We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mar de Luz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mar de Luz to your Saves list
Hotel Mar de Luz
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jaco Beach, Garabito | Mar de Luz street, Pastor Diaz Avenue, Jaco 143 Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Weekend Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Perfect location just outside the centre of Jaco, everything you need is within walking distance. Especially the fresh juice bar on the corner of the main street. The hotel facilities aswell as the room were all nice and clean. The owner was very helpfull with any question and had some nice suggestions for activities and good restaurants in town. Choice of breakfast was diverse.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    78
    25
    15
    7
See reviews for
71
86
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Hotel is on a side street which gets you away from the hustle and bustle of Jaco, but leaves you within walking distance of the main street. The room we had was large with two queen beds (and bed drapes!) and a balcony overlooking the pool. Breakfast was a choice of four options (eggs, bacon, rice and beans, and something else), nothing too special. Accommodations were good for the price paid. Pity Jaco itself was nothing special.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed one night but wish we had stayed the rest of our trip. This cozy hotel offers a very good environment for both families and couples. It is off the main road but close to it, which makes it very quiet and you can get everywhere without taking your car.
The pool has a very good size and it's clean. They also have a resting area with some couches, books, and foosball. The prices at the restaurant are unbeatable and the food not bad. You can even ask them to bring the food to your room.
They should improve the rooms' bathrooms though.
I would say it is the best hotel in downtown Jaco.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hotel is located close to all the action, but far enough off the main street to be quiet. It is an easy walk to the beach and plenty of shopping and restaurants. My room was cool, very quiet, clean, and had a hot shower. It had everything I wanted and more, including a small kitchenette. Very impressed! Would definitely stay again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed at a great small hotel in Jaco Beach. Breakfast was fantastic - eggs (made to order), bacon, fruit, coffee +,- and was included in the cost of the room. Hotel is about 1/4 mile from the beach, shopping, restaurants, and clubs. But since it is off the main road, the hotel is very quite. The hotel is family friendly and the pools are full with kids early in the day, and parents and couples in the afternoon. The staff is very friendly and helpful in arranging tours and providing directions. My room was a corner room across a small wooden bridge, so I had a lot of privacy. My room was very comfortable and I didn't have any issues with it. You don't need a car in Jaco Beach, just transport from SJO. Everything is close by and many people are out and around.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this small hotel in Jaco gor three days. I wad ver happy with the overall service. The hotel is a two story building but it also has a number of charming individual units. We stayed in an individual unit, very lovely inside. The walls are made of stone liked, thete are picnic table in front of each unit, swimming pool in the middle ad well as a yacuzzi. Both were cleaned and propely , maintained. There is a small playground for toddlers and small children, very safe gor kids. Gardrn is nice , big trees, i saw several iguanas in the tree as I was sitting in the shade in a comfortable chair. My unit cabin was like a studio, the floors were tiled, small kitchen with utensils, charming breakfast table, the matress was comfortable and the
linens soft, actually they felt silky, the bathroom clean, no bathtub but I didnt care as the entire unit felt cozy. I recommend this hotel as it was not expendive, it was safe and not right in the main street which can get noisy at night, the hotel is located one block from the main street, easy access. Petfect for families, staff was helful and friendly. The free breakfast which came included in our tab wad traditional, fresh and ok. We March, and we paid $70.oo per day + tax. No fitness centet, this hotel had only I think one stationar bicycle. Ah, I forgot to mention that the air conditioning works but the ventilation its poor at least in my unit.

Room Tip: I would choose the infividual cabins again, all are located in a good atea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veikkola, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Place is good and quiet, perfect for families. No prostitutes and narcotics allowed. Near Jaco centrum, so all was close by walking. Breakfast nothing extra ordinary, but average. Helpful personnel. Big minus is that there was not any water in the room and fridge was warm.

Room Tip: Second floor was ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
1.4 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.3 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
0.0 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#5 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 898 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
0.9 mi away
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar de Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar de Luz

Address: Jaco Beach, Garabito | Mar de Luz street, Pastor Diaz Avenue, Jaco 143 Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#7 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mar de Luz 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Mar de Luz you will find an oasis of peace where you can relax after a day of discovering the many attractions of the area. Only a few steps from the hotel a long, sandy beach allows for many activities and where ocean waves have invited surfers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Mar de Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar De Luz Jaco
Mar De Luz Hotel
Hotel Mar De Luz Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mar de Luz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.