We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rob.L. A Good Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mar de Luz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Mar de Luz to your Saves list
Hotel Mar de Luz
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Puntarenas PO Box 143 | next to Subway Restaurant, Jaco 123, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Rob.L. A Good Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Having decided to go to Costa Rica for a few days I chose Jaco as the destination, looked up available hotels and took a punt on Mar de Luz. Although the property is not new it has been well maintained. The staff are very friendly and helpful, particularly the girls at the front desk, Sophie and Fanny. The price of the air-conditioned room I had was reasonable and the location couldn't have been better. I plan to revisit Jaco and re-book Mar de Luz.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    64
    18
    10
    7
See reviews for
53
67
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night on the way to our main destination. This hotel has several misrepresentation problems. First, the rooms look nothing like the photo- nothing at all. The room we stayed in was old, dated, worn dirty linens ( and by that I mean speckled with old stains, and scratchy), dirty, cracked tiles. Beds were horrible, even by costa rican standards, with springs that poked into our backs. thin walls meant we heard every passerby, and our early riser neighbor's tv. The ac worked, but was loud with a light that illuminated the room throughout the night ( we nicknamed it the "eye of sauron"). Many rooms appeared to be living there as a long term rental.

The pros? It was family oriented, so pretty safe. Good coffee at breakfast. Nice garden/ pool area, even if it was overrun by kids. And the location was fine, although it is a solid three blocks to the beach.

I don't think it was worth more than $70 a night in high season.

To get there turn at the subway off the main drag. It is the direction away from the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have been to the Mar de Luz 12 times over the last 15 yrs.. The hotel is awesome, staff is friendly and Victor the owner is the best. The location is perfect and the price is great. We have had so many fine times in Jaco, the weather, food and people. I love it there and would recommend the hotel to all. Thanks Victor !

Room Tip: Stay in the older section. The rock walls are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed for one night on 1/12/2013 in room 25 or 27 (can't remember the exact number).

Plusses: Room was very large, secure parking available (lot with locked gate), furniture was in excellent condition, nice property, excellent location near the main strip, very friendly and helpful German girl at check-in

Negatives:Bath towels were somewhat worn and I did not like that they placed the towels in a pattern on the bedspread. (Bedspread could be dirty.) Television was small. I did not find any tissues in the room. Water had a metallic smell. One or two ants in the room.

Observations: this hotel caters to families so expect a lot of children in the pool and around the courtyard. The bathroom and shower had liquid soap dispensers - no soap bars were provided.

Overall I was glad I chose this hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

From the minute we arrived until we left 1 week later everyone and everything was perfect. The staff and owner Victor did there very best to please everyone. The location was perfect for us to walk everywhere and anywhere we wanted. Our room was spacious for the 4 of us and over looked the pool and the exotic gardens that surround the property. Breakfast was more than enough. ( great coffee, fresh fruit, and much more) included. Its certainly not for stuffy uptight people but for the price it will be a great deal for anyone looking for a little taste of Paradise. We would definitely return in the Future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Aside from the perfect location - central but set back from the main strip, and the very fair prices, this little gem really stands out as a very unfussy haven from the throbbing hub of jaco. The owners clearly care about the place and appear to have invested for the long term. The staff have been hand-picked for their courtesy and willingness to please the guests. A perfect choice for families, couples or single travellers.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

The owner Victor will help you with anything u need. We were going fishing at 5:30 and we couldn't make the hotels breakfast so he bought food with his own money for us. The employees are helpful and kind . The pools are amazing . Don't think twice its amazing

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mar de Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar de Luz

Address: Playa Puntarenas PO Box 143 | next to Subway Restaurant, Jaco 123, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#5 Family Hotel in Jaco
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mar de Luz 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Hotel Mar de Luz, you can experience an oasis of peace surrounded by lush nature. Just steps away from a long beach you may enjoy of an impressive open sea, where the waves are launched with great force on the vast and clean sands of a wide beach with abundant sunshine. It is an unspoilt area where you can perform a number of activities whether on land or open sea, spectacular waves are loved by surfers from all nationalities, who like to enjoy them and then have a relaxing break in the luxurious and quiet rooms hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mar de Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar De Luz Jaco
Mar De Luz Hotel
Hotel Mar De Luz Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mar de Luz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.