We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful evening!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mono Verde Bar & Grill

Mono Verde Bar & Grill
Pastor Diaz, Next to DVD center | Right before Banco Nacional, Jaco 6101, Costa Rica
+506 2643 6000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 93 restaurants in Jaco
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: American, Central American, Bar, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Mono Verde tapas & restaurant is a high end cuisine establishment with reasonable prices.Offering $2 margaritas with different flavors, sangrias, wide wine variety and more.If you are a sport fishing lover then feel free to bring us your catch to be cooked for you as you desire.Enjoy our later night weekend parties with the best DJ's of Jaco beach!
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A delightful evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I must say, Mono Verde is a delightful place to have dinner. The atmosphere is charming, the food is great and after your fabulous meal, the host gives you a delicious after dinner drink called Cafe Frio, made up of Cappuccino, Amaretto, ice cream and a few other ingredients that will remain secret. It was the perfect end to a lovely evening! We will visit this restaurant again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    65
    23
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Maryland
2 reviews
“A New York Bistro in Jaco, Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

What an experience!! The interior design of the restaurant is something that you would find in New York City or Miami. The designer should definitely be working in New York City. The food and drinks at Mono Verde are outstanding. I had the fresh grilled whole red snapper done with butter and garlic and I have never had any better. I've had fresh grilled whole fish in the U.S. and Greek Islands and the fish at Mono Verde tops them all. The drinks and service are both outstanding. The prices are very reasonable for the outstanding quality of food that is served. Mono Verde should definitely be the number one restaurant for anyone visiting and going out to dinner in Jaco, Costa Rica.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Real find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Great cocktails Fleur de Cana and tonic & margarita & wine large and great tasting. Red snapper special was the best fish meal I have EVER had! Service perfect and gratis starter dish. Will come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
1 review
“Can't Get Much Better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have eaten in quite a few restaurants in Jaco and after eating at Mono Verde, it doesn't get any better. I had the Ahi tuna which was cooked to perfection. My husband had the fresh grilled Red Snapper which he marveled over. We went as a group of six which no one had any complaints. The setting is decorated unlike any other and gorgeous to say the least. If you want an unforgettable meal with the best service, Mono Verde is the place to be.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Another great dining experience at Mono Verde!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Wow. We very much enjoyed our meal again at Mono Verde. The margheritas were divine. I had blackberry (mora). Yum. My husband had a white wine sangria and it was great. The tossed salad was just right ... Very fresh. The dressing was excellent and a beautiful presentation. The special for the evening was mahi mahi and shrimp with a creamy red sauce with just the right amount of spice, rice and a delicious serving of mixed veggies. I would describe the menu as "fusion". It is a very lovely setting inside, professionally decorated, and has air conditioning. There is also outside seating if you care to people watch. We plan to eat at Mono Verde again next week. I recommend it highly.
Look for the large green and white sign Pops ice cream.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mono Verde Bar & Grill also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Mono Verde Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mono Verde Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.