We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“getting run down, but I will still go back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Calle Bri Bri | Playa Jaco, Jaco 86 4023, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 49 Specialty lodging in Jaco
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“getting run down, but I will still go back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

i went back to this hotel anticipating that it would be better, not worse! It is still a cute little hotel with a great location and excellent staff. The room I had has a great view of the ocean and you can still go to the rooftop for sunsets, although the jacuzzi there is now empty and most of the furniture is also gone. This place has so much potential; the pool is awesome and the courtyard is really lovely. The location is excellent; a short walk onto the main street of Jaco, right on the beach, and a 360 view of jungle and ocean from the rooftop. I got a different room than I requested and then they confirmed, but it was fine, other than air conditioning only in the bedroom, but it ended up being sufficient. The restaurant is now closed, other than for breakfast, and they did not inform me of that when I booked or after; I went there partially because they had some of the best food ever the previous year. The website still indicates that they have fine cuisine and a rooftop jacuzzi. There still aren't phones in the rooms, which was a bit of a pain. The TV was good, lots of channels, the shower had good water pressure although there was only hot water half the time (didn't much matter, the water was room temperature and it was hot out- the last thing I really needed was a hot shower) The beds and window coverings need to be replaced but were sufficient. I really hope the current owners put some money into this little character hotel instead of tearing it down and building more condos; it's owned by Daystar owners are far as I know. It would be a shame to do that, i recommend this hotel regardless of it's shortcomings; it's a great value and is a very quaint place to stay with staff who is eagerly trying to please even though they have been given some issues to deal with daily.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    30
    10
    11
    10
See reviews for
15
32
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We booked canciones del mar from the web and I'm SO HAPPY we did! The place is hidden off Bris Bris street. Though steps away from the hussle and bussle of busy jaco and right on the beach you are still in the middle of it all. We could choose to be lazy and have a quiet dinner while watching the sunset from our garden view room or we could party at one of the nearby bars. The front desk person Viedenne was AWESOME! He helped us check in later and also arranged for all sorts of fun flying the canopes the next day. This was worth more than I paid, but happy to have paid less for more! Our room was also huge and could've accomodated 8 people- though only my husband and I were using it (I almost felt guilty). It had a pull out captains bed in the sitting area, a full kitchen, a patio overlooking the pool and garden as well as a main bedroom with 2 queen beds. The place was immaculatey clean. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Canciones del Mar for three nights the first week of January, 2013. While it is, as others have said, a little run down, we really enjoyed our stay.
We checked in fairly late in the evening, around 10pm. Check in was quick and easy and the young man at the desk spoke good English, which was very helpful for us. Our room featured a stove, fridge, couch, and a nice balcony overlooking the courtyard and pool. While everything showed it's age, it was serviceable, clean and safe.
Someone mentioned in an earlier review that there were homeless people outside the door. Those are not homeless people. The area between the hotel and the beach is a public area and people bring their families to camp there. This is not a problem at all. The best part about the hotel is the central location in Jaco and a very short walk to numerous restaurants and activities.
After reading some of the reviews of the area, we were a little concerned about crime. In fact, we walked all over town day and night and had no problem at all. We did not witness anything bad, were never hassled in any way and never felt the slightest bit uncomfortable. If you have any experience as a traveler and take the normal precautions that you would take anywhere, be aware of your surroundings, don't get stumbling drunk, etc, you will be totally fine.
Breakfast at the hotel was delicious, featuring super fresh fruit, eggs, plantains, breads, rice and beans and such. The coffee here and everywhere in Costa Rica is the best in the world.
The pool was clean, quiet and inviting, and the smallish courtyard was beautiful.
The best part was the location, steps away from the beach.
The one issue we had was the water in the shower fluctuated from hot to cold. While a little frustrating, it was not a big deal. This is Costa Rica, and this is how things often work. A small trade off for visiting the one of the most beautiful, unspoiled countries on earth.
While Canciones del Mar is not a luxury resort, by any means, we would recommend it as a great, inexpensive, small friendly place to stay while in Jaco.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Canciones del Mar was very nice we stayed in a pool view room and had an apartment setup with 5 girls it worked out great! We enjoyed breakfast every morning and walked right on to the beach right after. We ate most of our meals at the hotel restaurant that was on the top of the hotel and they changed their menus for lunch and dinner. It was plain and simple dishes (rice and beans costa rican favorites) but very delish and cheap! The hotel staff was very nice and friendly and the place is clean. I would not recommend this place for a spa vacation but for a nice laid back surf trip with friends it was awesome!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

It's a nice place, with refrigerator, kitchen fully equiped, A/C and TV. Over all people are right by saying that it's a little run down, but it's not that bad. Staff is very friendly, the breakfast is included and it's highly recomendable! The hotel is a beach front, just remember that you're staying in Jaco, so do not expect too much from the beach ;)
Downsides: no hot water; maybe because of the low season, but the Jacuzzi was out of order, the restaurant/bar on top was closed at night, the pool bar was closed too. The beds and pillows might be an issue, though... Anyway, we did find a small crab lurking around our room, but that's what happens when you're at the beach, right? :)

Room Tip: Some say you should get the ocean view, but that didn't seem to be a deal breaker, I'd stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Canciones Del Mar sits right on the beautiful Jaco Beach. It is a quaint boutique hotel with less than 20 rooms. My room was like a small apartment! So clean, nice decor, kitchen, etc. The pool was fresh water, very minimal chlorine and I jumped in several times a day, meeting lots of very sweet Costa Rican families. The breakfasts outside over looking the beach were huge, delicious, and included. The iguanas always came out to feed on fruit near the tables...amazing. More importantly, the STAFF was incredible! Being a single traveler, I always had tons of questions for them and they were always very kind and helpful. When I had to leave, I felt I was leaving my new family. Vidian, who was usually at the front desk was so wonderful that I will never forget him. LOVE THIS PLACE!!! Pura Vida!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

After reading travel books, online reviews, and checking out the website I guess I had more expectations for this place. It's not terrible...but it's not great either. I agree with others- the hotel is kind of run down. The pool was probably the best feature - we certainly enjoyed sitting poolside for a bit watching the iguanas being chased around by the hotel cat - but even the pool was kind of run down.

Our experience would have been a bit better if the rooftop lounge was open - it's a beautiful space that we snuck up to explore - it's in the pictures on the website - with the Jacuzzi and bar and beautiful clear view of the Ocean. It was pitch dark and empty the night we saw it and the Jacuzzi a pale green color, clearly out of order. It's the best feature of the place - a shame they don't utilize it.

Our room was OK - not the most comfortable beds, but we did get to see the ocean from the window (although not the view I was expecting for the extra price). Plus, we had some six-legged friends join us at night in the living room/kitchen area...ugh. The AC was stuck on freezing as was the shower, but we just sucked it up since it was only for two nights and too late to cancel with refund.

Avoid the food - it's nothing special and there are much better places to eat in town. Instant beach access was a plus- we enjoyed being able to run out to the ocean at sunset and play in the waves. However...it's a busy beach - it was really crowded right outside the hotel and not the cleanest beach, either.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle Bri Bri | Playa Jaco, Jaco 86 4023, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 49 Specialty lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small 15-room hotel is a classic! The sea, the surf, the beach, the palm grove, the hotel-it is just as you might imagine a small unique tropical beachfront resort should be. The “Songs of the sea” is a quiet and cool oasis amidst the busy Jaco town scene, with each room’s small deck looking out over the ocean or on the lush gardens surrounding the pool. The hotel is built in Tropical Spanish Colonial style and the fully equipped rooms are spacious and quiet. It is the one place in Playa Jaco that combines the convenience of central location with beachfront location. Wake up to a delicious fresh fruit and buffet breakfast under the thatched roof of the beach side restaurant, then wander down to the beach for some sun and surf. If it gets too hot, retreat and cool off by the pool and Jacuzzi or catch up on your reading in the breezy elevated thatched roof tree house while you enjoy the view below. We have a small gourmet restaurant for lunch and dinner, and our Costa Rican chef serves international gourmet and or local food. Also enjoy our Tapas Bar terrace and Jacuzzi on the third floor with a spectacular view over the ocean and green mountains where you can enjoy the spectacular sunsets of the Pacific Ocean. We also do weddings and special events. We are committed with national sustainability programs and protecting the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canciones Del Mar Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.