We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Jaco on the Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copacabana Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Copacabana Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apado - 150, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Jaco
florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Downtown Jaco on the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

A beautiful adult hotel right on the beach and a block from downtown Jaco and the Beatle Bar. The hotel is very clean, the restaurant has great food, the pool has a bar and I had a great relaxing stay. The staff were all very friendly. There is a nude section outside in the back with a smaller pool and jacuzzi. They had bands at night, a party or two and all inclusive packages are available including food and liquor. As I love the restaurants I did not take the food package, but I ate a few times and it was great.
They have several ocean view rooms, including a few with private jacuzzis on the balcany.
What could be better than that!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    37
    17
    12
    19
See reviews for
3
78
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

I have stayed in some Adult Only properties in Mexico, so I decided to give this Hotel a shot. It was off-season so I wasn't expecting it to be croweded. After I booked the Hotel, I had a few questions so I called. I actually spoke to the owner who was very nice. The hotel will pick you up from the airport for a modest fee, but I decided to rent a car. Once I arrive, I was upgraded to a room with a hotel on the balconey. The staff was great and the cook should be in a 5-Star restaurant. One night, there was a 3-Man Band that played. The trip even included a massage which was very relaxing. My room was clean and there was beer and water in the fridge. If I had a complaint it was the rain which occured once a day. However, being from Vegas rain nice to see. I encourage you to go Ziplining if you haven't before while you are there. As a owner of a very small travel agency, I would recommend this property to my clients who are looking for an Adult vacation. I'm looking forward to going back during the season.---Robert

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

We stayed at the Copacabana Hotel & Suites from July 10 through the 17. We were with two travel companies who took over the resorts. Our agent was great, she traveled with us and let us know up front that the resort was not a 5 star property but that it had character. Our room was a pool view studio. It was small and could have used better lighting but for as much time as we spent in the room is it was fine. Our room was cleaned every day and the maid staff were warm and friendly. The doors on the suites are beautiful they are all hand carved with dolphins, iguanas, mermaids. Really unique and different.

Because this was a take over the entire resort was clothing optional which was great. However I think during non-take over the main pool is clothing and the other pool is nude.

Our goal on this trip was to be able to sight see during the day and have a lifestyle atmosphere at night and that is exactly what we experienced. Most people came back from their tours and the whole resort was ready to party by 6:00 p.m.

We were told that the resort is in the process of refreshing all of the rooms and making some needed repairs around the pool bar area. They were in the process of adding a play room while we were there and even though it was not yet finished (bathrooms were still being installed) they did allow us to use the room so we a couple of fun nights with friends. We were disappointed that the hot tub was not hot, but we got over it and created our own hot erotic fun. Because it was a takeover they did allow PDA around the pool during the day and at night. Not sure that would be allowed during non-takeovers.

The staff was absolutely fabulous, David and Ginger went out of there way to make us feel at home. The owner John was one property the entire week and was attentive to any problems that anyone had. He was personable and friendly and his hotel manager Katia was a gem. The front desk staff were also wonderful and the wait staff and bar staff were always friendly. They did their best to keep us well fed and watered. The staff mainly speak Spanish so there was some translation issues, but at the end of the day we got what we needed and sometimes it was fun just figuring it out.

The food was out of this world! We were worried that with only one main dining room we would get bored with the food, but every night was a different theme and there was always something for everyone. In fact we thought as the week went on most folks would star going out to eat but almost everyone stayed at the resort to eat because the food was that good.

The liquor was domestic brands and although we thought we would have some medium to top shelve available, at the end of the day we all got a good buz and made the best of it. Some folks who wanted a specific brand did go into town to buy it and the staff was also willing to buy it for us, but if they get it for you, you have to pay the cab fare, so it's just as easy and less expensive to buy it yourself during the day.

I would recommend that during happy hour they put out some chips and salsa, or other munchies. Sometimes you just want a little munch before dinner and you don't want to order off a menu.

We had live entertainment every night and the bands were great. One night they did Karaoke. Wow could Ginger sing. In fact we had lots of great talent within our group so it was a pleasant experience. The only negative side is that because the resort is small, and the bands play right outside the rooms, there was no way to turn in before midnight because the music radiated throughout the place. I would recommend have two nights with softer music or no music, and folks who want to stay up late and hear a band can go into town. Those who want to relax or turn in early would have the opportunity to do so.

If you are a beach person this is not the place to go for a beach. The beach was our only real disappointment, but we knew that before we got there. It is black sand and more like grit than sand. It is also a public beach and not well maintained by the locals. However, if you like to walk on the beach, it is a great walking beach with mountainous views and beautiful sunsets.

The town of Jaco is really neat, lots of shopping, restaurants, bars. I loved that you could walk into town from the hotel and that you could shop in the store and not get haggled. We felt very safe walking around the town and although prostitution is legal, you wouldn't even know there were there unless you looked hard for them or visited the famous Beatle Bar, where you can pick and choose your girls.

Overall we had a great time and I would recommend folks who want to see Jaco and have the option of nude sunbathing and some lifestyle fun, to check it out, but make sure if you are not comfortable with singles that you go during couples weeks, otherwise you may encounter more single men with prostitutes.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont Tremblant, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

i went with my wife at the Copacabana Hotel and Suites 15 days ago and got happily surprise by the ambiance at the hotel. The people where really relax and where enjoying there stay a lot. Its a adult only hotel and there was a lot of activity to keep us busy and the staff were really friendly. My room had a jacuzzy right on the balcony and i could watch the ocean relaxing in the tub. Would recommend this place to anyone looking for a great adult only hotel.

Mathew and Laureen

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

My friend and I really enjoyed ourselves at the relaxed professionally managed Copacabana in Costa Rica. Our large suite provided us with the freedom of space which can maximize the enjoyment of a vacation. Two pools offered au naturel bathing and regular for the more reserved. Guests included a wide range of interesting couples and singles from all over Europe, Central America, Canada and the US. The meals were way better than expected. The register massage therapsit was professional and highly skilled in relieving back and shoulder pain. Whether we wanted the ocean, zi lining in the jungle, walkabouts in Jaco, burgers or fining dining, beach bar entertainment or fun and frolic of edgy nightlife, it was all there, I'll definitely return for more of the Copacabans experience!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

We were part of a group staying at copacabana during a "takeover" that was all inclusive. The resort is clearly trying to sell itself to couples like us who have visited Desire and Hedo and are looking for an alternative. To those folks, we can only say keep looking and avoid Copacabana.

Rooms - They are small and desperately in need of a total makeover. Among the people staying with us nobody had any hot water, several complained of roofs that leaked (especially bad during the rainy season), and one couple had a bat in their room not once but twice. One couple had no AC. Also, they play the music really loud until late in the night every night and the bar in the middle so the music just bounces off all the rooms. Now our group parties as late as anybody, but on those one or two nights that we did want to call it an early evening it was impossible to do so.

Grounds - The main pool was green and dirty for most of the week. By the third or fourth day most were avoiding it. The "playroom" was nothing more than a brightly lit all white room with two beds in the corner. Sexy it wasn't. The main dining area was just a wood deck with a temporary tent covering it. If you want a good vision of the resort as a whole think of your typical roadside motel that has not been redone since the 70's and you get a good idea.

Service - The staff were mostly very nice and helpful, however almost all spoke little or no English. When leaving the resort I was surprised at how many of the locals spoke English very well and learned that you earn more as an English speaker. Obviously the ownership is trying to save money by hiring a staff that does not speak any English.

Food and drink - As I noted, the resort was all inclusive the week we were there and we were promised "top shelf" liquor. Apparently top shelf in Costa Rica is limited to beer, wine and rum, because that is all they had. As the week went on many people were buying liquor in town and bringing it back to drink. As for the food, it was more hit than miss. Some of the seafood dishes were quite good, however the selection was very limited. The last night there were five items total on the menu: a soup, a salad, and three entrees. Again, as the week went on more and more of us were leaving our "all inclusive" resort for dinner or ordering pizza delivered for lunch. To add insult to injury as we were preparing to leave the owner was complaining that our group had drank to much! Imagine what he would have been saying if so many people had not bought their own liquor and dined away from his "all inclusive" resort!

In closing, having visited Desire several times as well as Hedo we were looking for someplace different to mix things up. We are no fans of Hedo, which is in need of some freshening and updates in our opinion, but Hedo is 100 times nicer than Copacabana.

The one plus to this trip was that the resort was so bad it encouraged us to see the beautiful countryside as opposed to just staying on the resort like we do at Desire or Hedo. Of course, we could have stayed at a much nicer resort and still seen Costa Rica. I would highly recommend anyone who asks to visit Costa Rica, just avoid Copacabana.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0123, Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
Most of this review is totally false in the allegations raised and is solely put here to deflect where the true blame lies, regarding the promises made by the travel agency Travel Au Naturel from Chicago. Travel Au Naturel rented the whole hotel for one week.
We do not market ourselves as like Desire, Mexico and our prices are more than 50% less than their all inclusive program. Everyone had hot water. There was one room with a very small roof leak, but it was fixed the next day. There are no Bats in any of the rooms. Everyone had air conditioning, although one couple who did not like air conditioning choose to keep theirs turned off.
What music was playing, and where they played, was solely under the control of the group organizer Travel Au Naturel and not us. The pool was cleaned every day throughout the week, and only one day we had a pool filter problem in one of the two (2) pools. The problem was fixed within a few hours of finding out what the problem was. The playroom was outfitted as per the instructions of the group organizer Travel Au Naturel. The front of the hotel was only built in 2001 with many upgrades since then, so a 70’s era it is not.
All staff dealing with the public speaks English. When Travel Au Naturel rented the hotel for one week, we promised to provide only domestic alcohol. Travel Au Naturel took extra money from the participants, in order to provide premium liquor, however this money was never turned over to us to purchase premium liquor and beer. We upheld our end of the deal. Each consumer should go back to Travel Au Naturel and ask for a refund on the up charge to them over our posted retail rates.
What we provided was a lot more than just domestic beer, wine and Rum. We had Scotch, Gin, Vodka, Coconut Rum, Tequila, Guaro and Coffee Liquor and the wine was from Chile. Some (a very few) consumers bought special alcohol they preferred, like Bailey’s, which is not served in our all inclusive programs.
The one area the entire group raved about was the food as the best they had ever had in an all inclusive program. All meals were served by waiters from a menu that changed daily. There was an International night, Mexican night, Seafood night, Italian night, Hawaiian night, Barbeque night and an Oriental night. The group liked this far better than having buffets each day because they had a good variety and were being served by waiters. We are only aware of seven (7) couples that went out one night to Villa Caletas to watch the sunset and eat dinner there, and one couple that went out one night to try different seafood. We do not know of anyone from the group ordering pizza for lunch. I never complained that the group drank too much.
We just rented the whole hotel to Travel Au Naturel. They sold everybody the packages and they made the promises to everybody. Travel Au Naturel also took our retail prices and added about $947.00 per couple per week. This increase they stated to us was for premium liquor and beer, the Volcano Tour, Boat Tour, entertainment etc. the entire extra’s that we had stated we would not provide. Travel Au Naturel came to Costa Rica with absolutely no money to pay for these upgrades they had promised. The money we advanced them to cover the cost of the volcano tour, entertainment as stated above, was repaid in the form of a check, which was returned to our bank as not honored.
We are sending out statements to all consumers that stayed with us, advising them of their outstanding balances owed to us. We are also advising them that if they paid any money using their credit card, to Travel Au Naturel, to go to their credit card companies and ask for this money to be back charged since travel Au Naturel did not provide what they promised to these consumers. We are asking the consumers, after they receive their money back to pay us what we are still owed to us and they can then keep the excess charged by Travel Au Naturel for failure to perform. Those that paid by check to Travel Au Naturel we are asking for a copy of the front and back of the check, so that we may include copies in our complaint to the Attorney General of Illinois against Travel Au Naturel and its principals.
We will be gong to the Illinois State Police over the fraudulent checks given to us by Travel Au Naurel, both to the fact the way they were written and returned not honored.
We will be going to the authorities in Costa Rica to have criminal charges laid against Travel Au Naturel and their principals.
As stated in the beginning, this review is totally false in the allegations raised and was put here solely by a friend of Travel Au Naturel from Chicago, in an attempt to subvert the truth and hide the fraud committed by Travel Au Naturel and its principals.
We would like to state that Travel Au Naturel from Florida is not the same company. Travel Au Naturel from Florida has been in business for a very long time and does pay its bills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan MO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

I spent an entire week at the Copacabana and it was outstanding. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was made me feel at home and my stay was just a really fun time. I highly recommend this hotel for fun times and very friendly environment.
Randy

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copacabana Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copacabana Hotel & Suites

Address: Apado - 150, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Copacabana Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copacabana Hotel is the only Adult, Clothing Optional, Beach Front Resort in Costa Rica the area. Is nestled in the famous town of Jaco, on the beach in Costa Rica’s Central Pacific Region. Our resort offers a party atmosphere with daily and nightly activities, pool parties, live music, karaoke, DJ’s, theme parties, and much more and spectacular views of the sunset. Our knowledgeable, friendly and hospitable staff looks forward to welcoming you to one of the most relaxed and friendliest ocean front resort in Costa Rica. While staying with us, enjoy a relaxing massage or other spa treatments in our new spa, Coconut Palms. Enjoy fine dining or local dishes in our on-site ocean front restaurant, Ocean Waves with a large menu Seafood, BBQ, from asian to mexican to italian to peruvian. Have a drink, catch up on the game and make new friends at Naked Iguana Sports and Wet Bar and restaurant. We offer two swimming pools one clothing optional and one nude and nude Jacuzzi. Inquire at our front desk about fishing charters, tours and golf packages. We are certain that your visit to the Copacabana Hotel and Suites will be a lasting memory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Copacabana Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copacabana Hotel And Suites
Copacabana Hotel Jaco
Copacabana Hotel & Suites Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copacabana Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.