We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, Relaxing, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morgan's Cove Central

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morgan's Cove Central
Save
You added Morgan's Cove Central to your Saves list
Calle Invu, 175 meters East of Beach, 75 meters east of Alamo Rental car, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Kentucky
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Affordable, Relaxing, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I went here with a group of six girls during a study abroad trip for the weekend, and we all loved it! Our room was decent (not the nicest thing in the world but they fixed our clogged toilet right away and overall it was nice having kitchen and ac), and the grounds are beautiful. We loved the pool and the hammock, and got to see several giant iguanas hanging out while we were poolside which was really cool. It has a great location, about a 2 minute walk to the beach, and is right on the main street with all of the cool shops and restaurants. We arrived via bus from San Jose and it was a 2 minute cab ride. If I come back, I'd definitely stay here again. It was a great experience! My only complaint was the karaoke singing going on at the restaurant that lasted until 1am which we were not told about, but luckily we all had earplugs and so fell asleep!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    7
    11
    4
See reviews for
13
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is a wonderful property with a very courteous and professional staff that I will certainly visit again.

Everyone treated me like royalty and were very helpful with tours and fishing trips.

The restaurant is second to none with a varied menu of freshly prepared food.

Bill

Room Tip: Choose one near the excellent restaurant and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paderborn
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The hotel is really very nice - it is like a tropical garden (don't mix it with Morgan's Cove Casino!).
The personal was very friendly. The rooms were basic but very convinient and clean.
The usual costa-rican breakfast consisted as always from some fruits +coffee + toast + butter - not very much for a usual European - so be prepared to take another breakfast right after it somewhere else. Alternatively you can pay in the restaurant to get a different type of breakfast.
It should be stressed that the ambient of the hotel is really nice - many palms - it is safe and quiet. The entrance is supervised by the personal so that not everyone enters.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

In the most basic room, everywhere around the world there is a little refrigerator. In our room, no refrigerator. And when we asked for it, the hotel did not have one on that day because someone else was using it and if we wanted one on the next day, we had to pay 6$ per day!!! (usually it is included). I visited a lot places, and it is the first time I have this problem. Second, in the description of the room, there was supposed to be a coffee machine, there was none. And it did not appear when we asked either. Breakfast is not satisfying at all. This hotel is not worth for an all inlcusive either, from what we saw: there is no buffet and the meals that are served are very cheap even for those who have paid the all inclusive price. Even if you're on a budget, you can find better. There are a lot of good B&B around Jaco and even Hostels can be better than this.

Room Tip: Apparently it is good to choose the room with the kitchenette (where there is a fridge and a space t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

For budget travellers who don't like the size and noise of a typical all-inclusive, this place is a bit of a find. The grounds surrounding the lovely pool are gorgeous, and the nearby shaded hammocks are a total bliss-out. You're never more than a hop and skip from your room, so it's more like staying at a friend's country retreat than some sort of Club Med. No blaring music, no hyper staff. An intimate place, with friendly staff, and guests who quickly get to know one another over a week or two. If you booked it with a block of friends, you'd have an amazing time. The food is serviceable, but not great. Plan to eat a few nights out in the town, where fresh fish abounds. Our room was clean, with great air conditioning, which was all we needed. Request a ground-floor room or villa, so that you get an outdoor table.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welsh, LA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Had reservations at this "motel" for 5 nights, stayed 3 nights!! Only stayed 3 because had fishing reservations booked for 2 days.. The rooms are VERY small, beds are really uncomfortable, mattress may have been 5 inches thick!! Pillows felt stuffed with filler used in stuffed animals..Air condition barely cooled the small room. 9 in TV, no closet. The breakfast that was included was edible, that's it.
The staff was very friendly..
I hate leaving reviews like this but in this case felt it necessary..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We enjoyed our stay in Morgan's Cove Central. The bungalows are perfect for a family that is traveling together….they have a small kitchen with refridgerator. It is about one block from the beach and has a beautiful pool. The staff is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Morgan's Cove Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan's Cove Central

Address: Calle Invu, 175 meters East of Beach, 75 meters east of Alamo Rental car, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jaco's best kept secret is the newly renovated Morgan's Cove Central.Located in the heart of downtown Jaco this private tropical oasis has 18 private villas surrounding the large palm fringed pool & 11 second floor standard rooms overlooking the beautiful gardens below. All Standard rooms offer 2 double beds, A.C., Cable T.V. & Private balcony's. The Garden Villas consist of 2 or 3 bedrooms,kitchenettes,A/C, Cable TV and private patios . Located around a large swimming pool in a tropical setting with Mojito's Palapas Bar and Grill. Great for families! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Morgan's Cove Central Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgan's Cove Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.