We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buddha House Boutique Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Buddha House Boutique Hostel to your Saves list
Buddha House Boutique Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Pastor Diaz Main Avenue | Facing El Bohio Street, Centro, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very nice place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night, because Jaco is not that interesting. The hostel is great though. The owner is very nice and did a great job decorating the pkace. It's modern, colorful and clean. There is a clean pool that you can swim in, a nice and cosy community area and a good kitchen to cook your own meal. The only downside: our room had no glass in the windows. Because it's open, it is very noisy.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscoverMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Peterborough, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

50 bucks for a clean, safe, friendly place to stay. Nice simple design throughout. Off st. Parking, wifi, a/c, tv. Downtown central location. Not on beach but very near.
Less expensive options available. Good value for what it is.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

If you're looking for a chill, safe place to stay that's central in Jaco, this is your spot. The beds and clean facilities were obviously a priority to the new owners, and the pool was cleaner than any others Ive seen. More notably, the owner that we worked w, mauro, was super friendly and was just about as cool of a guy as I've met traveling. After having some bad experiences in san Jose, it was refreshing to be treated like a friend in jaco. They gave us a better rate for staying a few extra nights and I would definitely recommend staying here.
Cheers

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claydaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hostel is one of the nicest we've stayed at in Costa Rica. The rooms are clean and filled with nice touches like artwork and other tasteful decorations. The sheets are cotton and pillows and mattress are actually comfortable! Where most places in this price don't even give you a glass for water, our room had face clothes and a clean tooth brush holder. It's located close to lots of the shops and restaurants. I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkeysturtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Three weeks ago some new owners bought this place and they have done an amazing job at making this simple, easy-going place cheerful, bright and welcoming. It still has a lot of improvements to go, like the a/c doesn't work well in every unit, but the new energy and upbeat owners show primse.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Right in down town Jaco. To close to be true. Matraces are old. It seems like a nice place for out side, but not worth the price. A/C hardly worked. Would look for a place just outside of the main street or continue and stay in Hermosa, next beach, 10min by car. Which is nicer, cleaner, and quieter, but also has nice restaurants to chill out.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank costaricantraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I'm in Costa Rica for work and went to stay here for one night (last Friday) with a Costa Rican colleague who had stayed here before. I got millions of bedbug bites and someone walked into our room and stole all our valuables while we were sleeping - even with the outside gate locked. Seemed like an inside job to me. Also the noise from the nearby clubs kept my friend up for half the night. I would stay away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank susieq626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#6 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.4 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
0.1 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#10 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Room2Board Hostel and Surf School
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddha House Boutique Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha House Boutique Hostel

Address: Pastor Diaz Main Avenue | Facing El Bohio Street, Centro, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Buddha House Boutique Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOSTEL/BACKPACKER ACCOMMODATION ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Buddha House Boutique Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cometa Hotel Jaco
Buddha House Boutique Hostel Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing