We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place great value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club to your Saves list
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Madrigal, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place great value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Here with my fiancé for four days. It's off season so very quiet. We enjoy that is is not right downtown. It is about $3 US dollars for a taxi ride to town. The rooms were clean and good AC so far 90% of the staff have been very nice and helpful. A few seem indifferent but that's just society today I think. Food is okay... Nothing to wow you but it works if your not feeling like going into town. Beds are comfy and pool and grounds are clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    35
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
49
63
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I was there for a weekend wedding in March 2014. We were able to get a room that the entrance faced the ocean - one queen and one king size bed. It's located further away from downtown area, which is nice and quiet,but a little confusing to find my way back. We were greeted well by the receptionist and were able to check in quickly. The air conditioning was already running on low when we entered which was nice. The room was standard nothing fancy, but clean. The hotel parking lot felt safe to park at night, but there were no trees or shade to cover our cars from the blazing heat.
The free wifi connection was poor in each room so I had to stand in front of my room each time I needed to use it, thank goodness I didn't need to use it often. There was a coffee maker in each room which was very nice to have since my surfer husband wakes up at 5:00 am.
The mornings were beautiful with the sounds of birds, monkeys, and the oceans. We were given a complimentary breakfast each morning (not sure if our host paid for it or it was hotel standard policy) but coffee was not ready each morning until at least 9:30/10:00 each morning - and took a bit to get our order, so be patient. So I highly suggest you just buy your own extra coffee to brew in the room yourself if you are an early riser. The food was delicious, and fruit was fresh always amazing. The fruit slushy (pineapple or watermelon) non alcoholic were only $2 per glass, well needed with the heat. The pool was clean and refreshing. The grounds was well kept. This is a beachfront hotel so just a few steps and you were on the beach. I had great stay. It was a fantastic location for wedding, the sunset was spectacular. The only downsize to this hotel (more of the area not the hotel) there's lots of mosquitoes in the evening and I noticed that everything in the room was semi damped - nothing ever seems to completely dry. Oh another thing, when we booked our room the owner was always in great contact with us and so that made us feel even more comfortable with making our reservations.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one that faces the ocean, otherwise you will hear people walking past your bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I just got back from Jaco Laguna resort. I would recommend this place to anyone going to Jaco. The tiki bar is the greatest. Great service and friendly staff. The food was so good. I have never had wings that good (and I eat a lot of wings from a ton of places). Room was clean and spacious.
Great sunsets every night over the pacific. The staff set up our excursions every day. I can't think of anything negative about this place. A must stay if you are visiting Jaco.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This hotel offers a good value for people who visit. It is well located close to the south edge of Jaco beach, and after I walked most of Jaco beach I noticed the beach in front of this place is the cleanest of the whole area (no pebbles or stones in the beach). The place is relatively small, but it has the acommodations you need: good beds, nice small pool, well located, a good restaurant, great service.

Room Tip: There is only one type of rooms available, but they have two bed configurations: one has two queen b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

my husband and i stayed here five nights in march. food was wonderful (delicious fruit plate, avocado and heart of palm salad, chicken soup, fish tacos) and the staff was very helpful and nice. a special thank you to henry and angie! what else was great: the room was very clean, excellent view, pool was the perfect temperature, good location from the hustle and bustle of the town, perfectly working AC. what i didn't love- the room (#6) was a little dark and it faced the corridor so if anyone were talking outside my room, it felt like they were in my room. also, when someone upstairs took a shower, we had loud gurgling in our shower drain so it sounded like our own shower was running. you're really not in your room all that often, but please be aware your room will not be super fancy with a view. tip: beer is a deal. wine & liquor not so much. my favorite drink during my stay -- the banana monkey. it's a smoothie with banana, hahlua, rum, something else i don't remember. but it was delicious!

Room Tip: if you have a choice, i wouldn't recommend my room. #6. or any along the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Recently returned from a 4 night stay at JLR and was extremely impressed! The food was great, the drinks were cold, and the entire staff was so helpful and friendly.

Three girls in our party and we all felt 100% safe ands secure on the property. The surf lessons were a blast and we loved the DJ by the pool on Saturday afternoon.

Nothing but great things to say about the rooms as well. Cold AC for the hot days and the most comfortable hotel beds we've ever slept in.

Thanks to Laura for all your help with everything before our trip and thanks to Jerry for the transportation to and from SJO! You were great and taught us so much on the rides! Can't wait to return!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is a great place to have a few drinks and watch the tide come in! Service is great, and there are more than enough lounge chairs around the pool to truly relax. It is on the opposite end from where all the action is, so if you are looking for a "Party party" atmosphere, this isn't it. It's a 20 minute walk along the beach to the centre of town, but its such a gorgeous walk that I actually preferred it this way. There is onsite security 24/7, and plenty of staff around if ever something was needed. Food was slightly disappointing ( don't order a steak- ordered medium rare and it came cold and very tough) but the service was overall was good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club

Address: Calle Madrigal, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Jaco
#3 Business Hotel in Jaco
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 26-room, intimate oceanfront property is located on the south side of Jaco Beach - within a few minutes walk to all of the stops, restaurants and activities that the city has to offer, and is the only four-star rated resort in all of Jaco. Take a stroll down the beach, let us arrange an excursion or adventure for you, explore the streets of Jaco or simply lounge by the pool. Enjoy our excellent restaurant, Breakers or relax by our beachfront tiki bar for more casual fare. Bask under the sun and enjoy a spectacular panoramic view of the endless Pacific Ocean, exotic jungle and magnificent mountains, all while experiencing a breathtaking, colorful Costa Rican sunset. Here at Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club, we are committed to providing you with the most memorable Costa Rican experience possible. The hospitality of our resort team is truly one-of-a-kind. Jaco Laguna is one of the scenically most spectacular Costa Rican beach resorts and the ideal Costa Rican vacation destination whether you are planning a honeymoon, wedding, celebration or simply a Costa Rican hideaway or adventure experience. Room rates are based on single and double-occupancy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.