We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back at the Copa.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copacabana Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Copacabana Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apado - 150, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Jaco
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Back at the Copa.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at Copacabana about one year ago on our last vacation and we enjoyed ourselves so much that we decided to return. We were very pleased to see all of the same staff were all still working there. The strength of this hotel is that it is friendly and safe. We are a nudist couple and at the Copa we can relax and just be ourselves. The food is of a very high standard, in a romantic setting, right on the beach. The cocktails at sunset was our favourite part of the day. The evenings stepped up a notch and there was live music at the weekends and themed nights so that we could dress-up. Our room was a standard room which suited our needs just fine and we slept great. We will definitely be returning again next year.

Room Tip: Get friendly with others couples and share some stories in the outdoor hot-tub around midnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    37
    17
    12
    19
See reviews for
3
78
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Expectations were maybe too high for this hotel. I was looking to chill out for a couple of days and that I was able to do. However, I was expecting a more vibrant place with lots of people staying at the hotel. I did get to sit on my balcony and see a Pacific sunset for my first time. I hope I am not showing my age! The hotel appears tired and in need of a facelift. It is on the beach, however, the beach in Jaco is not that impressive.A short walk gets you to the main drag thru town, which is filled with bars, restaurants, gift shops and surfboard stores and not much else. The very friendly and helpful staff may get me back there to stay another time.

Room Tip: Must have an ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We thank you for your review and we thank you for your constructive criticism.
Sometimes the Hotel is at high occupancy and the hotel can look empty, that depends on the type of guest we have, if they are groups they go out for tours or fishing. We will keep you informed of our many activities by our news letter and after looking at our many activities you can pick the time that you think is better for you or you can send us an email into what you are looking for.
The facelift is being slowly done and you will notice on your next visit many changes.
We greatly appreciate and thank you for the nice comments about our staff.
We look forward to see you again staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the hotel in mid October. It was great that we were both upgraded to an ocean view suite from the junior suite. The room was nice with a jacuzzi in the adjacent patio. Bed was decently comfortable, but not great. Although the room was certainly acceptable, it felt somewhat "tired" and was in need of some improvements. Shower head was old and had a terrible spray pattern. At one point, the air conditioning went out (twice actually) and I had to switch rooms. The staff, although very nice and generally helpful, was somewhat disorganized and lacked communication (amongst different shifts) when dealing with this problem. It was several hours after I first reported this problem before they resolved the issue and located another room that I could move into. Annoying. In conclusion, I think the hotel is in a good location, has a lot of potential and could be so much better.

Room Tip: Try to get the ocean view rooms as they are much bigger than a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thanks for your Feedback ,. We love to pamper our guest, so if we have the opportunity to do something extra for them that’s what we do. Our beds in the Jacuzzi suite are brand new because we just upgrade from queen to king size bed for the comfort of our guest. Even though you were inconvenience by the air condition, equipment does break down if we can take care of all guest issue between one to two hours then is only a minor inconvenience to the guest.
We appreciate you constructive criticism. We hope to see you back, Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacogdoches, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Enjoyed my stay at Copa. I have read reviews from different on the resort. For the most it seems that the people that knew somewhat of the place that they were going to were happy. People that were traveling in by night and leaving the next day were a little disappointed. The resort itself could use some spurcing up on the outside of the place. We were fortuante to get an up grade to the passion suite, which was really great. The hot tub over looking the nude pool was awesome. We did come with a small group so there was 8 total in our party. There were about 4 or 5 other couples that came and went while we were there. So wasnt a lot of other people to party with but we made the most of it. The waitstaff did a great job of serving us the whole time. Tiki or Kiki not sure of his name kept the shots coming on the nude side while there during the night time hours. Food was cooked to order which was great. So every evening our party order and eat together enjoying the romatic evenings and the waves hitting the shore. Now dont miss understand, this is no 5 star resort. It is a small resort or hotel that provides a clothing optional setting. Its a good place if you are looking for something different from Hedo 2. Honeslty it is a 2.5 Star hotel, with a 4 star food, waitstaff and other employess. Again for a clothing optional place it is not bad at all. Now are there working girls around the place, Yes. Wasnt a problem for me. During a 7 day stay only one girl approached me while i was there. She talked a ltitle to much other than that it was nice seeing a few women walk up to the place. They look for a few minutes then they leave if no one makes eye contact. Again if you do your homework about Jaco this is not uncommon. Other than that the wife and I enjoyed our stay. Hope to go back one day with more people so we can party more.

Room Tip: Get the passion suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you back this Year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I along with some friends decided a year ago to vacation somewhere different other than Hedonism II. I've vacationed at Hedonism Resorts six times, and felt myself getting burned out. I along with some friends decided to vacation somewhere other Hedonism II that was all-inclusive. Our travel agent/coordinator suggested Hotel Desire Copacabana Resort & Spa in Jaco Beach, Costa Rica. We all submitted our deposits within a week to Des, and it was well worth.
This was the most relaxing vacation I have ever experienced. Would I return? Yes! Great to the staff. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia A, Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
We try our best to make our guest stay perfect and we are glad to know that we did it with you. Thank you for your nice review and for taking time to posted it, we are sure that we will see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is great place, it feels like non-stop party in the private house backyard with pool and a beach and lots of fun people. Stuff is great... And what happens in Costa Ricca stays in Costa Ricca, so everything is possible. We had so much fun, we are going back again in November and we are planing to have honeymoon party next year.
Thanks Katya, you are the best
I&R

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice review, we are happy to see that you are coming back. We will make sure that you have a great time again. Your Passion Suite is waiting for you.. See you on November.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Copacabana is right on Jaco Beach with a nice palm groove. I was there in August which is the low (green) season and so was quiet in the hotel.
The pools are in a inner courtyard with alot of pretty landscaping.
On Friday night there was a live band in the lounge/dining room.
The Beatle Bar is a very short walk (about a block) which is handy for a solo guy guest that I was.
The shower in the regular rooms is oversized and can fit a couple easily.
You can drive out on Jaco Beach & one of the drive-on entrances is nearby which is handy.

Open air lobby is great too.
I always felt at home right from my first arrival .

Room Tip: Suite rooms face the ocean which is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are trying our best to make every guest feel like home. Make us happy to see that you had a great time and we are ready to welcome you again. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copacabana Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copacabana Hotel & Suites

Address: Apado - 150, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Copacabana Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copacabana Hotel is the only Adult, Clothing Optional, Beach Front Resort in Costa Rica the area. Is nestled in the famous town of Jaco, on the beach in Costa Rica’s Central Pacific Region. Our resort offers a party atmosphere with daily and nightly activities, pool parties, live music, karaoke, DJ’s, theme parties, and much more and spectacular views of the sunset. Our knowledgeable, friendly and hospitable staff looks forward to welcoming you to one of the most relaxed and friendliest ocean front resort in Costa Rica. While staying with us, enjoy a relaxing massage or other spa treatments in our new spa, Coconut Palms. Enjoy fine dining or local dishes in our on-site ocean front restaurant, Ocean Waves with a large menu Seafood, BBQ, from asian to mexican to italian to peruvian. Have a drink, catch up on the game and make new friends at Naked Iguana Sports and Wet Bar and restaurant. We offer two swimming pools one clothing optional and one nude and nude Jacuzzi. Inquire at our front desk about fishing charters, tours and golf packages. We are certain that your visit to the Copacabana Hotel and Suites will be a lasting memory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Copacabana Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copacabana Hotel And Suites
Copacabana Hotel Jaco
Copacabana Hotel & Suites Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copacabana Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.