We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Copa Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copacabana Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Copacabana Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apado - 150, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 42 hotels in Jaco
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My Copa Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I traveled to the Copacabana in Jaco from 4/19 to 4/23 , I had a experience of a lifetime , the staff was amazing , I wanted coconut water and they gladly sent a staff member to climb the coconut tree and it was raining coconut water , lol , Adult only is exactly what it means , if u don't get it u will just have to go and experience it on you're own.. Management we're even more willing to make sure all my needs were accommodated for... I was with 4 friends who also all had a amazing time... I will b heading back there soon...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thanks for your good comments .. We are in the hotel business to make your holidays a good experience. When the guest let us know of what they want, we always try to please them, and if a guest indicate during their stay that they have a problem of any kind we will always do everything possible to fix it.
It would be incredible that all our guests let us know of their concerns while they are in the hotel so we may please them or to fix the problem if any.
We will love to see you back. Thank you for choosing us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    35
    17
    11
    18
See reviews for
3
74
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The environment is fantastic, the staff are helpful, friendly and informative, the rooms are fabulous, clean, and comfortable. The food and entertainment are amazing. In a perfect location, right on the beach, a short walk to the main street for shopping, clubs and tours!!! A MUST STAY!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your nice review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We love to have guest like you at the hotel, friendly and fun.
We are coming up with new entertainment soon,. Hope to see you in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I travel to Jaco 11-13 April 2013. Normally I stay in San Jose when I visit Costa Rica. My intentions were to fish inshore and tour the crocodile infested river nearby. I read the reviews prior to going and had mixed emotions , nevertheless I went anyway. I booked the ocean front room for two days at $184 per night =$404 . Unfortunately my driver took me to the Hotel Cocal and I was sick after seeing how much cheaper yet nicer it was. On the lighter note the Copa's staff is superb, Kathy the manager is a great person to talk to and have a drink with. The room was spacious and had the basic amenities, I had problem with the safe in the room . . The staff fixed it quickly. Hot water was plentiful. This hotel is for adults only , clothing is optional and yes there was nudity near the pool in the middle of the day. Please don't bring kids here. There were ladies of the night strolling in and out looking for lonely hearts, they were very low key and well dressed. They blended in well with the couples there. If you are not a friend of animals don't stay here . There are iguanas everywhere. They are huge but friendly to humans. The staff provides fun theme nights. They arranged a Lua Night including a roasted pig. Overall the stay was good. If I was a single guy looking for fun the Hotel Cocal is the best in Jaco hands down.

Room Tip: Book a pool side room and save some money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Pros:
It's right on the ocean! The rooms will cover your needs even the most basic room.

It's right next to a very cool hangout spot called Jaco Blue that is always open for chilling out.

The pool bar is always open. It's a great hangout spot with food all day.

The staff is pretty nice. The manager from the Phillipines is always so cheery and pleasant.

The hotel did some laundry for me that and charged dirt cheap prices.

Cons:
The working girls make it kind of awkward to relax at the pool. You're in her waiting room. Old divorcees parade around with young girls. I don't object to it but I do feel sorry for the girls.The "nude pool" isn't for sunbathing. It's essentially where the call girl goes off to with her guy. It makes relaxing at the pool kind of awkward.

The music...the hotel blasts workout tunes and 90's music even when nobody is around. So if you want to sleep and there's nobody on the dance floor...they won't turn off the music.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thanks for taking a time to write your review.
The nude pool is open only for guest ( single men, single lady of the hotel, register at the reception) We are sorry you have felt uncomfortable, we will make sure that everybody follows the rules.
Thanks and we hope to see you again staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I were a little worried about our stay at the Copa because of some of the reviews. We have stayed at Tempations in Cabo and Cancun and Sandals in Jamaica. This place is open and relaxed, but much smaller and more laid back. Costa Rica is a beautiful country with mountains, rain forest, and ocean.

First of all, the room was fantastic. We had an ocean front jacuzzi suite and went all inclusive.
The live band was directly below our room. There are glass doors around the jacuzzi and wooden doors into the bedroom. With both of these closed, we couldn't even hear the band.

#2. Staff: The staff was absolutely amazing. They knew our names by day 2. We never had to give our room numbers. They brought us drinks at the naked pool without us even ordering because we usually drink the same thing. Occasionally, they brought us drinks to try, which were always interesting and delicious.

#3. The food. This should actually be number 1. The best food I have ever eaten at an all inclusive resort. I am comparing this to Sandals and Couples in Jamaica as well as Tempations in Mexico. There is no buffet. Everything is made to order. Definitely do the all inclusive.

#4 Jaco is a nice town. The resort is just a short alley from the main street. Jaco is not Cancun. It is not greatly Americanized, which is what we like. They still have KFC and subway if you like, but has more locals that most tourist locations. The locals are very nice and accomodating. They aren't pushy with their sales as many other places I've been.

#5 Excursion: We booked an excursion through the front desk to zipline. They picked us up from the resort and returned us. Ziplining in the rainforest was absolutely amazing. Don't miss out on this!

#6 Transporation: We were concerned about our transportation to and from the hotel. We got a taxi from the airport and paid $85 dollars for the trip. our flight home was extremely early. We had to leave the resort by 5:30am. We were worried not taxi would actually show up. The front desk booked us transportation and it cost $75. he was punctual and wonderful.

Please don't let the bad reviews keep you from this hotel.
We loved everything about it and plan to go back very soon.

We are an american couple, married 13 years with a couple of kids. This was a wonderful place to reconnect and relax.

Room Tip: Ocean front jacuzzi all inclusive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We are glad to know that you had a great time staying with us, Thank you for all your nice comments. We are trying everyday to make improvements to please all our guest.
Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemont, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We really enjoyed ourselves at Copacabana. We were looking for an adult-only, clothing optional resort that isn't specifically a swingers club. While we aren't opposed to swingers clubs, we really wanted this vacation to be about the two of us while still being able to swim and sunbathe naked and even have sex by the pool if we felt like it. Mission accomplished!

The hotel had great parties every evening that were a little lackluster at time due to a lack of guests at the hotel. To be honest, that didn't bother us because we felt like millionaires with live music and a bar in our own mansion, complete with two pools! Since this trip was about the two of us, it didn’t bother us that there were few other people at times.

The resort has a bar by the pools that are frequented by tourists from other resorts, some locals and several prostitutes at night. I've read reviews saying things like, "prostitutes only walk through the property" but that's not really true. There were "working girls" there nearly all the time and at times it seemed as though at least half of the women there were working girls.

However, they didn't bother us a bit and in fact, they seemed pretty nice. They were dressed nice, never came onto my wife and myself and certainly didn't seem to diminish the atmosphere. Jaco Beach is a essentially a safe version of the wild west and these "working girls" at bars are about as common as you see in the old wild west movies. They are just a part of life.

We did the all-inclusive package and the food was excellent! We were a little worried about the quality going into it but everything was awesome. I highly recommend the all-inclusive package.

So if you're looking for a quiet five star resort to catch some sleep and enjoy a puritan lifestyle....do not book here because you will hate every second of your stay. The rooms are mediocre in quality and they play loud music until well after midnight. However, if you're looking to relax, party and have about as wild of a time as you can in a non-“lifestyle” resort....this place is perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your review! We are glad to know that you had a good time, We love when guest become part of our parties and events. Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Just came back of a awesome experience in Costa Rica. , my husband and I had a great time, We enjoyed everything of this hotel... it is right on the beach, the room was really clean, neat and comfortable , really loved the food and the bar had a great atmosphere, live music and night entertainment so you never get bored. The staff are so kind, they make you feel at home. Just a good tip: ask for the "miguelitos" :)

Room Tip: Best rooms would be the ones that have ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review, We are happy to know that you had such a great time with us. We hope to see you back soon and we will make sure that your "Miguelitos" are waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Copacabana Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copacabana Hotel & Suites

Address: Apado - 150, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Copacabana Hotel & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copacabana Hotel is the only Adult, Clothing Optional, Beach Front Resort in Costa Rica the area. Is nestled in the famous town of Jaco, on the beach in Costa Rica’s Central Pacific Region. Our resort offers a party atmosphere with daily and nightly activities, pool parties, live music, karaoke, DJ’s, theme parties, and much more and spectacular views of the sunset. Our knowledgeable, friendly and hospitable staff looks forward to welcoming you to one of the most relaxed and friendliest ocean front resort in Costa Rica. While staying with us, enjoy a relaxing massage or other spa treatments in our new spa, Coconut Palms. Enjoy fine dining or local dishes in our on-site ocean front restaurant, Ocean Waves with a large menu Seafood, BBQ, from asian to mexican to italian to peruvian. Have a drink, catch up on the game and make new friends at Naked Iguana Sports and Wet Bar and restaurant. We offer two swimming pools one clothing optional and one nude and nude Jacuzzi. Inquire at our front desk about fishing charters, tours and golf packages. We are certain that your visit to the Copacabana Hotel and Suites will be a lasting memory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Copacabana Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copacabana Hotel And Suites
Copacabana Hotel Jaco
Copacabana Hotel & Suites Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copacabana Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.