We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location with some problems” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Copacabana Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Copacabana Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apado - 150, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
6th Night at 1/2 Price
Ranked #11 of 39 hotels in Jaco
santa rosa ca
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Location with some problems”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Loved where this property was located, right on the pacific ocean and close to town. Hotel had a friendly staff but lacked the essentials of true hospitality. The first night of my stay the hot water wasn't working, not a big deal but for what I paid to stay here a big no no. Room was also very small and outdated. On the second night I was awaken at 8:30 am by work men in the room next to me scraping paint off the common wall of my room... Pura Vida!

Room Tip: This would be a good value if you could get in for less money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We thank you for your review. I wished I knew before about the problems you were having to fix it right the way. Our rooms are being renovated and the staff is being trained to have a better customer service.
Hope to see you back !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    34
    16
    10
    17
See reviews for
3
71
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Wonderful ambience, staff, rooms, food and drink. We were really glad we did the “all-inclusive.” The food and drink were excellent and plentiful. The location was charming, and the grounds were well kept. They made every effort to have special events most nights, including a whole roast pig luau on Hawaiian night, New Year’s dinner, circus night, live band, and a great DJ whose beautiful wife did body painting. Excellent location, right on the beach. They asked a couple to leave whose obvious marital troubles problems were “poisoning the atmosphere” for others, so our compliments on good management there. They are still searching to find themselves as a "lifestyle" hotel, but are well on the way, so give them a try!

Room Tip: Rooms we saw were very nicely remodeled, and very comfortable. They do have one room next to the sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments.
Sometimes is hard to make guest be part of the theme night, but we are glad to let you know that now most of our guest bring outfits to be part of the theme nights, as you know we always have something for those ones that forget.
The Roast pig is getting famous, we hope that you come back soon to be part of our Luau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Copacabana Hotel is in a great location, - on the beach and within walking distance to town of Jaco. Excellent food/drinks/helpful and friendly staff who spoke English very well.... The day I arrived the hotel had a bikini contest, it was well organized and well attended.. great entertainment staff... everyone was having a blast....when you are on vacation that's what it's all about having a GOOD TIME!!!!!! It must be noted this is an Adult Only hotel that truly offers an adult ambiance........

My room was very clean and nicely decorated with a flat screen TV and air conditioning. I had a balcony with a great view of the pacific ocean. I had a fridge/microwave/coffee maker. The wireless internet was very fast and I had no trouble connecting. The front desk staff will arrange all your sightseeing tours/airport transfers, On my next trip to Copacabana I will definitely take their All inclusive package, all your food/drinks are covered in one price.....

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Copacabana Hotel, and highly recommend the Copacabana..in my opinion, it's the only hotel to stay while in Jaco, so don't my word for it, come and see for yourself, you will not be disappointed...I am looking forward to my next trip already..

Room Tip: The 1-bed suite with Jacuzzi looked amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice words.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed Our location, Our Ocean Front Suite, Food and Events.
We try our best to make every day of your vacation and enjoyable day! Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

i read some of the copa,s reviews and wonder what some of these folks expect . if you want to sit around in a 5 star room go ahead. jaco is a party town and the only and the only place to stay is the copa.it,s got it all great food great entertainment.great people great times a lot of fun.my room has always been fine. the hotel has always been clean and i felt safe there is nothing the staff won,t do to help you,they treat you like a friend.if you want to take a vacation and pinch ever penny buy a big screen and watch someone elses at home.

Room Tip: ocean suites if you can get one if not 2nd floor overlooking the pools will keep you close to the fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
As always was a plesure to have you back at the Copa. To have repeat guest like you just confirm to us the we have a great location, nice, clean and fun place that make nice people come back.
Hope to see you back soon! Cheers!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heredia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

we stayed at the copacabana and we had a great time there, we arrived in the aferternoon and we were welcomed with a free drink which one was very nice of them. our reservation was made in a oceanfront suite with jacuzzi, it was a very nice room because we had all the view to the ocean. we could see the beautiful sunset from our balcony!!( just amazing)
That night we had dinner and the food was delicious, the staff was very friendly with us, they helped us with tours and all the questions we had!!
The best of the hotel is the entertainment they organized, like live music with really good bands, and also they have BBQ nights which was great!!you really have fun at the copacabana without going out to other places in jaco.
we definitely come back again to the Copacabana Hotel. we are a couple who travel a lot and we can say that our stayed there was one of the best!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed our activities and that you found inside the hotel all the you need to make of this days your perfect Vacation. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Having travelled in over 90 countries and lived in 16 this hotel is only the second I have cut my stay short the other being a backpacker guest house in Cairo. The reception is a mess of paper and general garbage you would expect to see in a run down student house. I actually though I had been dropped off at the wrong hotel for $236 per night !
The "Jaccuzzi Room Suite" had the Jaccuzzi on the balcony overlooking the open air restaurant and car park!. The room smellt very musty ,3 of the lights did not work and the air conditioning sounded as if there was a tractor in the room!
We asked to see other rooms and the one shown was pretty much the same so i guess this was pretty standard.
The poolbar looked a bit like the reception and totally put me off even ordering a drink, that's of course if you could track anyone down in the hotel to serve you in the first place
The so called "adult hotel" was predominantly a handful of single older males with local "girls" which I have nothing against as one of the resons my partner I chose it was for an open minded time.However, I was expectiong to see more than 1 other couple.
If you want to experience a luxury adult hotel then I suggest Desire Resorts in Mexico as I have been there 7 times and there is no comparison to this very poor imitaton.
Needless to say we cut or 6 day trip short after the 2nd day after no offer of any kind of small gesture of a refund from the owner John. Abysmal !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilyn K, Guest Relations Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
February 14, 2013

Please allow us to reply to allegations raised in Peterg69 review. When our guests arrive we always make sure they are happy with their room and we make it a point to ask our guests. This guest was asked and he had no complaints, he wanted to leave because they only stay at luxury hotels. We tried to help this guest in any way we could by offering a free upgrade to another room, they declined. They mentioned nothing we can do would make them stay. The are used to high class surroundings. They even stated on Tripadvisor their style is "nothing but the best".

We do not promote our hotel as being 4 or 5 stars. We are a 3 star/fun filled hotel in a great location.. This guest checked out of our hotel and checked into another 4.5 hotel.

The price this guest paid to us was over $400.00 less per day than they would have paid to Desire Resorts, so how this guest expected the same facilities is beyond our imagination. Our food is rated the best on the Pacific Coast and far better than Desire Mexico, how do we know, because we were told by many of our guests that stayed at the Desire Resorts. Our parking lot is to the side our our building, not facing the open air restaurant as this guest alleges.

Our refund policies are the same as every other hotel including Desire Mexico "No refund for unused time". We totally disagree that our reception and pool bar area is a mess and we had more couples staying with us than has been alleged. The air conditioner in questioned was checked and it is in normal working condition. It appeared that this guest did not know how to use the remote control....

In conclusion, this guest never gave us an opportunity to make their stay better as we would have hoped.

Sincerely,

Copacabana Hotel and Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I have travelled to over 40 countries and stayed in some pretty dire places. However, I have to say that this was one of the worst places I have ever stayed in. How bad was it? My friend and I let the hotel keep our $150 night's payment and went to stay at another hotel after several hours.

The faults? Two double beds were crammed into a tiny room, so small that the door to the room could not open entirely because it kept hitting one of the beds. There were no towels in the room, and the ones we eventually got had unusual stains on them. The shower door would not open properly. There was no phone in the room. The TV was not plugged in. Why? you might ask. Well, because it not only didn;t work but emitted a strange low-pitched buzzing/bubbling noise when switched on. There were ants (or possible termites) all over the walls and strange small insects (bedbugs?) on the sheets. Techno disco music was pumping out from an empty lounge area when we arrived at night. And all of this was for a double priced at $150. The prostitutes at the bar did not liven up the place for us either.

Of course, the management did not seem to care one whit when we complained. We then decided to let them keep the money and sleep somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilyn K, Guest Relations Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We would like to thank this guest for sharing their feedback. We make every effort to ensure our guests that stay with us have a pleasant experience and we would like to take this opportunity to address concerns raised in this review. First, we are an Adult Only hotel and sometimes this information does not show up on smart phones or tablets, it is clearly visible on our website. We have asked the various booking sites to make this information more transparent for smart phone and small tables users. Like any hotel, when we receive a reservation, we hold a room for that guest, while at the same time refuse other guests so we must charge for the room. Pictures of the hotel room this guest reserved are on our website and the other various websites.

The TV not plugged in could be valid. Whenever there is an empty room we unplug the TV. The hydro in this part of Costa Rica is not good. As an example, in January 2013 we had 6 TV's stopped working because of hydro issues and for this reason we always have spare TV's on hand and would have gladly replaced this guest TV if it was brought to our attention.

This guest room was cleaned not long before they checked in and shortly thereafter they were given freshly cleaned towels. There was no stains on the towels as this guest claimed. We do not have bed bugs/ants/termites or any types of bugs. Our rooms are sprayed twice a month to ensure this does not happen. This guest is simply not telling the truth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Copacabana Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copacabana Hotel & Suites

Also Known As:
Copacabana Hotel And Suites
Copacabana Hotel Jaco
Copacabana Hotel & Suites Costa Rica/Jaco
Address: Apado - 150, Jaco, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Copacabana Hotel & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copacabana Hotel is the only Adult, Clothing Optional, Beach Front Resort in Costa Rica the area. Is nestled in the famous town of Jaco, on the beach in Costa Rica’s Central Pacific Region. Our resort offers a party atmosphere with daily and nightly activities, pool parties, live music, karaoke, DJ’s, theme parties, and much more and spectacular views of the sunset. Our knowledgeable, friendly and hospitable staff looks forward to welcoming you to one of the most relaxed and friendliest ocean front resort in Costa Rica. While staying with us, enjoy a relaxing massage or other spa treatments in our new spa, Coconut Palms. Enjoy fine dining or local dishes in our on-site ocean front restaurant, Ocean Waves with a large menu Seafood, BBQ, from asian to mexican to italian to peruvian. Have a drink, catch up on the game and make new friends at Naked Iguana Sports and Wet Bar and restaurant. We offer two swimming pools one clothing optional and one nude and nude Jacuzzi. Inquire at our front desk about fishing charters, tours and golf packages. We are certain that your visit to the Copacabana Hotel and Suites will be a lasting memory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Copacabana Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copacabana Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.