We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mar de Luz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mar de Luz to your Saves list
Hotel Mar de Luz
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jaco Beach, Garabito | Mar de Luz street, Pastor Diaz Avenue, Jaco 143 Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oasis of charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Aside from the perfect location - central but set back from the main strip, and the very fair prices, this little gem really stands out as a very unfussy haven from the throbbing hub of jaco. The owners clearly care about the place and appear to have invested for the long term. The staff have been hand-picked for their courtesy and willingness to please the guests. A perfect choice for families, couples or single travellers.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    78
    25
    15
    7
See reviews for
71
86
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The owner Victor will help you with anything u need. We were going fishing at 5:30 and we couldn't make the hotels breakfast so he bought food with his own money for us. The employees are helpful and kind . The pools are amazing . Don't think twice its amazing

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We arrived early for our reserved room and were greeted warmly by the manager and staff. Every employee that we met was friendly and made sure that we were made to feel comfortable. The two pools were always well maintained as was the hot tub. The grounds are kept very clean and well maintained. The room that we had (#209) was a good size with a queen bed. The mattress was not the most comfortable and the pillows were very old and thin. We were given new pillows but again they were not the most comfortable. The breakfast that was served as part of the room fee was better than expected. Fresh fruits and selections of eggs, pancakes and a fruit plate. Good coffee. I would highly reccommend this place for families as the palce is kid friendly. Right in the center of Jaco but well removed from the noise of the main street. Wi-Fi connection is available throughout the hotel although the signal does get very weak the farther you go from the reception area.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room that is far away from the pool are very audible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alum, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This was our third visit to Jaco. The hotel and staff were great, as usual, and the free breakfast was outstanding, (crispy bacon), Once again Victor (the owner) went out of his way to make sure our stay was perfect. See you in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The best part of this hotel was its central location. It was central to a number of great restaurants and it is pretty close to the beach. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The neighbourhood is reasonably safe. Of course, you do have to watch yourself anywhere you go. The service was also amazing. The owner realized that we would be leaving before breakfast the next morning and he went to the store and personally brought us some bread, butter, jam and coffee. Also, when I taught I lost my wallet in the hotel, the desk clerk personally strip searched all the beds and moved a lot of the furniture. I really appreciate the trouble he took for me.

The swimming pool was great. It just gets really bright in the early to late afternoon, so I recommend swimming late evening or early morning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My husband recently stayed at the Mar de Luz in Jaco. The staff is extremely friendly, especially Victor, the owner. He was very approachable, always asking if our needs were met and has the cutest dog, Rosita. He made our stay that much more enjoyable.
The hotel has 2 pools in the center of the hotel with lounge chairs surrounding them. Our room was good sized, but needed to be updated. The lighting wasn't great, but had appliances (microwave and refrigerator). The hotel is located on a side street off the main street of Jaco. It's not on the beach side, but is only a 5 minute walk. We thought the location was great because you couldn't hear the noise of the main street yet it was so close to everything.
We would definitely stay here again if we go back to Jaco.

Room Tip: On one side of the hotel were some rooms that were very dark. They were covered in stones. We stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We were given a personal welcome by the hotel owner (Victor), who was very friendly and informative. The room was huge, although its interior decoration might not be everyone's taste. Quite old-fashioned with a Dutch touch. Room equipped with fridge, microwave, coffee-maker, cutlery, plates etc. which was very useful. Hotel has many facilities, from two pools to a bbq area. Free internet terminals & free parking. Location perfect, just off the main street of Jaco. Quiet and decent. Breakfast great choices.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
1.4 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.3 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
0.0 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#5 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 901 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
0.9 mi away
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar de Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar de Luz

Address: Jaco Beach, Garabito | Mar de Luz street, Pastor Diaz Avenue, Jaco 143 Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#7 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mar de Luz 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Mar de Luz you will find an oasis of peace where you can relax after a day of discovering the many attractions of the area. Only a few steps from the hotel a long, sandy beach allows for many activities and where ocean waves have invited surfers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Mar de Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar De Luz Jaco
Mar De Luz Hotel
Hotel Mar De Luz Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mar de Luz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.