We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, friendly, lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mar de Luz

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mar de Luz to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mar de Luz
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Puntarenas PO Box 143 | next to Subway Restaurant, Jaco 123, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Mountain View, California
1 review
“Safe, friendly, lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

A friend and I decided to take a brief siesta in Jaco after we'd been doing some hard volunteer work for a week, and we picked this hotel quickly based on a description in the Lonely Planet guidebook. That turned out to be a fantastic decision. I didn't love Jaco as a town (the reputation for drugs and prostitution is true), but this hotel is a great haven. The pools are beautiful, the staff are wonderful, and it is very family-friendly---the hotel has signs indicating that they do not condone prostitution, and no guests are allowed. They did a fabulous job cleaning our very dirty laundry, which we were very grateful for. There are also three very cute dogs who live there. And the hotel is in the perfect location-- far enough from the bars to be quiet, but within very easy walking distance (~ 2 blocks) to shops, restaurants, and the beach. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    61
    18
    9
    7
See reviews for
52
63
22
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Great location. Very nice people. Specifically to mention the name of Jonathan, Gabriel, and the woman at reception desk(sorry....forgot the name!). Jonathan made calls for us to arrange tours and transportation and he was clearly not getting any commission out of it. Staff also provided helpful advice for us regarding the rest of our Costa Rica travels. Decent breakfast. We had a room on the second floor which was pretty clean and comfortable (it IS a hotel-- the bed wasn't that comfy, but was clean and functional, and really, what more can one ask?). Hot water and A/C were both very welcome. The place had a family feel and there were always people chilling in the pool which was in the middle of the property. Could get a bit loud but it didn't bother us-- we only were there to sleep basically and were exhausted after activity-filled days. The cute little dachsunds all around were fun. Overall decent stay for the amount we paid.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, null, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Second time to stay at this establishment. Excellent staff that helped us find the best places to visit, best places to eat, or shop, best view of the sunset, their local knowledge and recommendations are excellent - they will send you to safe, honest establishments. If you want to truely see Costa Rica, this is the place to stay. Warm, friendly, safe - why pay more for a common "motel" experience (tourist trap) when you can experience a true Costa Rica lifestyle. Awesome place, service excellent, clean, safe, good food, lots of fun! What more can I say, except stay here! You will not be sorry! We loved it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Reasonably priced and beautiful, and the resident dachsunds are adorable. My son and I shared a nice room with river rock walls near the pools (they have three!) Breakfast was delicious. And the staff...wow! Are they ever helpful and friendly. This hotel is only a block from the beach, handy to anything you need to see or do. Pura vida.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

our 5 day stay here was perfect. we originally had the garden room but was given a standard room instead (same price). our upstairs corner room was better than the garden room that i saw. we had more room, a larger bed, upstairs, and next to the pools. this place has a great value and we made much use of the pools and computers as we were planning our day trips to manuel antonio for ATV, rafting, canoeing, and hiking. it is a 45min shuttle down there, but the trips got shorter and shorter everyday. quepos looked too rural, definitely a good decision to stay in Jaco instead. Manuel Antonio had some great hotels really close to the park but no real areas to relax like the large beach in Jaco. would gladly stay here again next time. daily breakfast, access to phone to setup trips, internet/wifi, clean. staff were GREAT.

Room Tip: ASK for a standard room upstairs room over a downstairs room or garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I am an International Wildlife Photographer and have traveled many times to Costa Rica. I always stay at Hotel Mar de Luz when i photograph the Crocodiles of the Tarcoles River. The staff there is EXCELLENT! They were friendly and extremely helpful! The staff also speaks English & Spanish..The owner speaks German, English, Spanish and a several other languages..The environment is pleasant, and everybody is friendly!!!

The prices were reasonable. The swimming pool was the cleanest in Costa Rica. The food was good.

Sophie & Fanny (staff) are the best!!!!!

Also, this Hotel is located very close to many needed amenities. There are many places to eat, a grocery store (super market), movie theater, bank, etc. They are all within a short walking distance.

Also, the Ocean/beach is very close and within a 5 minute walk.

If you want a SAFE & friendly place to stay, I strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask the staff to help you decide which room is right for you. The staff is very helpful and very hon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Having decided to go to Costa Rica for a few days I chose Jaco as the destination, looked up available hotels and took a punt on Mar de Luz. Although the property is not new it has been well maintained. The staff are very friendly and helpful, particularly the girls at the front desk, Sophie and Fanny. The price of the air-conditioned room I had was reasonable and the location couldn't have been better. I plan to revisit Jaco and re-book Mar de Luz.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mar de Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar de Luz

Address: Playa Puntarenas PO Box 143 | next to Subway Restaurant, Jaco 123, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#5 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mar de Luz 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Mar de Luz, Jaco beach. The hotel is located center of Jaco beach. Our family owned and operated this three-star hotel, which is located in a quiet neighborhood with abundant green areas with nature. We will be pleased to assist you in organizing trips over the central pacific coast or elsewhere in Costa Rica. We guarantee you a memorable stay and excellent value for your money. Our family owned and operated three star hotel is located just 200 meters from the center of JACO BEACH in a quiet neighborhood abundant green areas with nature. We will be pleased to assist you in organizing trips over the central pacific coast or elsewhere in Costa Rica. We guarantee you a memorable stay and excellent value for your money. Our goal is to offer you the best Price-Quality relation, and we want you to have the best rooms. We can attend you in english, dutch, french, italian or papiamento. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Mar de Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar De Luz Jaco
Mar De Luz Hotel
Hotel Mar De Luz Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mar de Luz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.