We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“German Owner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pochote Grande

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Pochote Grande to your Saves list
Hotel Pochote Grande
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   , Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
San Ramon, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“German Owner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Close to beach, rooms are nice but the owner is German and acted like he did not like Americans. he needs to be more friendly..

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    33
    8
    3
    7
See reviews for
12
33
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prevost
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

We stayed two nights and we will stay more nights next time. They are located very close to the beach and they have the best location in Jaco for the beach sand quality and cleanliness.
The room was clean, we had two double beds, air conditioning, hot shower and the breakfast (not included) very good. A large pool was front of our room with an impressive garden and a 700 years old tree (pochote is the name of the tree).
If you come by car, there is a safety guard always on duty around the property.
We recommend this place for several days.

Daniel & Celine

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaves, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

nice clean rooms, located on the beach, delicious food and beautiful flowers! just a bit far from the center (to walk with heavy rain;)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Great vacation spent at the Pochote Grande; many thanks tot the super staff (Dank schön, Mannfred!, super clean rooms and very quiet setting.
Jean Pierre

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackheath, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

A good ending by the beach to a fantastic 10 days in Costa Rica. My wife booked online, and I was a bit concerned! - was very happy with it in the end. There were a couple of bad reviews on trip advisor, and I thought I would correct them!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa cruz, ca.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Pochote Grande in 2005. We have decided to go back to Costa Rica in October. We are so excited about going back. Manfred was so great and the staff was also great. In the morning after breakfast, the cook would throw all the leftovers out to the iguanas. It was so neat ot see the iguanas come down out of the tree for potatoes and fruit.

  • Liked — Manfred and the staff
  • Disliked — nothin'
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

Awful - from the moment we parked the car in the lot across from the construction site where they are building a hotel next door. *Warning - As of January 09, it's still several months or more from being finished.
Check-in to our desperately-in-need-of-renovation room was with a man who seemed to know nothing except that we should talk to someone else. We subsequently met his wife who was a lot nicer and a lot more knowledgeable.
Towels were sandpaper and the bathroom felt more as if it belonged in a hostel rather than a hotel. Also strange that they nickel and dime you for everything - $3 extra to use the safe deposit box in the room, $5 for the TV, etc.
Noise from the construction across the street started early in the morning - no mention made before we arrived and no allowance afterward. If we had booked for more than a few days, we would have left after the first night.
Only thing good about the hotel is that it's on the beach.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
1.1 mi away
Blue Palm Hotel
Blue Palm Hotel
#36 of 43 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#8 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#11 of 43 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Balcon del Mar
Hotel Balcon del Mar
#17 of 43 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Green
Hotel Green
#19 of 43 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#25 of 43 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pochote Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pochote Grande

Address: , Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pochote Grande 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Pochote Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pochote Grande Hotel
Hotel Pochote Grande Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pochote Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.