We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pochote Grande

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Pochote Grande
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here in November 2012. Right on the beach, a/c, fridge, pool and right on the beach. I could hear the ocean from my room if all was quiet.
The staff was friendly and provided me with information about safety in the area and good places to eat. The house keeping was great and very through. Everything was kept clean and the grounds well maintained. I felt safe as a single female traveler.
The kitchen was affordable and they would make me anything I asked for. It was the low season so there weren't many guests around. I was able to check in early and check out late at no extra cost. I would go here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    27
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nerja, Spain
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Glad to see the Hotel is still kept up the great service of Manfred(Max) and his employees.

The travelers photos are exactly how we found it way back then.

The food was delicious and Max really made sure that everyone was happy, well done.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Friendly owner, helped us with breakfast and getting us glutenfree food which was really very friendly. Nice pool. Basic rooms, clean, right next to the beach. A bit too far to walk to the city.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012 via mobile

Great little hotel right on the beach with a lush tropical courtyard and pool. Excellent security too. The rooms are simple and clean.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Thankfully we only booked for 1 night. No service at all, Securityguard with a gun was needed to watch our car. Filthy very fat German owner didn’t care about anything except his beer. We felt very unsafe here. Didn’t even try the included breakfast or pool.

Would not advise to go here.

It could be because we were here in low-season August, but we were glad we could leave after 1 night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

If you remember old fashioned customer service and yearn for genuine guest care, this is the place for you. I am not talking about the rehearsed training the majority of the staff gets at big name places; I am talking about truly caring for you but not being overwhelmed type place. Excellent food, I mean yummy good and good prices. Although we didn't get a chance to try it, other guests raved about the Bar-B-Q. At arrival, we were greeted and offered dinner. Manfred (the manager) recommended the fish -FRESH- we jumped at the opportunity and were presented with what I can described as the best fillet of fish I have ever tasted. Perfect seasoning, beautiful golden crust on the outside and buttery-melt on your mouth inside. Just superb. The French fries were identically good, golden brown and delicious. You can tell they change the fryer oil often. The veggies were wonderful, too. Jaco has many options for food, and we try some of them, but none of them compared to the great quality of the Pochote Grande kitchen.
The Hotel is quite charming. Rooms are basic but comfy; A/C works great, it has a couple of beds, small closet, small fridge, and 1 bathroom/shower. You didn't come to the beach to stay in the room, right? But don't get me wrong, they are clean and nice. They all have a patio or balcony, ask for the 2nd floor, they have a bit more privacy and they are a good place to hang out with your fav mag or book or some friends and a couple of cold ones. The staff keeps the rooms super clean. The grounds are awesome, very lush with vegetation and trees. Talking about the trees, the Pochote (700 yr old tree) is something to admire. Hotel is right on the beach on the quiet side of the town, we can hear the parties going on in the distance at night, but not loud enough to disturb the peacefulness of the place. Many families here, and some couples. The pool is large enough to allow some playing time, but small enough to be cozy and make new friends.
My son left his Teddy Bear behind. We just called Manfred; he found it and immediately sent it in a package via bus the next day. We picked it up at the bus stop in San Jose. We wanted to pay him for the cost and trouble but he just said that next time we come we can take care of it. When is the last time that happened to you? He bent over backwards to accommodate us and his easy going style made us feel at home and relaxed. Manfred, you betcha we will be coming here again and again, and we will be spreading the word around to everyone we know. My dad also loved the place and he belongs to AGECO, I am pretty sure he will be coming back and spreading the word as well.
We came with friends and we all think this is the perfect place for the family, or couples looking for some "me" time. Or maybe a group of old friends. In any case, if you're looking for something good, nice, and not expensive, this is the place for you.
So, if you were like me, reading all the reviews and making sense of it all, take it to heart, you will not be disappointed if you choose Pochote Grande. And if you surf like us, walk to gate and you're in the beach, a few more yards and you're in front of a peak that breaks both ways. What else can you ask for? Loved this place. Old charming customer service, clean and top notch food. You guys rock! Keep it up!

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have more privacy and you can't beat the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Super clean rooms. North end of beach away from busy area. Beautiful plants, trees and flowers on grounds. Restaurant has good food and a great bartender. Not a large resort hotel and a nice mixture of people from all over stay there. Each room has a patio or a balcony/deck area. We could see the ocean from ours through the palms.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Pochote Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pochote Grande

Address: Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pochote Grande 3*
Also Known As:
Pochote Grande Hotel
Hotel Pochote Grande Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pochote Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Pochote Grande to your Saves list