We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“German Owner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pochote Grande

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Pochote Grande
Save
You added Hotel Pochote Grande to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
San Ramon, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“German Owner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Close to beach, rooms are nice but the owner is German and acted like he did not like Americans. he needs to be more friendly..

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    28
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prevost
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

We stayed two nights and we will stay more nights next time. They are located very close to the beach and they have the best location in Jaco for the beach sand quality and cleanliness.
The room was clean, we had two double beds, air conditioning, hot shower and the breakfast (not included) very good. A large pool was front of our room with an impressive garden and a 700 years old tree (pochote is the name of the tree).
If you come by car, there is a safety guard always on duty around the property.
We recommend this place for several days.

Daniel & Celine

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaves, Portugal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

nice clean rooms, located on the beach, delicious food and beautiful flowers! just a bit far from the center (to walk with heavy rain;)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Great vacation spent at the Pochote Grande; many thanks tot the super staff (Dank schön, Mannfred!, super clean rooms and very quiet setting.
Jean Pierre

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackheath, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

A good ending by the beach to a fantastic 10 days in Costa Rica. My wife booked online, and I was a bit concerned! - was very happy with it in the end. There were a couple of bad reviews on trip advisor, and I thought I would correct them!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa cruz, ca.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Pochote Grande in 2005. We have decided to go back to Costa Rica in October. We are so excited about going back. Manfred was so great and the staff was also great. In the morning after breakfast, the cook would throw all the leftovers out to the iguanas. It was so neat ot see the iguanas come down out of the tree for potatoes and fruit.

  • Liked — Manfred and the staff
  • Disliked — nothin'
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

Awful - from the moment we parked the car in the lot across from the construction site where they are building a hotel next door. *Warning - As of January 09, it's still several months or more from being finished.
Check-in to our desperately-in-need-of-renovation room was with a man who seemed to know nothing except that we should talk to someone else. We subsequently met his wife who was a lot nicer and a lot more knowledgeable.
Towels were sandpaper and the bathroom felt more as if it belonged in a hostel rather than a hotel. Also strange that they nickel and dime you for everything - $3 extra to use the safe deposit box in the room, $5 for the TV, etc.
Noise from the construction across the street started early in the morning - no mention made before we arrived and no allowance afterward. If we had booked for more than a few days, we would have left after the first night.
Only thing good about the hotel is that it's on the beach.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pochote Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pochote Grande

Address: Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pochote Grande 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Pochote Grande Hotel
Hotel Pochote Grande Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pochote Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.