We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of major rennovation/maintainence” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Calle Bri Bri | Playa Jaco, Jaco 86 4023, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 48 Specialty lodging in Jaco
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“In need of major rennovation/maintainence”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Have stayed here several times - great beachfront location. But - in need some major attention. Quite rundown overall. The beds definately need to be replaced . Too bad it's in this shape for such a good location, and great staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CancionesdelMar, General Manager at Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
I would like to apologize for any inconveniences that your stay may have caused you and your guests. We have recently gone under new ownership and we are diligently improving the hotel as quickly as possible. We are in the process of renovating the jacuzzi and the swimming pool first and then moving to the guest rooms. I would like to extend an invitation to you the next time you are in the area to stay at the hotel again or just stop by and see the improvements. We value you as a customer and respect your thoughts as it is a crucial impact on our changes here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    31
    11
    11
    10
See reviews for
15
32
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

I took a vacation with my wife and two children to Costa Rica for 10 days from July 16 to July 26, 2011. The first six nights was heavenly and we had a great time till we drove to Jaco Beach and Canciones Del Mar Hotel for the last three nights. We were so shock that we sat in our car for at least 15 minutes and could not believe our eyes. The neighborhood was very run down and dirty. People were camping in front of the hotel in between a few palm trees. The hotel appeared very old and not being taken care of for a long time. The cook was outside watering a small planter and the service man with a dirty handkerchief on his shoulder both kept starring at us like they were more in shock to see us there. Kids started crying and I decided to go in and check the room. The room smelled, the furniture were very old, the bed very uncomfortable with old pillows and sheet with holes. Window unit air-conditioner did not work, the safe did not have a door and shower you did not want to touch any thing. Balcony door had no lock and not very safe. The swimming pool appeared dirty and could see algae with murky water. We left to see if we can find another hotel, but due to the holiday weekend in Costa Rica, we did not have any luck. We spent most of our time away from the hotel and Jaco and only went there late at night to sleep. We finally checked out one day early and left to San Jose.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CancionesdelMar, General Manager at Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
I would like to apologize for any inconveniences that your stay may have caused you and your guests. We have recently gone under new ownership and we are diligently improving the hotel as quickly as possible. We are in the process of renovating the jacuzzi and the swimming pool first and then moving to the guest rooms. I would like to extend an invitation to you the next time you are in the area to stay at the hotel again or just stop by and see the improvements. We value you as a customer and respect your thoughts as it is a crucial impact on our changes here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011 via mobile

We were excited about the property being right on the beach but became more and more disappointed as we walked into our room #12. The floors were coated in a sticky film. The lights were dim, sheets were covered in stains and hairs, pillows were lumpy, and towels were rough. The water in the shower smells rank and the faucet never completely turns off. They seem quite proud of their new rooftop jacuzzi, though it remains a luke-warm temperature and cannot be adjusted. This was our third hotel in Costa Rica and our first disappointment. Beachfront location is not worth it compared to the rest of the problems. We strongly suggest you go somewhere else!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canciones, Owner at Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Dear Guests,

We are very sorry for your unconveniences. Our hotel is proud of its policies of cleanliness and I will research what happened.
Our jacuzzy is not heated but is more of a refreshing experience.
Again our sincere apoligies and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Very truly yours,
Peter van Hussen
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Lots of initial problems, including the AC unit was missing from our room when we arrived. They sent someone (I doubt he was an electrician) to replace it after we complained and I thought he was going to electrocute himself. After waiting 3 hours, we went down to dinner to find the restaurant was closed, earlier than their posted hours. I was so close to leaving, except for the fact it was late at night at this time.

After returning from dinner out, we found the AC was not fixed, and instead sparked every 20 minutes the entire night. Also, beware, the honeymoon suite is practically adjacent to their next door bar. So when the live music started after 10 PM, we had this to listen to in addition to the shocks coming off the air condition and the noisiest ceiling fan I have ever heard. Needless to say we got no sleep that night. We had to laugh about it after the fact as it was anything but the honeymoon suite that we thought we booked!

The next day they did move us and it was better, however, that didn't make up for the fact that we had a miserable first night, and overall didn't think they handled the situation properly.

Also, I didn't think the bathrooms were very clean and the water smells, not sure if this is a hotel issue or local issue.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Located right on the beach & within walking distance of good restaurants this fitted our need for a stopover on our way to Dominical. The rooms were spacious but a little musty. We did love the pool area. The upstairs bar area was a little disapointing...rap music & not really a great view of the sunset. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

If you are looking for relaxation this is the place. The staff treats you wonderfully and the place is beautiful and well cared for. The room was always clean and had beautiful flowers.

It is a short walk to the ocean and also has nice pool. We had a wonderful time and were treat like friends. We want to thank everyone at the Boutique Hotel for making the last leg of our trip spectacular.
Kim & Brad

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island,NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

We had 2 separate stays at Canciones del Mar; one for 2 days and another for 3 days.The ground floor suite, with full kitchen, was poolside just steps from the best beach in Jaco.THE STAFF deserves applause;I am known to be demanding and difficult...Young Rubin even displayed digital technology skills, enabling me to perform my Wall Street tasks seemlessly,thousands of miles from my office and assistants.On our second stay(3 days)in March.'11,our second floor suite was even more spacious and convenient to pool, beach and nightlife.Our daytrips into the mountainous verdant forests were without problems.Once again the employees were most helpful. Octavio came to my aid with technology savvy, when my Wifi connection failed....no problem! The owner, Peter Van Hussen, has attended to the last detail, for a very fair price.this is a first- rate property! Charles & Susan Limmer

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle Bri Bri | Playa Jaco, Jaco 86 4023, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 48 Specialty lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small 15-room hotel is a classic! The sea, the surf, the beach, the palm grove, the hotel-it is just as you might imagine a small unique tropical beachfront resort should be. The “Songs of the sea” is a quiet and cool oasis amidst the busy Jaco town scene, with each room’s small deck looking out over the ocean or on the lush gardens surrounding the pool. The hotel is built in Tropical Spanish Colonial style and the fully equipped rooms are spacious and quiet. It is the one place in Playa Jaco that combines the convenience of central location with beachfront location. Wake up to a delicious fresh fruit and buffet breakfast under the thatched roof of the beach side restaurant, then wander down to the beach for some sun and surf. If it gets too hot, retreat and cool off by the pool and Jacuzzi or catch up on your reading in the breezy elevated thatched roof tree house while you enjoy the view below. We have a small gourmet restaurant for lunch and dinner, and our Costa Rican chef serves international gourmet and or local food. Also enjoy our Tapas Bar terrace and Jacuzzi on the third floor with a spectacular view over the ocean and green mountains where you can enjoy the spectacular sunsets of the Pacific Ocean. We also do weddings and special events. We are committed with national sustainability programs and protecting the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canciones Del Mar Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.