We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly, Safe, 3 Pools, Kitchen available, Good 2nd Choice.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mar de Luz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mar de Luz to your Saves list
Hotel Mar de Luz
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jaco Beach, Garabito | Next to Subway Restaurant, Jaco 143 Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family friendly, Safe, 3 Pools, Kitchen available, Good 2nd Choice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We usually stay at Best Western in Jaco because it is right on the beach. So I would say that while the Mar De Luz is very nice ( for Costa Rica ), We use this as a Great 2nd Family Option.

If the beach access is not an issue then they are equal.

You must know that Costa Rica has different standards than the USA. You cant compare the two.
So , for Costa Rica, this is a nice family place. I gave it 5 stars.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a Kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    65
    20
    12
    7
See reviews for
57
71
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarcoles, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

if you are looking for a pleasant clean and family friendly Hotel this is the one for you. this is not a posh Hotel but it has everything you need clean good service a great breakfast and beautiful grounds right in the heart of the city..you could walk anywhere around the city and to the beach without even stepping into the car.we really enjoyed our stay and the owner was quite charming.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We liked this place- best of all it has two swimming pools+ baby pool, and games, all surrounded by green plants, flowers, butterflies, littl dogs of the owner. Veru friendly atmosphere, walking distance to the central street with restaurants. Helpful to have A/C at night, and a small kitchen with a fridge. Although I would recommend to use safety box for a storage of valuables. Breakfast was basic.

Room Tip: we had a room 5 near the game area, in front of the pool- and close to the breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairburn, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel was good for the cost. The staff was nice and helpful. The room was old, the bed was small, old A/C, blender, shower and toilet. The free breakfast was great. The hotel has a play lot and cookout area for the kids to eat.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor away from the hot tub because it is noisy when the motor is on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I signed up for trip advisor just so I could write a review of this hotel. The hotel staff here is AMAZING! I got food poisoning from Bar Isaga the day we checked in. I was up vomiting all night and late into the next day. The WONDERFUL people at this hotel allowed my friend and I an extremely late checkout at no charge. The rooms were nice and the pool looked fun, but I only spent time between my bed and the bathroom.


Thanks again guys...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here for ten days, looking for somewhere to chill out. Mar De Luz was the perfect location. It is not on the main road of Jaco, just off it. This means it is a bit quieter but you are still in the thick of it. The perfect location! Staff are beyond friendly and helpful, especially Alex. They helped us sort out transport and various other issues. The hotel itself is built around three swimming pools and has a lovely family atmosphere. Many a day was spent lounging by the pool! Totally recommend this place to anyone thinking of visiting Jaco.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Just awhile ago i visited Mar de Luz in Jaco Costa Rica again and it was as good or even better than my visit before ! The owner remembered me and had all the info a traveler can want. the hotel is just great, nice area, calm street but close to everything you want. (Beach / restaurants / shops / tours etc.) The great thing is that you will get an answer to all your questions, they will tell you where to go and what it will cost so you have youre own traveladvisor right next to you ! What can i tell you about the hotel, only see my rating and everything should be clear to you. Also you may see my earlier review where i couldn't help myself to sum up all the extras the hotel offers you.
So again, i can only say: Don't miss this hotel !
Henny, Arnhem.

Room Tip: Arround the pool are the best deals, but then, they're all arround one off the pools, can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mar de Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar de Luz

Address: Jaco Beach, Garabito | Next to Subway Restaurant, Jaco 143 Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#5 Business Hotel in Jaco
#7 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mar de Luz 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Hotel Mar de Luz, you can experience an oasis of peace surrounded by lush nature. Just steps away from a long beach you may enjoy of an impressive open sea, where the waves are launched with great force on the vast and clean sands of a wide beach with abundant sunshine. It is an unspoilt area where you can perform a number of activities whether on land or open sea, spectacular waves are loved by surfers from all nationalities, who like to enjoy them and then have a relaxing break in the luxurious and quiet rooms hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mar de Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar De Luz Jaco
Mar De Luz Hotel
Hotel Mar De Luz Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mar de Luz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.