We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copacabana Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Copacabana Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apado - 150, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed for one week and had a great time, our room had a jacuzzi on the balcony a comfortable bed and an amazing view of the ocean. The food was really good with a huge menu.. Every night was a different night, but not every guest wanted yo dressed up for theme nights but is funny to watch the staff with their outfits we and other guest joined them. The pool parties on sat and sun gets fun and wild. Then we move to their hotel on the mountain for 4 nights. They have a good promotion if you split your stay between both hotels. Great service and staff.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    43
    18
    14
    19
See reviews for
4
91
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very late review, and for that I apologize. We are planning our second trip back and fully intend on staying at Copacabana, hence the reminder to write the review. The staff are AMAZING - helpful, responsive and will do everything to make your stay memorable. The food is fantastic, and yes the rooms a little dated, but they are very clean. Personally I don't think you go to Costa Rica for the room, you go for the people. We would not want to stay anywhere else when visiting this area of Costa Rica.

Rhain & Jeff

Room Tip: Would not rent a suite as there is no need to cook for yourselves. The the food is so amazing in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We did stay almost 2 weeks. By aware this is adults only hotel and some people preferred life style, some people are thinking that other guest like country music from 9 am, but you have no influence on it, you can only ask... You have 2 pools, one is clothing optional, one nude.
Excellent:
Beach is very close and very nice. I would give few Michelin Stars for the food in restaurant. A la carte menu was excellent. Best ever beef, fish or seafood. Amazing fruits. We are not big fans about drinks, but wine was very good. Staff friendly and very very helpful. After 2 days they did remember what we prefer and what we are eating for breakfast and what we like to drink. The manager of this hotel was able to help us with everything. Take extravaganza and have massage, pedicure, manicure, hotels transfers for free.
Rooms are nice, do not take the rooms along the road - to noisy. Rooms are clean and almost renovated. The fridge is top up every morning with drinks you like. Hotel area is very clean. Iguanas in the hotel are very friendly. Behind the nude pool is a small river with crocodiles, but it is safe.
Are is beautiful, Jaco town is safe.
Be aware:
Some people will behave inappropriate (life style).
Forget abut night entertainment listed on webpage - it is non.
In the naked Iguana Bar is a laptop which you can use and choose your own music - some people think that others are deep.
Big amount of women / girls working as a prostitutes.
No disable access to the first or second floor.
IN GENERAL - very nice place to spend your vacation.

Room Tip: Do not take the rooms along the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I just returned from an overnight in Jaco to show my brother a night on the town. Most of the hotels were sold out, but Copacabana still had rooms available. That was my first red flag. The hotel photos looked good, but sadly, the photos were misleading. We upgraded to the larger whirlpool suites to enjoy and relax. However, my room did not have hot water...so it was tepid showers and I gave up on trying to use the whirlpool. The staff are very nice and accommodating. Jean Paul was excellent and very helpful and did his best to help fix the heater the next morning. However the state of the property is fading, showing poor maintenance and structures that are aging and in need of a makeover. When we arrived, a room close to mine was being fumigated. My room was clean but damp...even with a humidifier and AC unit running at full. Management placed 3 air fresheners in my room to help cover the smell of the damp walls. The poor state of this hotel could have been tolerable at $75 per night. But at $200 per night, this property is overpriced. Making matters worse, this property didn't include breakfast for people that book through Expedia. Breakfast of beans and rice, juice and water was $30...a rip-off by any standard. It wasn't all bad. The pool area was quite nice and they did have a band play on Friday night. If you don't care about quality and are just looking to party, this hotel may suit your needs. A friend rented a two bedroom private luxury condo in Jaco for about the same price. For my next visit, I will avoid the Copacabana and seek a private condo to rent.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0123, Owner at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We thank the guest by stating our"staff are very nice ans accommodating" and "the pool area was quite nice and they did have a band play on Friday night"But some guests want to not tell the truth when doing a review,for whatever reason.Contary to this reviewer's allegations
1)Our photo's are not misleading,they are what comes out of the camera
2)His room did have hot water for showers,is was the hot water to his Jacuzzi that could only be fixed when the plumbing store opened the next day.His friends Jacuzzi was fine.
3)His and his friends room where both totally renovated 2 years ago with a new Jacuzzi,washroom,king bed etc.
4)His shower would be only tepid if you turn on too much cold water.
5)We had only one air freshener in his room
6)We fumigate the hotel every 2 months to make sure we have no bugs.During this guests stay we where not fumigating,but the maids do have a can of Raid for mosquito's if any slip into the room
7)There is no place in Jaco in high season to get a room with a king bed and Jacuzzi for $75.00
8)He did not pay $30.00 but just $10.00 for his breakfast that also included bacon or sausage,juice,coffee,the guest bought other things to total $30.00
The guest should have booked with us directly if he wanted what we give to direct bookings and not complain later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed three nights last week and chose this hotel at the recommendation of a friend who visited last year. Knowing it was adult only and clothing optional, my expectations were not only met but exceeded. Met some super cool new drinking buddies from Ohio and FL. Spent time partying with them at the pool during the day and we really enjoying visiting some of the great restaurants and notoriously lively nightspots in the evenings. I chose the Jacuzzi suite poolside, and everyone who got a peak inside wanted to trade and/or was insanely jealous. The room was clean, everything worked, king size bed was comfortable, and the air conditioning kept me cool. I loved the see-through glass shower-wouldn't mind having one like that at the house. The entire staff was super, as Rachel and the others took great care of me and even booked my return shuttle to the airport when I asked for help on that. Pool bar staff was top shelf, and the food and drinks were very good. It was great to meet other visitors who would stop in to socialize and have drink or three. The hot water was not always piping hot, but nothing to get in a twist over. I will book here again when planning my next great CR escape - its a done deal.

Room Tip: Stay oceanfront if sensitive to noise, the party music on Saturday night goes on till about 11pm. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

I stayed a few days ago, excellent location, like 50 mts from the ocean, love the staff service and food are great,like I order everything and trust me you can choose whatever you what from the menu, everything is delicious,
We stayed in a suite, it was very neat, clean and we have excellent sunset view, comfy bed and very spacious bedroom, also the bathroom is perfect to take a shower with your partner cause is very big.
Love the night activities, such as live music, (the singer is very sexy btw) piña coladas and chiliguaro shots was some of the recommendations, and no regrets at all.
During the day, the pool bar is the best place you can be, great music, met many mens and sexy chiks during my tanning session at the pool :). In my opinion if you are in searching for an adult only hotel experience this is the best option, Jacó have anything you are looking for.
Love this place, I am planning to stay again next moth.

FYI: I used the transfer service from the airport to the hotel, it was great, no worries at all, they were waiting for us in front of the exit gate and picked up our luggages.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

We where not staying here but came for a couple of nights at the bar by the pool, and 1 afternoon for drinks. Everyone staying there was really friendly and bar staff was very good. The property is a nice little oasis with plenty of sitting area day or night. Yes this is a clothing optional resort and yes there were a few naked people (including myself) hanging around and playing in the pool. I was very comfortable (my first time) and everyone seemed to be very relaxed and casual about everything. I would for sure stay here if I ever return to Jaco.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you very much. We are happy that you enjoyed our Pool & Bar atmosphere. Hope you stay with us next time! Pura Vida!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Copacabana Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copacabana Hotel & Suites

Address: Apado - 150, Jaco, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Copacabana Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copacabana Hotel is the only Adult, Clothing Optional, Beach Front Resort in Costa Rica the area. Is nestled in the famous town of Jaco, on the beach in Costa Rica’s Central Pacific Region. Our resort offers a party atmosphere with daily and nightly activities, pool parties, live music, karaoke, DJ’s, theme parties, and much more and spectacular views of the sunset. Our knowledgeable, friendly and hospitable staff looks forward to welcoming you to one of the most relaxed and friendliest ocean front resort in Costa Rica. While staying with us, enjoy a relaxing massage or other spa treatments in our new spa, Coconut Palms. Enjoy fine dining or local dishes in our on-site ocean front restaurant, Ocean Waves with a large menu Seafood, BBQ, from asian to mexican to italian to peruvian. Have a drink, catch up on the game and make new friends at Naked Iguana Sports and Wet Bar and restaurant. We offer two swimming pools one clothing optional and one nude and nude Jacuzzi. Inquire at our front desk about fishing charters, tours and golf packages. We are certain that your visit to the Copacabana Hotel and Suites will be a lasting memory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Copacabana Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copacabana Hotel And Suites
Copacabana Hotel Jaco
Copacabana Hotel & Suites Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copacabana Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.