We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mar de Luz

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mar de Luz to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mar de Luz
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Puntarenas PO Box 143 | next to Subway Restaurant, Jaco 123, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Jaco
iowa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hotel is located close to all the action, but far enough off the main street to be quiet. It is an easy walk to the beach and plenty of shopping and restaurants. My room was cool, very quiet, clean, and had a hot shower. It had everything I wanted and more, including a small kitchenette. Very impressed! Would definitely stay again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    63
    18
    10
    7
See reviews for
52
65
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed at a great small hotel in Jaco Beach. Breakfast was fantastic - eggs (made to order), bacon, fruit, coffee +,- and was included in the cost of the room. Hotel is about 1/4 mile from the beach, shopping, restaurants, and clubs. But since it is off the main road, the hotel is very quite. The hotel is family friendly and the pools are full with kids early in the day, and parents and couples in the afternoon. The staff is very friendly and helpful in arranging tours and providing directions. My room was a corner room across a small wooden bridge, so I had a lot of privacy. My room was very comfortable and I didn't have any issues with it. You don't need a car in Jaco Beach, just transport from SJO. Everything is close by and many people are out and around.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this small hotel in Jaco gor three days. I wad ver happy with the overall service. The hotel is a two story building but it also has a number of charming individual units. We stayed in an individual unit, very lovely inside. The walls are made of stone liked, thete are picnic table in front of each unit, swimming pool in the middle ad well as a yacuzzi. Both were cleaned and propely , maintained. There is a small playground for toddlers and small children, very safe gor kids. Gardrn is nice , big trees, i saw several iguanas in the tree as I was sitting in the shade in a comfortable chair. My unit cabin was like a studio, the floors were tiled, small kitchen with utensils, charming breakfast table, the matress was comfortable and the
linens soft, actually they felt silky, the bathroom clean, no bathtub but I didnt care as the entire unit felt cozy. I recommend this hotel as it was not expendive, it was safe and not right in the main street which can get noisy at night, the hotel is located one block from the main street, easy access. Petfect for families, staff was helful and friendly. The free breakfast which came included in our tab wad traditional, fresh and ok. We March, and we paid $70.oo per day + tax. No fitness centet, this hotel had only I think one stationar bicycle. Ah, I forgot to mention that the air conditioning works but the ventilation its poor at least in my unit.

Room Tip: I would choose the infividual cabins again, all are located in a good atea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veikkola, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Place is good and quiet, perfect for families. No prostitutes and narcotics allowed. Near Jaco centrum, so all was close by walking. Breakfast nothing extra ordinary, but average. Helpful personnel. Big minus is that there was not any water in the room and fridge was warm.

Room Tip: Second floor was ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Close to centre, but down a side street so no noise.

Family hotel so pools busy with people playing.

Rooms very big with space to relax, downstairs rooms I think have full kitchen facilities, ours had lots off cooking related stuff but we did not use them.

Breakfast good start to the day, but my egg was very salty, so next day I asked for no salt and was fine.Breakfast doesnt end really early unlike at some places.

Check out at noon which is as good as we found in Costa Rica. Staff very friendly and helpful. For the price paid this was the best value hotel we stayed at on our trip. The bed was not small unlike most other places we stayed in the country. Pillow was a bit small and soft, so had to ask for another one, there was also a lack of hooks to hang clothes/towels on, so we drapised stuff over the various furniture items.

We arranged a private transfer to SJO airport at a price very similar to a shared shuttle service for 2 people, which was a pretty good deal and saved messing about with buses. We came from Quepos by public bus which was easy, cheap and less than 2 hours.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Perfectly located (everything nearby without any Jaco night noise). Nice, spacious rooms that are either partly or fully equipped. The Dutch owner is very nice as was the rest of the staff. Nice pools and if traveling with kids: they have a big playground.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Hotel Mar de Luz answered all of our expectations!
the hotel is located in a quiet street about 70 mt from the main road and a short walk to the main beach of Jaco.
the rooms are big and fully equiped, has a nice balcony to the pool, hot water, wi-fi and a/c, really comfortable and clean.
the staff was very nice and helpful and made us feel welcome!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mar de Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar de Luz

Address: Playa Puntarenas PO Box 143 | next to Subway Restaurant, Jaco 123, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Jaco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mar de Luz 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Mar de Luz, Jaco beach. The hotel is located center of Jaco beach. Our family owned and operated this three-star hotel, which is located in a quiet neighborhood with abundant green areas with nature. We will be pleased to assist you in organizing trips over the central pacific coast or elsewhere in Costa Rica. We guarantee you a memorable stay and excellent value for your money. Our family owned and operated three star hotel is located just 200 meters from the center of JACO BEACH in a quiet neighborhood abundant green areas with nature. We will be pleased to assist you in organizing trips over the central pacific coast or elsewhere in Costa Rica. We guarantee you a memorable stay and excellent value for your money. Our goal is to offer you the best Price-Quality relation, and we want you to have the best rooms. We can attend you in english, dutch, french, italian or papiamento. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Mar de Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar De Luz Jaco
Mar De Luz Hotel
Hotel Mar De Luz Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mar de Luz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;