We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tangeri Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tangeri Hotel to your Saves list
Tangeri Hotel
Avenida Pastor Diaz frente a Subway., Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Jaco
Deltona, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is the second year I have come here with a mission group. We love the staff and the owner is awesome. If you are looking for a clean place without spending a lot of money, this is it. The grounds are beautifully kept and the BBQ Tangeri has amazing food!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    26
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
10
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmer, Alaska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Hotel and villas are directly on the beach with a beach side bar, pools, exercise room (not outstanding) restaurant very good service and food at breakfast. Good location to walk to most restaurants and shopping-discounts for weekdays.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

First of all, we only did a daytrip so we can't comment on the rooms. But the grounds were very well maintained with nice pools and the hotel is right on the beach. The food was very tasty. We enjoyed our daytrip.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

A very nice hotel on the Ocean in Jaco. For the price , very nice. Stayed in an Ocean View room typical costa rica, no frills but a good ac unit, nice shower and a tv. Lets be honest if your in Costa Rica and you spend a lot of time in the hotel room your missing the point. The grounds here are beautiful with iguanas all over the place. Breakfast is excellent and the Ocean Front tiki bar can't be beat. Two very nice swimming pools and hammocks strung between palm trees. Nice game area with pool table and ping pong. As far as beaches go Jaco is not the nicest in Costa Rica but its not bad. The river meets the Ocean just South of the hotel and is a popular spot for locals on the weekend. I wouldnt swim in the river but the locals dont seem to have a problem with it. Overall adequate rooms, great service beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drake
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Nice location and restaurant, Greivin the waiter was over the top, but in the other hand a little disapointed when reported to the FD that some kind of "animal" doesn't let us slept because of the noise in the roof and the lady in the FD (very kind) told us : "oh yes are bats, they live there, thanks for your comments" ... and that was it. So staff is nice and hotel too, rooms a little old but fair for the price...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Nice clean pool, great beach bar, breakfast included in the package served in a really nice restaurant, the view is beautifull, I saw some parrots this morning in front if my room. No coffee machine in the room.
i will reccomend the Tangeri to my friends and family

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The staff were nice, the room was clean and the location was ideal to be able to walk around town. From what I remember, we could not get wifi in our room but could get it near the office lounge area which was good enough to check and respond to any work emails as needed.

We really liked lounging around the pool watching the many large iguanas walking around the property. It was the low season so the pool area was not overcrowded which was nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tangeri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tangeri Hotel

Address: Avenida Pastor Diaz frente a Subway., Jaco, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tangeri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tangeri Hotel Jaco
Tangeri Hotel Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tangeri Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.