We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER AGAIN” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Calle Bri Bri | Playa Jaco, Jaco 86 4023, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
1 review
“NEVER AGAIN”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We ask the manager (a Colombian girl) why this Drunk Americans in the lobby with the local 'ladies' her answer was so rude and she was so arrogant, we got threatened by her, the zone is scarry and trash everywhere, Police shows up every couple of days heavely armed to check on God knows what, i personally saw the manager insulting outloud and try to scare the local kids and local families from the city of San Joae from the public beach with the security guards claiming that she is the manager and she doesnt want any local at the Beach in front of the Hotel (public Beach) some locals called the cops on her and she started to insult the cops, by the time that the Show started we left the 'scene' check out and left, we heard (next day) that the cops fine her and she is still working at the Hotel, besides that, the service is terrible, the place is not a hotel, its a Brothel and its filthy, NEVER AGAIN unless i want to punish my own self for something terrible i do

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    33
    10
    11
    11
See reviews for
15
32
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed in Jaco for 3 nights before moving to another area hotel for my sister's wedding. My fiance and I wanted a King bed so we got the Honeymoon suite for a very reasonable price. The location was good and central to several good restaurants and a grocery store. Both room's balconies on the third floor connect to one another and there is no way to prevent it, it was fine because we had family staying next door but it may be a concern if you're going alone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The pictures are quite deceiving. The place is run down and the pool had algae all over the edges. the rooms weren't properly cleaned. Staff is nice, but not very customer service oriented. Walked around the pool area and in the back area by the pool bar, junk visibly being stored, floors dirty...definitely will not return. Went to reception a couple of times and just gave up, people at restaurant always talking to each other...Right outside by the parking lot, drunks and druggies. I understand it is out of the hotels control, but doesn't help the overall atmosphere of the hotel, especially after finding it so run down. We were supposed to stay longer and ended up leaving and staying somewhere else for about the same price and much much better.

Room Tip: Should stay on ground floor..no elevators and not handicapped accessible. Travelled with family and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have stayed at the Canciones del Mar before, however, it appears there has been a change in management since our last visit. But, the iguanas were still there to greet us. They no longer offer a omelet chef, or have the upstairs bar open. The staff was friendly, but the breakfast was not up to previous standards. Upon our arrival the water in our unit was off. Maintenance was contacted and service was restored within a couple of hours. The hotel is dated, but it is beach front and centrally located. You can walk to most restaurants and shops. Sunset views from the top floor are nice. The rates are high compared to the condition of the facility, and I think we will be opting for another venue next time.

Room Tip: Ocean front available, third floor offers the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

i went back to this hotel anticipating that it would be better, not worse! It is still a cute little hotel with a great location and excellent staff. The room I had has a great view of the ocean and you can still go to the rooftop for sunsets, although the jacuzzi there is now empty and most of the furniture is also gone. This place has so much potential; the pool is awesome and the courtyard is really lovely. The location is excellent; a short walk onto the main street of Jaco, right on the beach, and a 360 view of jungle and ocean from the rooftop. I got a different room than I requested and then they confirmed, but it was fine, other than air conditioning only in the bedroom, but it ended up being sufficient. The restaurant is now closed, other than for breakfast, and they did not inform me of that when I booked or after; I went there partially because they had some of the best food ever the previous year. The website still indicates that they have fine cuisine and a rooftop jacuzzi. There still aren't phones in the rooms, which was a bit of a pain. The TV was good, lots of channels, the shower had good water pressure although there was only hot water half the time (didn't much matter, the water was room temperature and it was hot out- the last thing I really needed was a hot shower) The beds and window coverings need to be replaced but were sufficient. I really hope the current owners put some money into this little character hotel instead of tearing it down and building more condos; it's owned by Daystar owners are far as I know. It would be a shame to do that, i recommend this hotel regardless of it's shortcomings; it's a great value and is a very quaint place to stay with staff who is eagerly trying to please even though they have been given some issues to deal with daily.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We booked canciones del mar from the web and I'm SO HAPPY we did! The place is hidden off Bris Bris street. Though steps away from the hussle and bussle of busy jaco and right on the beach you are still in the middle of it all. We could choose to be lazy and have a quiet dinner while watching the sunset from our garden view room or we could party at one of the nearby bars. The front desk person Viedenne was AWESOME! He helped us check in later and also arranged for all sorts of fun flying the canopes the next day. This was worth more than I paid, but happy to have paid less for more! Our room was also huge and could've accomodated 8 people- though only my husband and I were using it (I almost felt guilty). It had a pull out captains bed in the sitting area, a full kitchen, a patio overlooking the pool and garden as well as a main bedroom with 2 queen beds. The place was immaculatey clean. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Canciones del Mar for three nights the first week of January, 2013. While it is, as others have said, a little run down, we really enjoyed our stay.
We checked in fairly late in the evening, around 10pm. Check in was quick and easy and the young man at the desk spoke good English, which was very helpful for us. Our room featured a stove, fridge, couch, and a nice balcony overlooking the courtyard and pool. While everything showed it's age, it was serviceable, clean and safe.
Someone mentioned in an earlier review that there were homeless people outside the door. Those are not homeless people. The area between the hotel and the beach is a public area and people bring their families to camp there. This is not a problem at all. The best part about the hotel is the central location in Jaco and a very short walk to numerous restaurants and activities.
After reading some of the reviews of the area, we were a little concerned about crime. In fact, we walked all over town day and night and had no problem at all. We did not witness anything bad, were never hassled in any way and never felt the slightest bit uncomfortable. If you have any experience as a traveler and take the normal precautions that you would take anywhere, be aware of your surroundings, don't get stumbling drunk, etc, you will be totally fine.
Breakfast at the hotel was delicious, featuring super fresh fruit, eggs, plantains, breads, rice and beans and such. The coffee here and everywhere in Costa Rica is the best in the world.
The pool was clean, quiet and inviting, and the smallish courtyard was beautiful.
The best part was the location, steps away from the beach.
The one issue we had was the water in the shower fluctuated from hot to cold. While a little frustrating, it was not a big deal. This is Costa Rica, and this is how things often work. A small trade off for visiting the one of the most beautiful, unspoiled countries on earth.
While Canciones del Mar is not a luxury resort, by any means, we would recommend it as a great, inexpensive, small friendly place to stay while in Jaco.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle Bri Bri | Playa Jaco, Jaco 86 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small 15-room hotel is a classic! The sea, the surf, the beach, the palm grove, the hotel-it is just as you might imagine a small unique tropical beachfront resort should be. The “Songs of the sea” is a quiet and cool oasis amidst the busy Jaco town scene, with each room’s small deck looking out over the ocean or on the lush gardens surrounding the pool. The hotel is built in Tropical Spanish Colonial style and the fully equipped rooms are spacious and quiet. It is the one place in Playa Jaco that combines the convenience of central location with beachfront location. Wake up to a delicious fresh fruit and buffet breakfast under the thatched roof of the beach side restaurant, then wander down to the beach for some sun and surf. If it gets too hot, retreat and cool off by the pool and Jacuzzi or catch up on your reading in the breezy elevated thatched roof tree house while you enjoy the view below. We have a small gourmet restaurant for lunch and dinner, and our Costa Rican chef serves international gourmet and or local food. Also enjoy our Tapas Bar terrace and Jacuzzi on the third floor with a spectacular view over the ocean and green mountains where you can enjoy the spectacular sunsets of the Pacific Ocean. We also do weddings and special events. We are committed with national sustainability programs and protecting the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canciones Del Mar Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.