We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Google Map it before you go...and then GO!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Point Beach Bar & Grill

The Point Beach Bar & Grill
Calle Hidalgo | About 1 kilometer south of the municipality building (sign on right side of the road). End of calle Hidalgo, second property to the left, Jaco, Costa Rica
+506 2643 4513
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #7 of 90 restaurants in Jaco
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Quaint little beach bar located on the south end of the beach in Jaco (by far the cleanest and safest part of town).
Omaha
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Google Map it before you go...and then GO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was our favorite place to visit in Jaco. Our group of 6 struggled to find it and I'm still not sure how to get you there...but have faith - it exits and is worth the effort. (There is a sign on the side of the main road pointing you in the correct direction.) The fish tacos were simply out of this world! We tried them everywhere we went but these are special. The margaritas and service were excellent too. From the cook to the server to the owner...they all went out of their way to make our experience fantastic. Out of all the places we visited, this is one I would go to again if we ever have the pleasure of getting back to Jaco.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    77
    25
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

If you want to enjoy a good cocktail, a cold beer, or some greats eats at a beach bar, this is the place to do it. You can watch the sunset and the surfers catching rides into the evening. The bar tenders are great, especially the Italian dude. Guy knows how to make a drink. The owner is a cool family guy that shows great hospitality. I would recommend this bar to anyone traveling to jaco that wants to enjoy a relaxing time at a bar/restaurant on the beach.

Pura vida

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The Point was right down the beach from our condo. The owner(s), managers are all very friendly and accommodating. We ate dinner and breakfast there during our stay. The food and drinks are very good, but the banana bread is the specialty and very good.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
“Best Fish Tacos!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Love the food in this place...From the fish tacos to the great breakfast! We loved the owners, they are really hands on and the views are spectacular!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“View to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband read excellent reviews so we embarked on an adventure to find it. We then got our rental stuck in the sand in front. (Dont go obto the sand). Girls sat at bar to have a drink while men dug it out. Owner Todd heard of our plight and not only went out to offer assistance, he let the guys wash up, gave them towels. He & his wife very nice. Treated us like family. Bartender & cook also amazing. We then sort of took over the place. We were a group of 11. Great prices, drinks and food started to flow and we had a wonderful few hours. The rain came but we were seated at the b ar facing the ocean!
They also run a 5 rm B&B with pool right behind restaurant.
We ended up booking 9 zip lining tours and 2 massages for the next morning thru Todd at a great price!! He has and shares many tips of area.Of course would return. PURA VIDA

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Point Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to The Point Beach Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Point Beach Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.