We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would recommend the hotel and restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tangeri Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tangeri Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tangeri Hotel
Avenida Pastor Diaz frente a Subway., Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Jaco, Costa Rica
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We would recommend the hotel and restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Not lavish but very comfortable. Very friendly staff, great food. Mario Alexander at the restaurant were wonderful and Blanca at the hotel check-in was great.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    23
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
9
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rowayton, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We spent one night here when the local Micky Mouse traffic cop decided to take a dislike to the gringos and gave us a hard time. The owner came right down with her niece who speaks great English. The next day the owner drove us to the traffic police centre 45 minutes away where she had a lawyer assist in writing an appeal. Way beyond the call of duty.

We hope no-one else runs across this clown, but if you do the owners at the Tangeri will go out of their way to help.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

We stayed in on of the cabins with a kitchen and 2 rooms, which is great when you're traveling with a handful of people and want to save some money and cook. the location is great, right on the beach. The pools are nice too. Nice, simple comfort.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose', CR
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

I had stayed here many times in the past. The ice machine broke over a year ago and as far as I know never fixed. They have ice for mixed drinks for sale. When my wife asked for some ice for my cup to take some medication, she was told by a staff member to walk about three blocks to the super market to buy our own ice. Do not plan to recommend or go there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jettingtothewedding
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

I've stayed here a number of times since 2006 and the hotel and staff have never let me down. The pools are clean, and the iguanas that run around and drink from them really add to the over all vibe of the place. The rooms are very clean, with hot water and working A/C. The bartenders and staff are very nice, and the breakfast at the restaurant in front of the hotel is really good. Would be a beautiful place to get married- the sunsets are INCREDIBLE!


Candace Moore
Co-founder, Jetting to the Wedding
www.jettingtothewedding.com

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Nice place, cool iguanas, rancho with rockers for ocean viewing, a surly squirrel, small pools, I had a second story room with ocean view in the green season for $90 total, including breakfast at the hotel's restaurant (a very good breakfast), located smack dab in the middle of Jaco, close to the bars us single guys love, and theres a gym too and ping pong and pool (the game with 8-ball!!) One thing: my feet hung off the short bed and the water heater is the electric kind right above the shower head and there were taped-up wires, this scared me.........but I showered and survived!! Like a mini-resort on the beach........nice for the price!! Free Wi-Fi and works well.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We booked into this hotel hoping for a touch of luxury - having spent a week in lesser hotels in other parts of Costa Rica. The staff did not seem particularly friendly, and it was annoying having to carry our own towels/remote controls to the room we had just booked. When we arrived it was pouring with rain, and the route to our room was not undercover - a bit annoying!
The room was spacious with two twin beds, and a rather grotty bathroom with cheap sachets of shampoo. The selling point was a balcony with a sea view and two rocking chairs - where we spent most of our time at this hotel. There are three pools and a few hammocks, which are ideal if you want to relax - however the hotel did not offer chairs on the beach (directly opposite), which some other hotels did.
Our main problem with this hotel was the cleanliness - I woke up with a cockroach on me in the middle of the night, and my partner and I both got bitten multiple times whilst asleep. I know that Costa Rica is a tropical country, but we stayed in far lesser hotels which were cleaner and less open to the elements (there was a mosquito grill over the balcony doors at this hotel, but it didn't seem to help!)
We paid extra to stay in this hotel, which is considered by Lonely Planet (and local taxi drivers) as 'top range'. I wouldn't bother next time - it's not worth splashing out.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tangeri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tangeri Hotel

Address: Avenida Pastor Diaz frente a Subway., Jaco, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tangeri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tangeri Hotel Jaco
Tangeri Hotel Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tangeri Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.