We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beach excitement” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club to your Saves list
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Madrigal, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Surf Paradise Package
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“beach excitement”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Just returned from a week of fun and excitement at this fine hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I took several surf lessons with Alex and he was very good. The rooms were very clean spacious. The Tiki bar on the beach was really a great place to hang out. Rosie and Henry are great bartenders and really make you feel at home. The food was outstanding at the hotel and as good as the best in town and priced well. I would strongly recommend this place to all. I checked out other hotels in Jaco and this one is very family friendly and truly the class of the town.

Room Tip: any room looked fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    39
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
57
73
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

If you stay at the Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club and the weather is perfect and you can be outdoors all the time you'll have an excellent time because the grounds are very attractive the pools are well-maintained and there are plenty of beach chairs. The beach is beautiful, the sunset is amazing, and it's nice that the hotel is situated at the quiet end of the beach. The restaurant/bar is fine. The prices are reasonable and the food and drinks we had were decent. The room we had was a different matter entirely. It was basically a cave. There were tiny windows. It was situated at the corner of two corridors so we could either open the curtains and have no privacy or close them and have no lights because the overhead lighting was dim and there was only one small bed-size lamp in a room with two queen beds. The bathroom was clean but a very tight fit. The beds were comfortable and the linens were clean. We only stayed one night and the weather was good so we had a nice time but that's because we stayed outside until we went to bed. It was okay because we only stayed one night and the price of the hotel was very affordable but we wouldn't have wanted to stay more than one night in that room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason G, Manager at Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Hello. We are glad that you enjoyed the beautiful property and scenery at Jaco Laguna and thank you for your feedback. As we have mentioned, the building was an existing structure before it was entirely renovated and each room has a different layout. We do our best to accommodate the needs of our guests; and reception is always helpful when it comes to changing rooms if our guests find it necessary (and we have rooms available). Thank you for choosing the Jaco Laguna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Just returned from a week at this glorious resort. My fiancée and I took surfing lessons from Alex, a very talented surf instructor and very kind! The rooms were in excellent condition and the staff made sure that our trip was as relaxing as possible. The Tiki Bar was fully stocked with excellent exotic drinks and was a blast to hangout during the day or after hours. Not only were the drinks delicious but the food was amazing as well. There was so much to do and I could go on and on, but to really know how amazing Jaco Laguna is, you'll have to visit yourself! I can't wait to return to Jaco, my new favorite resort!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here at the beginning of July and loved every second of it! The staff was friendly and accommodating when it came to giving recommendations and making sure our stay was wonderful. The surfing was great right off of the beach! The hotel is small but cozy and It's nice having the club downstairs so you don't have to leave the resort to party. This is a great place to stay at a great value you definitely get more than you pay for. Thanks for a great trip!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I was there the same time as GDKID and I can agree this was a well-run place. The overall atmosphere was friendly and safe. The combination of the resort and beach club is a great idea. It allows for controlled mixing of the guests and locals. I would like to say thank you to Henry and Rebecca; they are some hard working people and have the ability to be at work all the time and not be tired. Judith is great and always helpful. If you have question or need anything, she is the one to go to. The place was clean and the AC worked good above expectations. Don’t be expecting a huge resort type place. It is very small and intimate, but still gives you the resort feel. There are only like 20 or so rooms. I would be very interest to see the crowd during the peak season. They had a DJ stand and I bet they really party when not in the rainy season. I will definitely go back and spend some more this here. PURA VIDA!!!!!! Leon

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This was overall a good place to stay in Jacó. The front desk staff was nice. We were staying here on our honeymoon, and they upgraded us to a king room on our second night. Breakfast was comped for us since we were on our honeymoon, but the server did not know this at the time, and he was not all that hospitable to us.

There were a few things that we found weird about this place. The rooms are set up so that the front doors face the beach, but the windows face the parking lot. The beach is very pretty, but the view seems wasted since you have these large windows that overlook a gravel parking lot. Also, the "tiki bar" is set up between the beach and the pool, and the parasols above the tables at the tiki bar are covered in this weird fake plastic grass. When there is a nice ocean breeze coming from the beach, the plastic comes off the parasols and blows into the pool and onto all the people lounging around. Not a great experience. But the pool was nice overall.

There were also some inconsistencies with what we got in the two rooms. The first room we stayed in (which was much smaller, but that's what we paid for) did not have a welcome packet, but it did have tissues and bath robes. The king room had a welcome packet, but no bath robes or tissues.

When we went to check out at 6:50 am to catch a flight, the front desk was locked up and deserted. Luckily, someone got there at 7am to check us out, but if we were in a bigger rush, this could have been an issue.

Overall it was a good place to escape the craziness of Jacó. The pool was nice and relaxing, and there is direct beach access. A great way to wind down after a very active trip in Costa Rica. We also appreciated the upgrades that we got. There were just a couple little things that prevented this place from being a 5.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The air conditioner in the room worked great! Very clean and simple rooms. This hotel was great and I do plan on returning and staying here again. Only con, you can hear people talking out in the walkways outside the room.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club

Address: Calle Madrigal, Jaco, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Jaco
#4 Family Hotel in Jaco
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#5 Spa Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 26-room boutique hotel is located on an intimate oceanfront property on the south side of Jaco Beach - within a few minutes walk to all of the stops, restaurants and activities that the city has to offer, and is the only four-star rated resort in all of Jaco. We feature the top rated surf school on site, a full service spa, the most unique beach front tiki bar and open air beach front restaurant in all of Costa Rica. Take a stroll down the beach, let us arrange an excursion or adventure for you, explore the streets of Jaco or simply lounge by the pool. Enjoy our excellent restaurant, have a relaxing beach front message, take a surf lesson from the 3 time Costa Rican world surfing champion, or relax by our beachfront tiki bar for a more casual fare. Bask under the sun and enjoy a spectacular panoramic view of the endless Pacific Ocean, exotic jungle and magnificent mountains, all while experiencing a breathtaking, colorful Costa Rican sunset. Here at Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club, we are committed to providing you with the most memorable Costa Rican experience possible. The hospitality of our resort team is truly one-of-a-kind. Jaco Laguna is one of the scenically most spectacular Costa Rican beach resorts and the ideal Costa Rican vacation destination whether you are planning a honeymoon, wedding, celebration or simply a Costa Rican hideaway or adventure experience. Room rates are based on single and double-occupancy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.