We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, Fun, and Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mar de Luz

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mar de Luz to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mar de Luz
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Puntarenas PO Box 143 | next to Subway Restaurant, Jaco 123, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Jaco
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Peaceful, Fun, and Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with a group of 26 students with EF Tours. Highlights were the pools, easy walking distance to shopping and restaurants in Jaco, and the large open-air TV lounge where many of the kids gathered at night to discuss the day's events.

Meals were included in our stay and we enjoyed authentic Costa Rican fare as well as spaghetti, fresh fish, pancakes, and eggs for the various meals. The hot food was hot, the cold food served cold. Also, the fresh fruit for breakfast was delicious!

Each and every staff person was friendly and helpful. The kids loved the weiner dogs! This hotel has a very relaxed and comfortable ambiance which was much appreciated after a hustle and bustle day of sight-seeing.

The rooms were clean and fresh smelling. There was a small fridge, microwave, blender, and coffee maker in our room; other rooms were equiped with an efficiency kitchen. The bathrooms were decent sized and we never lacked hot water. The beds were typical for the area - a bit firm, but the pillows were better than other places we had stayed on this trip and the sheets were softer than most. The AC worked great which was a relief with the heat and humidity during our stay! The television worked fine and we were able to find an American news channel to keep updated on what was happening at home.

This is a hotel I would definitely return to in the future!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    63
    18
    10
    7
See reviews for
52
65
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I really enjoy the hotel Mar de Luz!
Great rooms fair price.......
An excellent staff..............very helpful
and the owner Victor, he is always there!

Located in centro an easy walk to every where in Playa Jaco

Oh yes Hot water.......many hotels do not have hot water Mar de Luz has hot water showers.........aaaah and lots of hot water unlike so many others

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

A good sized room, well appointed and comfortable - a real oasis. The staff are very helpful, it has excellent facilities (fridge, satellite telly, air conditioning) and downtown is a short walk from the hotel. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

A friend and I decided to take a brief siesta in Jaco after we'd been doing some hard volunteer work for a week, and we picked this hotel quickly based on a description in the Lonely Planet guidebook. That turned out to be a fantastic decision. I didn't love Jaco as a town (the reputation for drugs and prostitution is true), but this hotel is a great haven. The pools are beautiful, the staff are wonderful, and it is very family-friendly---the hotel has signs indicating that they do not condone prostitution, and no guests are allowed. They did a fabulous job cleaning our very dirty laundry, which we were very grateful for. There are also three very cute dogs who live there. And the hotel is in the perfect location-- far enough from the bars to be quiet, but within very easy walking distance (~ 2 blocks) to shops, restaurants, and the beach. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Great location. Very nice people. Specifically to mention the name of Jonathan, Gabriel, and the woman at reception desk(sorry....forgot the name!). Jonathan made calls for us to arrange tours and transportation and he was clearly not getting any commission out of it. Staff also provided helpful advice for us regarding the rest of our Costa Rica travels. Decent breakfast. We had a room on the second floor which was pretty clean and comfortable (it IS a hotel-- the bed wasn't that comfy, but was clean and functional, and really, what more can one ask?). Hot water and A/C were both very welcome. The place had a family feel and there were always people chilling in the pool which was in the middle of the property. Could get a bit loud but it didn't bother us-- we only were there to sleep basically and were exhausted after activity-filled days. The cute little dachsunds all around were fun. Overall decent stay for the amount we paid.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, null, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Second time to stay at this establishment. Excellent staff that helped us find the best places to visit, best places to eat, or shop, best view of the sunset, their local knowledge and recommendations are excellent - they will send you to safe, honest establishments. If you want to truely see Costa Rica, this is the place to stay. Warm, friendly, safe - why pay more for a common "motel" experience (tourist trap) when you can experience a true Costa Rica lifestyle. Awesome place, service excellent, clean, safe, good food, lots of fun! What more can I say, except stay here! You will not be sorry! We loved it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Reasonably priced and beautiful, and the resident dachsunds are adorable. My son and I shared a nice room with river rock walls near the pools (they have three!) Breakfast was delicious. And the staff...wow! Are they ever helpful and friendly. This hotel is only a block from the beach, handy to anything you need to see or do. Pura vida.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mar de Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar de Luz

Address: Playa Puntarenas PO Box 143 | next to Subway Restaurant, Jaco 123, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Jaco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mar de Luz 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Mar de Luz, Jaco beach. The hotel is located center of Jaco beach. Our family owned and operated this three-star hotel, which is located in a quiet neighborhood with abundant green areas with nature. We will be pleased to assist you in organizing trips over the central pacific coast or elsewhere in Costa Rica. We guarantee you a memorable stay and excellent value for your money. Our family owned and operated three star hotel is located just 200 meters from the center of JACO BEACH in a quiet neighborhood abundant green areas with nature. We will be pleased to assist you in organizing trips over the central pacific coast or elsewhere in Costa Rica. We guarantee you a memorable stay and excellent value for your money. Our goal is to offer you the best Price-Quality relation, and we want you to have the best rooms. We can attend you in english, dutch, french, italian or papiamento. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Mar de Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar De Luz Jaco
Mar De Luz Hotel
Hotel Mar De Luz Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mar de Luz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.