We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Vibe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mono Verde Bar & Grill

Mono Verde Bar & Grill
Pastor Diaz, Next to DVD center | Right before Banco Nacional, Jaco 6101, Costa Rica
+506 2643 6000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 95 Restaurants in Jaco
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: American, Central American, Bar, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Mono Verde tapas & restaurant is a high end cuisine establishment with reasonable prices.Offering $2 margaritas with different flavors, sangrias, wide wine variety and more.If you are a sport fishing lover then feel free to bring us your catch to be cooked for you as you desire.Enjoy our later night weekend parties with the best DJ's of Jaco beach!
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Love Mono Verde. My favorite s the ravioli. Spinach or Chicken, with the delicious white sauce. They are hand made. The portion is great. Comes with bread for dipping in the sauce too. Other notables are the white or red wine Sangria. The Tapas style portion of the menu is great too. Healthy sized small plates. Atmosphere is nice. Sit in the cool AC or outside on the patio. Really like this place...one of the 3 best in Jaco.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    23
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere and people watching!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Great Place for cocktails and small plates while people watching in Jaco. Margarita prices can't be beat ($2 I believe)! Nice atmosphere and a great place to relax and/or start a night out.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I was running errands in town and i was thirsty, and it was lunch time so I decided to sit down and have a beer. (super cold with icy glass) The food going to the other tables looked great, so i asked for the Spinach Ravioli. Excellent, nice red sauce, not too heavy, and i ordered a nice Pinor Noir with it. (good wine list for Jaco) Awesome service, there is something on the menu for anyone.
Only complaint is the music is way too loud, but i was outside in a corner and it wasn't so bad. it didn't seem to bother anyone else, therefore i didn't ask them to turn it down.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here at least 5 times in the last month. The pasta's are perfect, they must be made on premise. The fried calamari is that perfect light brown color and comes out in a tower presentation. The waiter is always present but not hovering. A new, modern styled dining area is available inside. Clean restrooms and bar area are also inside but I normally sit outside, by the sidewalk and watch the world go by while listening to Latin music and enjoying the excellent food.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“unexpectedly great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

happened upon this place which had a sign saying "tapas and wine bar". i wouldn't say this place was either, but the food was fantastic. there is a bucket of beer on the table, hence my prior comment. we had an avocado stuffed with shrimp (YUM) and a tuna steak. the presentation of the plates was really nice, food was priced very well (especially compared to the places nearby) and has a nicer atmosphere.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mono Verde Bar & Grill also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Mono Verde Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mono Verde Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.