We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mar de Luz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Mar de Luz to your Saves list
Hotel Mar de Luz
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Puntarenas PO Box 143 | next to Subway Restaurant, Jaco 123, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed for one night on 1/12/2013 in room 25 or 27 (can't remember the exact number).

Plusses: Room was very large, secure parking available (lot with locked gate), furniture was in excellent condition, nice property, excellent location near the main strip, very friendly and helpful German girl at check-in

Negatives:Bath towels were somewhat worn and I did not like that they placed the towels in a pattern on the bedspread. (Bedspread could be dirty.) Television was small. I did not find any tissues in the room. Water had a metallic smell. One or two ants in the room.

Observations: this hotel caters to families so expect a lot of children in the pool and around the courtyard. The bathroom and shower had liquid soap dispensers - no soap bars were provided.

Overall I was glad I chose this hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    64
    18
    10
    7
See reviews for
53
68
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

From the minute we arrived until we left 1 week later everyone and everything was perfect. The staff and owner Victor did there very best to please everyone. The location was perfect for us to walk everywhere and anywhere we wanted. Our room was spacious for the 4 of us and over looked the pool and the exotic gardens that surround the property. Breakfast was more than enough. ( great coffee, fresh fruit, and much more) included. Its certainly not for stuffy uptight people but for the price it will be a great deal for anyone looking for a little taste of Paradise. We would definitely return in the Future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Aside from the perfect location - central but set back from the main strip, and the very fair prices, this little gem really stands out as a very unfussy haven from the throbbing hub of jaco. The owners clearly care about the place and appear to have invested for the long term. The staff have been hand-picked for their courtesy and willingness to please the guests. A perfect choice for families, couples or single travellers.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

The owner Victor will help you with anything u need. We were going fishing at 5:30 and we couldn't make the hotels breakfast so he bought food with his own money for us. The employees are helpful and kind . The pools are amazing . Don't think twice its amazing

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We arrived early for our reserved room and were greeted warmly by the manager and staff. Every employee that we met was friendly and made sure that we were made to feel comfortable. The two pools were always well maintained as was the hot tub. The grounds are kept very clean and well maintained. The room that we had (#209) was a good size with a queen bed. The mattress was not the most comfortable and the pillows were very old and thin. We were given new pillows but again they were not the most comfortable. The breakfast that was served as part of the room fee was better than expected. Fresh fruits and selections of eggs, pancakes and a fruit plate. Good coffee. I would highly reccommend this place for families as the palce is kid friendly. Right in the center of Jaco but well removed from the noise of the main street. Wi-Fi connection is available throughout the hotel although the signal does get very weak the farther you go from the reception area.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room that is far away from the pool are very audible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alum, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This was our third visit to Jaco. The hotel and staff were great, as usual, and the free breakfast was outstanding, (crispy bacon), Once again Victor (the owner) went out of his way to make sure our stay was perfect. See you in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The best part of this hotel was its central location. It was central to a number of great restaurants and it is pretty close to the beach. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The neighbourhood is reasonably safe. Of course, you do have to watch yourself anywhere you go. The service was also amazing. The owner realized that we would be leaving before breakfast the next morning and he went to the store and personally brought us some bread, butter, jam and coffee. Also, when I taught I lost my wallet in the hotel, the desk clerk personally strip searched all the beds and moved a lot of the furniture. I really appreciate the trouble he took for me.

The swimming pool was great. It just gets really bright in the early to late afternoon, so I recommend swimming late evening or early morning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mar de Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar de Luz

Address: Playa Puntarenas PO Box 143 | next to Subway Restaurant, Jaco 123, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#5 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mar de Luz 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Hotel Mar de Luz, you can experience an oasis of peace surrounded by lush nature. Just steps away from a long beach you may enjoy of an impressive open sea, where the waves are launched with great force on the vast and clean sands of a wide beach with abundant sunshine. It is an unspoilt area where you can perform a number of activities whether on land or open sea, spectacular waves are loved by surfers from all nationalities, who like to enjoy them and then have a relaxing break in the luxurious and quiet rooms hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mar de Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar De Luz Jaco
Mar De Luz Hotel
Hotel Mar De Luz Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mar de Luz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.