We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great typical food, atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isaga Bar and Restaurante

Isaga Bar and Restaurante
Pastor Daiz S | t, Jaco, Puntarenas, Jaco, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 101 Restaurants in Jaco
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Jaco, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great typical food, atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I especially love going to Isaga late at night to eat and get a few Pilsens with friends. Many of the restaurants in Jaco close by 9 or 10.

Great ceviche (be sure to ask for tortilla chips instead of crackers), casados, arroces (rice dishes) and more.
The kitchen is always open late (usually until at least 1am) and good beer prices.
They say they've been open in Jaco since 1987 and seem to have the clientele to attest to that.
For me this is a classic Tico establishment amidst a Jaco that's been developing rapidly to cater to backpackers and ex-pat high rise condos.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome Real Costa Rica Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

If you want a place that is totally Americanized definitely don't try this place. After staying near to Jaco for a few days, our surf instructor gave us the tip to go here and it's the best restaurant and cheapest we ate at in Jaco.
I hate the fish in a tomato sauce and my boyfriend had the traditional casado. Both were amazing, huge portions (way more than enough for a hungry eater), and delicious. The whole meal with beers was 50% less than most other places in Jaco.
As well, there was a soccer game on during our meal and locals flocked here to watch the game--which was awesome to be a part of!
Overall, a definite high recommendation!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, null, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Huge amount of great tasting food for a very good price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Extra large plates of awesome tasting food for a very low price. Off the beaten track of tourist places - but well worth looking for this place. Not 5 star dining, but 5 star food in what the local people say is the best value in town. Affordable, excellent local food, a place we went often for lunch & dinner!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a good local restaurant and this was perfect. Casual, Costa Rican spot with great prices and great atmosphere (music, bar, friends). We had ceviche and the soap de mariscos based on a friend's recommendation. Both were excellent and by far the best food we had in Jaco. Staff was super friendly and overall a great spot off the main road in Jaco.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OUR FAVORITE LOCALS LOCAL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

While in Jaco six of us ate here on numerous occasions. We were introduced to the locals hangout by of course, a local. The sea food is delicious particularly the fish fillet done in garlic. The ceviche is also one of the best around. Prices are extremely reasonable and the atmosphere (you guessed it) beech local. Highly recommended. Excellent staff make you feel at home. Average price $6-10 a meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isaga Bar and Restaurante also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Isaga Bar and Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isaga Bar and Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.