We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best so far...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buddha House Boutique Hostel

Save Saved
You added Buddha House Boutique Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buddha House Boutique Hostel
Pastor Diaz | Jaco Downtown, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best so far...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

After our less than stellar stay in La Fortuna this was the perfect place to land. Secure parking for "Jimmy" and a very clean and comfortable room. We had only planned to stay one night but may extend to two if avail. Particularly love the covered patio with hammock and was able to enjoy the rain without getting wet.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    25
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
19
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dimona, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The place is highly invested. The room is beautiful and the owner is nice. And then came the night. Without any warning before we closed for a night, we discovered that right next to the hotel, there's a dance bar that plays music very loudly. We couldnt get any sleep at all! When we tried to go to the desk, the guy told us that there's nothing to do.
Consequently, before you are closing, make sure that the bar is not opened that night. Or else bring your most massive ear plugs. Pura Vida

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I stayed here one night in a room with a shared bathroom. There was no hot water but it was freezing, just refreshing. The bed was comfortable. The air worked great. I actually woke up to turn it down. It was quiet even though it's right in the middle of the Main Street. The grounds are beautiful, colorful and serene. There is a small, clean round pool. A communal kitchen is available. The front desk staff was very helpful especially with bus information. I met some very nice travelers, mostly from the states. My friends had a great private room with a bathroom and a patio with seating. There is a community sitting area outside under a roof as well as an indoor area with a television. My room also had a tv but I nevere turned it on.

The Buddha house is one block from the beach. The main gate is locked at night for security and there is a staff member there 25 hours a day.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This place is nice, really nice and at $80 a night it better be. The room was clean, water was warm in the shower, and the staff was very helpful. Be warned, laundry is price by piece instead of per kilo. One load cost us $40 which was a surprise. Nice pool as well!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My friend and I stayed at this hostel while we were on vacation for a few days.The place is very nice, clean and has a little kitchen and pool. It is right in the middle of the center nearby all of the shops and restaurants. It has nice hindu decorations and the receptionist Carla is awesome!

Wifi is pretty good here inside the main hostel, I don't know about the dorms or private rooms with bathrooms. I worked online and for the most part the reception was pretty good, although sometimes a little spotty.

Room Tip: They have dorms for $15/night as well as private rooms with or without bathrooms from $55+
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I found it after a quick search on town. the Price very reasonable. the facilities were far better tan expected and the staff very helpfull.
Further tan a Hostel, the facilities and private romos, plus the swimming pool drive the service to a hotel service for less tan half of the Price.
And like in real estate. Location Location Location. Near the beach, near the shopping , and right where the night life goes on. Dont need a car at all.
Thanks for your help.

Room Tip: room number 1 ihas nice doublé bed ok for couples or single traveler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My girlfriend and I planned to lay over in Jaco for 2 nights..we rented a private room which was perfect, and ended up staying an additional 2 nights! The private room (10) was great, and served us perfectly. Jaco was very central for all our day trips and excursions, and it was always nice to come back to the hostel after a long day. Facilities were great, we cooked dinner, swam in pool, and very much felt comfortable. Most importantly, Carla was extremely helpful to is. We lost our camera during the flight, and didn't speak any Spanish. She consulted and coordinated with the airline and was able to track down our camera and have it sent to San Jose airport.

The location is ideal, close to many restaurants and shops all within a 10 minute walk, and there's a grocery store nearby as well if you prefer cooking at the hostels kitchen!
Only thing to know is that on some nights there can be noise from the club next tot the hostel, and the A/C is loud, but you can sleep through it and will want to have it on!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buddha House Boutique Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha House Boutique Hostel

Address: Pastor Diaz | Jaco Downtown, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buddha House Boutique Hostel is located in Jaco's downtown(Costa Rica). Rooms with shared and private bathrooms, swimming pool, parking, WiFi throughout the hotel. Flat-screen TVs, air conditioning, Poolparties, great atmosphere! Tours, Bike rental, Surfboard rental, Surf Lessons, Massages and much more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Buddha House Boutique Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cometa Hotel Jaco
Buddha House Boutique Hostel Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buddha House Boutique Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.