is not on the main strip, but it makes it even better! The main street of Jaco is noisy and to be avoided a night. Jaco Lodge is an easy 12 minutes walk to the beach, grocery store, and all main activities.

Room was the cleanest i have seen in costa rica. It has everything a large brand hotel can offer, at a cheaper rate. Safebox, tv, AC working great, hot shower, coffee machine, ceiling fan. Pool on site, very clean. Hotel is family friendly and quiet at night. Could not expect more from a stay im Jaco.

Please make sure your turn off the AC while away from the room, electricity is expensive in CR, and the room takes 2 minutes to cool.

THANK YOU Leonardo!!

Room Tip: Any room will be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

It wasn't located in the most prime spot but our room was nice, clean, air conditioned, included a fridge and safe. The staff was very friendly. It was gated in and had a parking spot for our rental- seemed very safe. It was also a little difficult to find initially but I would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Let me start with the things we liked about the Jacó Lodge: the room was well maintained with a large tiled bathroom, hot water, comfortable king-size bed, refrigerator, small flat-screen TV, DVD player (with four DVDs, including a French movie that we enjoyed), air conditioning, overhead fan, storage closet and safe. The swimming pool was small, but well maintained, and had plenty of lounge chairs and two covered outdoor day beds, surrounded by a nice garden. So what's not to like? Well, I think for some people, it's location, location, location. I think that when people visit Jacó, they generally want to either be close to the beach. If not, the location should have a nice view or some other redeeming quality, like a jungle with monkeys, birds and sloths. Jacó Lodge is located at the end of a dead-end unpaved street in a residential neighborhood. It's only a ten minute walk to the beach, so for my wife and me, who have been to Jaco many times, and don't mind the walk, it was fine. But if you care about location, this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: We needed an early check in, so we were given what was available, a small, crowded room. You might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Had a lovely stay n a renovated room off the Main St. of Jaco. Few blocks from the beach and main area. Only stayed one night. The owner went out his way to call hotels in San Jose with me the day I was departing to make sure i had an address to go to upon arrival. My boyfriend and I were pushing it on time to make it to the bus. We wanted to look around on the way there. As we started rushing the owner of the hotel sees us,pulls over to give us a ride the rest of the way. He offered before we left since he was traveling that way. We wanted to push it. It was from his heart. He won me over. The rooms are simple.Good light were I was.Fan & ac. Spacious room w large bathroom. The hotel is down a dead end. The dogs around the area bark they're harmless. I'm scared of dogs still felt fine. This tends to happen a lot in other nations. If you want to support a local with a good heart I suggest Jaco Lodge

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jaco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaco Lodge

Address: De Pinturas sur calle laterial 100 ms al sur final de la calle, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jaco Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Jaco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaco Lodge Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.