We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative Menu, Great Variety” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mono Verde Bar & Grill

Mono Verde Bar & Grill
Pastor Diaz, Next to DVD center | Right before Banco Nacional, Jaco 6101, Costa Rica
+506 2643 6000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 121 Restaurants in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Fusion, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Mono Verde tapas & restaurant is a high end cuisine establishment with reasonable prices.Offering $2 margaritas with different flavors, sangrias, wide wine variety and more.If you are a sport fishing lover then feel free to bring us your catch to be cooked for you as you desire.Enjoy our later night weekend parties with the best DJ's of Jaco beach!
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
67 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Creative Menu, Great Variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Mono Verde is a great addition to Jaco Beach with their creative menu which should satisfy any customer. I love the carpaccio de atun or beef, well presented with just enough parmigiana, capers, pesto (in the case of the beef), sliced sliver thin. (Five star quality!) Sit outside for people watching or inside with the A/C for a more intimate setting. Our waiter Manuel was on the ball, very enjoyable and willing to please. Mono Verde is a far cry from the typical burger/fries beach bar vibe. Give it a try ... I'm glad I did!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaPuraVida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Love Mono Verde. My favorite s the ravioli. Spinach or Chicken, with the delicious white sauce. They are hand made. The portion is great. Comes with bread for dipping in the sauce too. Other notables are the white or red wine Sangria. The Tapas style portion of the menu is great too. Healthy sized small plates. Atmosphere is nice. Sit in the cool AC or outside on the patio. Really like this place...one of the 3 best in Jaco.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sj89011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and people watching!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Great Place for cocktails and small plates while people watching in Jaco. Margarita prices can't be beat ($2 I believe)! Nice atmosphere and a great place to relax and/or start a night out.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cindy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I was running errands in town and i was thirsty, and it was lunch time so I decided to sit down and have a beer. (super cold with icy glass) The food going to the other tables looked great, so i asked for the Spinach Ravioli. Excellent, nice red sauce, not too heavy, and i ordered a nice Pinor Noir with it. (good wine list for Jaco) Awesome service, there is something on the menu for anyone.
Only complaint is the music is way too loud, but i was outside in a corner and it wasn't so bad. it didn't seem to bother anyone else, therefore i didn't ask them to turn it down.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PamelaOlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here at least 5 times in the last month. The pasta's are perfect, they must be made on premise. The fried calamari is that perfect light brown color and comes out in a tower presentation. The waiter is always present but not hovering. A new, modern styled dining area is available inside. Clean restrooms and bar area are also inside but I normally sit outside, by the sidewalk and watch the world go by while listening to Latin music and enjoying the excellent food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mono Verde Bar & Grill also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Mono Verde Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing