We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time with friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copacabana Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Copacabana Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apado - 150, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Nacogdoches, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great time with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Enjoyed my stay at Copa. I have read reviews from different on the resort. For the most it seems that the people that knew somewhat of the place that they were going to were happy. People that were traveling in by night and leaving the next day were a little disappointed. The resort itself could use some spurcing up on the outside of the place. We were fortuante to get an up grade to the passion suite, which was really great. The hot tub over looking the nude pool was awesome. We did come with a small group so there was 8 total in our party. There were about 4 or 5 other couples that came and went while we were there. So wasnt a lot of other people to party with but we made the most of it. The waitstaff did a great job of serving us the whole time. Tiki or Kiki not sure of his name kept the shots coming on the nude side while there during the night time hours. Food was cooked to order which was great. So every evening our party order and eat together enjoying the romatic evenings and the waves hitting the shore. Now dont miss understand, this is no 5 star resort. It is a small resort or hotel that provides a clothing optional setting. Its a good place if you are looking for something different from Hedo 2. Honeslty it is a 2.5 Star hotel, with a 4 star food, waitstaff and other employess. Again for a clothing optional place it is not bad at all. Now are there working girls around the place, Yes. Wasnt a problem for me. During a 7 day stay only one girl approached me while i was there. She talked a ltitle to much other than that it was nice seeing a few women walk up to the place. They look for a few minutes then they leave if no one makes eye contact. Again if you do your homework about Jaco this is not uncommon. Other than that the wife and I enjoyed our stay. Hope to go back one day with more people so we can party more.

Room Tip: Get the passion suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you back this Year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    35
    17
    11
    18
See reviews for
3
74
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I along with some friends decided a year ago to vacation somewhere different other than Hedonism II. I've vacationed at Hedonism Resorts six times, and felt myself getting burned out. I along with some friends decided to vacation somewhere other Hedonism II that was all-inclusive. Our travel agent/coordinator suggested Hotel Desire Copacabana Resort & Spa in Jaco Beach, Costa Rica. We all submitted our deposits within a week to Des, and it was well worth.
This was the most relaxing vacation I have ever experienced. Would I return? Yes! Great to the staff. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia A, Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
We try our best to make our guest stay perfect and we are glad to know that we did it with you. Thank you for your nice review and for taking time to posted it, we are sure that we will see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is great place, it feels like non-stop party in the private house backyard with pool and a beach and lots of fun people. Stuff is great... And what happens in Costa Ricca stays in Costa Ricca, so everything is possible. We had so much fun, we are going back again in November and we are planing to have honeymoon party next year.
Thanks Katya, you are the best
I&R

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice review, we are happy to see that you are coming back. We will make sure that you have a great time again. Your Passion Suite is waiting for you.. See you on November.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Copacabana is right on Jaco Beach with a nice palm groove. I was there in August which is the low (green) season and so was quiet in the hotel.
The pools are in a inner courtyard with alot of pretty landscaping.
On Friday night there was a live band in the lounge/dining room.
The Beatle Bar is a very short walk (about a block) which is handy for a solo guy guest that I was.
The shower in the regular rooms is oversized and can fit a couple easily.
You can drive out on Jaco Beach & one of the drive-on entrances is nearby which is handy.

Open air lobby is great too.
I always felt at home right from my first arrival .

Room Tip: Suite rooms face the ocean which is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are trying our best to make every guest feel like home. Make us happy to see that you had a great time and we are ready to welcome you again. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuzco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is our second time at the Copacabana but will be not the last one, we really enjoyed our stay
The food is amazing, the nightly activity is fun, the staff is helpful and friendly, the rooms are clean and comfortable. It's true that the Copacabana its not for everybody, is clouthing optional adult hotel, partys go on every night, but is great for open minded couples and singles that wanna have fun. We were four single girls and we ejoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thanks for taking your time to write a review. Is nice to know that we met your expectations and for second time you choosed to stay with us! We try our best to make your vacation special!
See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

To preface our trip report let us provide you with some background. We have been to several similar resorts in the past, including Hedonism II & III both in Jamaica, Desire in Cancun, Mexico, and Caliente Caribe in the Dominican Republic.

Arrival:
We arrived at the airport and we met up with the resort’s driver. Note: if you stay 7 nights or more, transportation to and from the resort are free. He stopped at a little store along the way if we needed to buy anything. The trip was about 90 minutes from the airport to the resort. The mountain views are amazing. The temp was no hotter nor more humid than the Baltimore/DC area. Mosquitos were no worse either.

Jaco:
It is a straight up beach/surf town with tons of restaurants, clubs, bars and stores, with the main strip just a block up from the beach and hotel. So everything is right there; beach, hotels and town. The mountains and jungle are very close by as well.

Beach:
The beach consists of darker sand with small rocks in parts all as a result of the local volcanic activity. The waves are huge (compared to the Atlantic) with lots of good surfers taking advantage of them. The water was also very warm. The beach is public and bathing suits are required.

Hotel:
From what we know, Copacabana Desire (CD) is the only Lifestyle friendly resort in the entire country. We were greeted by an accommodating staff that was also extremely friendly. The hotel is not large and could use some updating, but it has a cozy feel. That combined with the staff, makes for an enjoyable stay.
Things that could improve the hotel:
-Outdoor ceiling fans under dining/bar areas
-Our shower’s hot water control knob (Rm26) needed some work
-Lighting along walkways/balcony outside some rooms
-General updating of various trim/paint
-Have existing staff or a dedicated energetic Entertainment Coordinator (EC) that could organize some activities (some kinky) throughout the day/night
-Hot tub thermostat needs some tweeking
-Could use a small gym for workouts.
-WiFi would go out occasionally

Things that made the stay memorable:
-Staff: Manager Katia was amazing! She made sure the hotel ran smoothly and also took the time to get to know us (We asked her for mint for mojitos and softer pillows and she came through on both!)
Resident Asst Manager David: Worked his butt off taking care of the guests’ needs, giving us advice, as well as setting up for various events throughout the day.
Bar Tender/Waiter Fernando: Was so pleasant and made great drinks. He would even put sugar on the rim of his mojitos.
-Food: We cannot talk enough about this. ALL the food was nothing short of amazing. The cooks worked their butts off and many times we only saw one cook in the simple/primitive kitchen at time. And the food that came out of there was stunning! No need to leave the hotel for anything to eat. We were all-inclusive so we ate well! The menu was also very large with differing nightly themes for dinners. No luke warm/stale buffets here! Yes, Americans, believe it or not, food is actually better without preservatives, hormones, MSG, nitrates, & pesticides. We’ve been missing out for sure. And their low end coffee easily beats many high end coffees in the U.S.
-Recycling: recycling bins were available throughout the resort. You can’t recycle even if you wanted at most 5 star hotels within the U.S. I actually enjoyed taking items out to the recycle bins as opposed to throwing everything away for the landfill. This is therapy in itself.
-Dual flush toilets to conserve water. Again most U.S. hotels won’t offer this.
-CFL and LED lighting
-Nice nude pool, hot tub and cabanas.
-Swim-up bar
-Nice massage at the spa.
-Nice to have a Jacuzzi tub right in the room
-Stocked fridge (water, beer, soda)
-Good regulation of the working girls who would visit (Yes, many countries are not as up tight as the U.S. and actually have legal/regulated prostitution which ends up being safer for all parties and less costly than our failed war on the world’s oldest profession)
-Got our laundry done for free by hotel staff
-Hotel staff (Keike) also provided surf lessons

Excursions:
Ocean Ranch Park--Horseback riding/Waterfall repelling/Ziplining with dinner…for $99 and only 20 minutes from the hotel. Great deal!

Villa Caleta’s—a huge high end resort on a mountain to watch the sunset. The hotel (CD) staff (David) took us here.

Conclusion:
Don’t expect a 5 star resort, but the positives really outweigh the negatives and we felt welcomed and relaxed during our stay. Even though it is smaller than the other Lifestyle friendly resorts we’ve stayed at, size isn’t everything because we’d go back to CD before any of the others. And don’t forget to tip before you leave (especially the cooks)!

Room Tip: If your pillow is not of your liking, you can request a different style. Take time to feed the loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you very much for taking a time to write a review. Your group was amazing and we hope to see you back soon. We will make sure to have Mojitos waiting for you!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the Copacabana numerous times, and will always stay here when I come to Jaco. I can't say enough about the staff. The manager Katia is wonderful and will bend over backwards to make sure you enjoy yourself as will the rest of the staff from the front desk, the bartenders/servers, the maids, etc. The food is amazing. Everything I tried was delicious. I have stayed in a few different types of rooms and haven't had any complaints. One thing that stands out is the party atmosphere of the hotel (adults only = no kids). If you do not like to party, socialize, have great music until late, this is not the place for you and I do not recommend it. It's not an old folks home. It's a place to have fun, let loose, and enjoy your vacation. Pura Vida!!!!!

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thanks for taking your time to write a review. We enjoy everytime you come to the Copacabana, is always nice to see repeat guest. We hope to see you soon, a Captain Morgan with Coke Zero will be waiting for you!! Once again thanks for choosing the Copacabana Hotel & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Copacabana Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copacabana Hotel & Suites

Address: Apado - 150, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Copacabana Hotel & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copacabana Hotel is the only Adult, Clothing Optional, Beach Front Resort in Costa Rica the area. Is nestled in the famous town of Jaco, on the beach in Costa Rica’s Central Pacific Region. Our resort offers a party atmosphere with daily and nightly activities, pool parties, live music, karaoke, DJ’s, theme parties, and much more and spectacular views of the sunset. Our knowledgeable, friendly and hospitable staff looks forward to welcoming you to one of the most relaxed and friendliest ocean front resort in Costa Rica. While staying with us, enjoy a relaxing massage or other spa treatments in our new spa, Coconut Palms. Enjoy fine dining or local dishes in our on-site ocean front restaurant, Ocean Waves with a large menu Seafood, BBQ, from asian to mexican to italian to peruvian. Have a drink, catch up on the game and make new friends at Naked Iguana Sports and Wet Bar and restaurant. We offer two swimming pools one clothing optional and one nude and nude Jacuzzi. Inquire at our front desk about fishing charters, tours and golf packages. We are certain that your visit to the Copacabana Hotel and Suites will be a lasting memory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Copacabana Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copacabana Hotel And Suites
Copacabana Hotel Jaco
Copacabana Hotel & Suites Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copacabana Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.