We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copacabana Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Copacabana Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apado - 150, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had excellent service from the entire staff during our 6 night stay. Katia was very gracious. We will be back. It was nice playing guitar with the band too. The kitchen prepared absolutely delicious meals. Perhaps the highlight of the hotel.

Atlanta GA USA

Room Tip: The suites are a better buy....not necessarily all inclusive rates, however,.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    35
    17
    11
    18
See reviews for
3
74
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I love it there! First of all the location is right on the beach so is perfect, the food is delicious, the party is really cool and I have no complains about the service. I had and awesome experience at Copa, totally recommend it!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

What a great place, my wife and i had a great time, we stayed in The pasión suite a nice room. We took The all inclusive and let me say that the food is amazing , we party like crazy, met many people. A perfect location and the staff is amazing this people make you feel at home!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Called and was quoted a price of $79 for a two-bed room. Arrived and we were shown a windowless prison cell with 2 cots. They told us could upgrade to a 2 queen suite for an additional $56. Since my buddy recently had a titanium rod placed in his leg and we had lugged all of our luggage in, we reluctantly agreed. In the 5 minutes it took to show us the prison cells, two prostitutes had miraculously appeared and sat on a bench next to the reception desk. We were propositioned and declined. We were then shown the "suite" and were told it wouldn't be ready for a while because they had to put in the second queen bed. 1 hour later our "suite' was ready, with the second queen bed placed right in the kitchen. The hotel had 6 rooms, maybe less, occupied. There were 4 cars in the lot, and two may have been employees' cars. Monday was advertised as 70's Disco night, but obviously there were no guests to participate. "Stayin Alive" by gouging customers was the only disco going on. Next morning we went down for breakfast, and it was nice. Upon checkout, they informed us breakfast was not included and was an additional $40. I have stayed in 20 hotels in Costa Rica, from family run to the Wyndam, and breakfast is always included. I had dinner at the #1 rated Falls Restaurant in Manuel Antonio, and the bill was less than $40. The only saving grace to this disgrace was its location. Beachfront and secluded, right off the main strip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilyn K, Guest Relations Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
As hoteliers, we often recognize that consumers can and will write anything on this site, regardless of the effect. It also seems that having correct facts is not important. We would like to thank this reviewer for his post; however, we would like to address his subject raised. First, our hotel is located on the beach. Our 1-bedroom suites with balcony are oceanfront and we also have hotel rooms. Our rooms are not windowless prison cells as this reviewer claim. We do not have any cots in our hotel. We have normal beds with box springs. In the twelve years we have been involved there has not been a bench at the reception area as alleged.
This reviewer upgraded to a One Bedroom suite with a Queen Bed but wanted 2 Queen beds instead; there was not enough room in the bedroom for another queen-sized bed so it had to be set up in the kitchen area that the reviewer approved.
Our prices do not include breakfast, unless one purchases the all-inclusive package. At breakfast, they were given a menu with prices. They ordered 3 breakfasts and freshly squeezed orange juice, their receipt before taxes and tip was 11,500 colonies or $23.00 US dollars, not $40.00 as alleged.
Each of our room types with pictures is on the Internet. This guest used the Internet to make his inquiry to book the hotel room and would have seen the rooms he booked.
A staff member from our Head Office in Toronto/Canada was at the hotel at the time they checked in and do not remember any ladies walking in off the street and propositioning them. Another made up story.
We always want our guests to have a great experience and for that reason we go out of our way to please our guests and to take care of any issues they may have, but when guests lie and make up stories in an attempt to get something for nothing, we cannot help them. This site calls it blackmail. This customer wanted us to apologize for charging them for a breakfast they ordered from a regularly priced menu that they enjoyed. We do not believe we should apologize for charging our regular prices for a breakfast and because of that, they are now posting a bad review.
We are sorry this reviewer did not enjoy his stay and hope to welcome him back someday in the future.

Regards,

Copacabana Hotel and Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We always go to the Copacabana and we always have a great time!
Food is delicious and the staff is super friendly and helpful with us!
Live music Saturday nights with coco and valery from Argentina are amazing!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I only want to comment on one thing regarding my experience at this property. DO NOT TRUST THE STAFF OR THE SECURITY OF THE IN ROOM SAFE!

On day 2 of my stay, I returned to my room after an afternoon of exploring the town to find someone had been in my room despite the "do not disturb" sign I had placed on my door. (The "intruder" left the TV on, and my things near the closet/safe I could tell had been moved). Sure enough I checked my safe only to find $400 cash missing!!!! Long story short, the owner supposedly investigated security footage and identified 3 employees who had entered my room (under the guise of replacing the TV in my room - something I had not requested), and he claims not surprisingly all 3 denied taking the cash. He also claims there is no way they could enter the safe (these are safes with physical keys instead of the electronic coded ones) because the master key is locked in his office. So I have no explanation for my missing cash, and of course no further way of proving anything, but I can assure you SOMEONE was able to get into that safe somehow. Raw deal for me. Sweet deal for some unethical people who work there, and maybe even for the owner himself?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilyn K, Guest Relations Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We are truly sorry to hear of this guest misfortune, any time a guest loses money in any amount is a tragedy and would like to address this guest’s remark. The previous guest that stayed in the room filled out our survey form and stated that the flat screen TV had a small blue line on the screen. This guest had already checked in, when we later found out that the maintenance staff had failed to change the flat screen TV for another. Management was not aware of any DO NOT DISTURB sign. In any event if we did not replace the TV would have been an issue. If we did not clean rooms/do repairs and/or correct other problems in the rooms because of Do Not Disturb signs during the hours the maids and maintenance staff work then we would get more complaints. Maids and maintenance staff cannot work 24 hours to be on call when it is convenient for the guests.
Our policy at the Copacabana Hotel is that any time maintenance staff goes into an occupied room; they must be accompanied by a maid. So in this case 2 maintenance staff and a maid went into the guest’s room to change the TV for another flat screen TV. All 3 of these employees have worked for the Copacabana Hotel for over 6 years. None have access to the master key safe. We have reviewed the security tapes and found nothing was out of the ordinary so we are puzzled on the alleged robbery.
To start to lay blame on the owner of being unethical highly put reservations that a robbery even took place. This is the same guest that tried earlier in the day to get free airport transfers from the owner and apparently later in the afternoon the same day the alleged robbery happened and was seeking compensation. This raises serious doubts. We are sorry that this guest did not have a great experience. On a more positive note, we look forward to welcoming this guest back again in the future.
Regards,
COPACABANA HOTEL AND SUITES
Jaco Beach, Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audubon, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I honestly dont even know where to begin..We spent a week at Copacabana, we started each morning with a DELICIOUS breakfast at the hotel, served by the wonderful wait staff. Fresh fruits and pure fruit juices, AMAZING. and each night we had a delicious dinner, also at the hotel. There is honestly no need to eat anywhere else in Jaco if your staying here, the Kitchen staff is incredible! The first night we had a BLAST thanks to Katia! She was so fun and did whatever she could to make our stay the best stay possible. including taking helpful tips from us and making the adjustments immediately. The beach is right out side of the hotel, you walk out front, take ten steps and there you are, waves crashing, surfers surfing...PURA VIDA! Our room was perfect! The whole hotel was clean and inviting. even the iguanas were awesome! we met a lot of great people there, from the staff to management to other guests. When we return to Costa Rica, you better believe this is where we will stay!
#open-minded #adults only :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Copacabana Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copacabana Hotel & Suites

Address: Apado - 150, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Copacabana Hotel & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copacabana Hotel is the only Adult, Clothing Optional, Beach Front Resort in Costa Rica the area. Is nestled in the famous town of Jaco, on the beach in Costa Rica’s Central Pacific Region. Our resort offers a party atmosphere with daily and nightly activities, pool parties, live music, karaoke, DJ’s, theme parties, and much more and spectacular views of the sunset. Our knowledgeable, friendly and hospitable staff looks forward to welcoming you to one of the most relaxed and friendliest ocean front resort in Costa Rica. While staying with us, enjoy a relaxing massage or other spa treatments in our new spa, Coconut Palms. Enjoy fine dining or local dishes in our on-site ocean front restaurant, Ocean Waves with a large menu Seafood, BBQ, from asian to mexican to italian to peruvian. Have a drink, catch up on the game and make new friends at Naked Iguana Sports and Wet Bar and restaurant. We offer two swimming pools one clothing optional and one nude and nude Jacuzzi. Inquire at our front desk about fishing charters, tours and golf packages. We are certain that your visit to the Copacabana Hotel and Suites will be a lasting memory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Copacabana Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copacabana Hotel And Suites
Copacabana Hotel Jaco
Copacabana Hotel & Suites Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copacabana Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.