We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Paraiso del Sol

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Paraiso del Sol
Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 39 hotels in Jaco
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“This place is great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2008

We've stayed at Hotel Paraiso del Sol four times for a total of two months. Each stay was excellent thanks to Matt and his staff.

Hey Matt, its Rick and Cherri from VB. We miss you.

  • Liked — Very friendly
  • Disliked — Loud Brazilians
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

This hotel is by far the best hotel in Jaco, especially when it comes how great of a guy the owner is! Matt, is one of the nicest guys you can meet, and is always there to help out w/ anything you need! Ive stayed at Paraiso del sol over 10 times, starting since 1997 and its always been such a highlight of our trip and we always considered it our "home base"! Usually where we start and end our trip! Matt can make a 1 to 2 month surf trip as convienent as it can get! He has done so much for us, even going as far as allowing us to leave some things w/ the hotel as we traveled north or south to hit a few surf spots for afew days! The rooms are spotless and so is the pool! The entire crew at del sol are so nice and always have a smile on their face! I havent been there in about 3 years now, but am looking foward to see matt at the paraiso del sol soon! Matt thank you so much for everything you always done for us, i hope everything is beuno!! the long island boys will be back soon, johnny and josh, chip and scott, and tyson all say whatsups and will we deff be seeing you all lsoon!! Thanks for always making our trip that much better!! cant wait to see you again!! and the air cond is amazing in this place, as cold as you can handle it!! thanks again for everything!
Respect, Johnny

  • Liked — cleanliness, cold ac, and the people
  • Disliked — nothing, its perfect
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2006

My friends stayed here last year and I came by often. They serve no food at this hotel. It Always looked very nice to my experience and the owner drove me to the airport since he was going that way anyway. Nice people. My friends stay there every year. There must be another place with a similar name.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2006

The "bad experience must have been at another hotel, paraiso del sol has no food, and if the beach was bad, that has nothing to do with the hotel. I have stayed there MANY times and it is alway clean, friendly, safe, and affordable.. In fact I will be there next week again. Honor system bar show you how good the people are. Does cater to surfer. Bajery next door, yum yum, and a grocery acroos the street. Kitchettes help save money. Had to write in to discreit the "bad experience" reply.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2006

great place to stay . caters to surfers. nice pool clean rooms cold beer! Sweet!!!!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Paraiso del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paraiso del Sol

Also Known As:
Paraiso Del Sol Hotel
Hotel Paraiso Del Sol Costa Rica/Jaco
Address: Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 39 hotels in Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Paraiso del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Paraiso del Sol to your Saves list