We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mar de Luz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Mar de Luz to your Saves list
Hotel Mar de Luz
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Puntarenas PO Box 143 | next to Subway Restaurant, Jaco 123, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Jaco
Florida, null, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Second time to stay at this establishment. Excellent staff that helped us find the best places to visit, best places to eat, or shop, best view of the sunset, their local knowledge and recommendations are excellent - they will send you to safe, honest establishments. If you want to truely see Costa Rica, this is the place to stay. Warm, friendly, safe - why pay more for a common "motel" experience (tourist trap) when you can experience a true Costa Rica lifestyle. Awesome place, service excellent, clean, safe, good food, lots of fun! What more can I say, except stay here! You will not be sorry! We loved it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    63
    18
    10
    7
See reviews for
52
65
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Reasonably priced and beautiful, and the resident dachsunds are adorable. My son and I shared a nice room with river rock walls near the pools (they have three!) Breakfast was delicious. And the staff...wow! Are they ever helpful and friendly. This hotel is only a block from the beach, handy to anything you need to see or do. Pura vida.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

our 5 day stay here was perfect. we originally had the garden room but was given a standard room instead (same price). our upstairs corner room was better than the garden room that i saw. we had more room, a larger bed, upstairs, and next to the pools. this place has a great value and we made much use of the pools and computers as we were planning our day trips to manuel antonio for ATV, rafting, canoeing, and hiking. it is a 45min shuttle down there, but the trips got shorter and shorter everyday. quepos looked too rural, definitely a good decision to stay in Jaco instead. Manuel Antonio had some great hotels really close to the park but no real areas to relax like the large beach in Jaco. would gladly stay here again next time. daily breakfast, access to phone to setup trips, internet/wifi, clean. staff were GREAT.

Room Tip: ASK for a standard room upstairs room over a downstairs room or garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I am an International Wildlife Photographer and have traveled many times to Costa Rica. I always stay at Hotel Mar de Luz when i photograph the Crocodiles of the Tarcoles River. The staff there is EXCELLENT! They were friendly and extremely helpful! The staff also speaks English & Spanish..The owner speaks German, English, Spanish and a several other languages..The environment is pleasant, and everybody is friendly!!!

The prices were reasonable. The swimming pool was the cleanest in Costa Rica. The food was good.

Sophie & Fanny (staff) are the best!!!!!

Also, this Hotel is located very close to many needed amenities. There are many places to eat, a grocery store (super market), movie theater, bank, etc. They are all within a short walking distance.

Also, the Ocean/beach is very close and within a 5 minute walk.

If you want a SAFE & friendly place to stay, I strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask the staff to help you decide which room is right for you. The staff is very helpful and very hon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Having decided to go to Costa Rica for a few days I chose Jaco as the destination, looked up available hotels and took a punt on Mar de Luz. Although the property is not new it has been well maintained. The staff are very friendly and helpful, particularly the girls at the front desk, Sophie and Fanny. The price of the air-conditioned room I had was reasonable and the location couldn't have been better. I plan to revisit Jaco and re-book Mar de Luz.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night on the way to our main destination. This hotel has several misrepresentation problems. First, the rooms look nothing like the photo- nothing at all. The room we stayed in was old, dated, worn dirty linens ( and by that I mean speckled with old stains, and scratchy), dirty, cracked tiles. Beds were horrible, even by costa rican standards, with springs that poked into our backs. thin walls meant we heard every passerby, and our early riser neighbor's tv. The ac worked, but was loud with a light that illuminated the room throughout the night ( we nicknamed it the "eye of sauron"). Many rooms appeared to be living there as a long term rental.

The pros? It was family oriented, so pretty safe. Good coffee at breakfast. Nice garden/ pool area, even if it was overrun by kids. And the location was fine, although it is a solid three blocks to the beach.

I don't think it was worth more than $70 a night in high season.

To get there turn at the subway off the main drag. It is the direction away from the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have been to the Mar de Luz 12 times over the last 15 yrs.. The hotel is awesome, staff is friendly and Victor the owner is the best. The location is perfect and the price is great. We have had so many fine times in Jaco, the weather, food and people. I love it there and would recommend the hotel to all. Thanks Victor !

Room Tip: Stay in the older section. The rock walls are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mar de Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar de Luz

Address: Playa Puntarenas PO Box 143 | next to Subway Restaurant, Jaco 123, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#5 Family Hotel in Jaco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mar de Luz 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Hotel Mar de Luz, you can experience an oasis of peace surrounded by lush nature. Just steps away from a long beach you may enjoy of an impressive open sea, where the waves are launched with great force on the vast and clean sands of a wide beach with abundant sunshine. It is an unspoilt area where you can perform a number of activities whether on land or open sea, spectacular waves are loved by surfers from all nationalities, who like to enjoy them and then have a relaxing break in the luxurious and quiet rooms hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mar de Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar De Luz Jaco
Mar De Luz Hotel
Hotel Mar De Luz Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mar de Luz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.