We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Paraiso del Sol

Hotel Paraiso del Sol
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Paraiso del Sol
Save
You added Hotel Paraiso del Sol to your Saves list
Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 44 Hotels in Jaco
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We were driving through the street, which is filled with many hotels, looking for the best budget option and ended up here. As we were travelling with a baby and it was very hot in march, we needed a room with airconditioning. But this one had a lot more. The room was quite big, like an apartment really, with a seperate bedroom, bathroom and kitchen. Guarded parking lot and a very clean swimming pool. The pool was as hot as the air, so not quite refreshing and not used very often by anyone. So there wasn't any noise either, just quiet nights.
Only downside of the parking lot was that there was no shade to park in, so the car got very hot, from the early hours in the morning. Also to park the car, you need to drive sideways through a rather big hole between the road en the parking lot, in order not to damage your car. Unless of course you're driving a big SUV or pickup, which we didn't. They should fix that entrance one day.

Other than that, it was a nice place and good value. Friendly staff and good rooms, with wifi, a safe, fans (and aircon in the bedroom), hot shower, just anything you need. On site is a vegetarian restaurant / lunchroom with smoothies and healthy food. But as the hotel is just a short walking distance from the main street with restaurants and a supermarket right across the street, we didn't spend much time at the vegetarian place. And a great bakery next door, which was perfect in the morning.

Jaco itself was not really our cup of tea, but if you need to be here (as a base to visit Carrara National park like we did), this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Been here twice and hopefully will return in February 2014. Convenient to stores, restaurants, bars, beaches & very friendly place to stay at a great rate too! Matt, the owner, could not be more helpful or friendly. He is simply a guy that makes your stay as comfortable as could be.
No need to look at other places to stay honestly
Thanks Matt.
Best regards
Sam (Montreal)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Paraiso del Sol has been our home in Jaco for the past seven trips to Costa Rica. Matt and his staff are very helpful and friendly. The security is 24 hours and we've never known anyone to have anything stolen from their room or the cars that are parked out front.

The rooms (beds, bedding, etc.) are getting a bit worn down, but you still can't beat the value.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the back corner rooms away from the pool to avoid any noise from the pool or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

I have been going to Matt's place for 20 years and it gets a little better every time I go. Mathew takes pride in his business and it shows. The staff is great and the hotel has a lot to offer for vacationers on a budget. I will continue to vacation here for the next 20 years. The motel is close to everything weather you want to surf,bird watch,explore waterfalls,canopy tours or just relax at the beach/pool. Everyone I have taken over the last 20 years have loved his place and have returned to Pariso del sol. What a great place to vacation.

Room Tip: All rooms have a kitchenette so you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

Great place to take your family and friends. Matt and his wife were so welcoming and helpful. We where there from Nov - Dec and it was such a great place we are taking our daughter and her boyfriend with us in Feb. We are a surfing family so it is a place we will be spending lots of time at.
The rooms are clean and loaded with all you need. I love the huge shower. Memo was great and all of the staff were great. Matt's dog Spike (pint sized guard dog) is so welcoming too. He never barks.
I would recommend this place to anybody coming to visit Jaco for a week or a month.You are walking distance tto town and the beach.
Big thanks and lots of hugs to Matt and his wife for running such a safe comfortable, and relaxing establishment to make our surf trip wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2008

We've stayed at Hotel Paraiso del Sol four times for a total of two months. Each stay was excellent thanks to Matt and his staff.

Hey Matt, its Rick and Cherri from VB. We miss you.

  • Liked — Very friendly
  • Disliked — Loud Brazilians
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

This hotel is by far the best hotel in Jaco, especially when it comes how great of a guy the owner is! Matt, is one of the nicest guys you can meet, and is always there to help out w/ anything you need! Ive stayed at Paraiso del sol over 10 times, starting since 1997 and its always been such a highlight of our trip and we always considered it our "home base"! Usually where we start and end our trip! Matt can make a 1 to 2 month surf trip as convienent as it can get! He has done so much for us, even going as far as allowing us to leave some things w/ the hotel as we traveled north or south to hit a few surf spots for afew days! The rooms are spotless and so is the pool! The entire crew at del sol are so nice and always have a smile on their face! I havent been there in about 3 years now, but am looking foward to see matt at the paraiso del sol soon! Matt thank you so much for everything you always done for us, i hope everything is beuno!! the long island boys will be back soon, johnny and josh, chip and scott, and tyson all say whatsups and will we deff be seeing you all lsoon!! Thanks for always making our trip that much better!! cant wait to see you again!! and the air cond is amazing in this place, as cold as you can handle it!! thanks again for everything!
Respect, Johnny

  • Liked — cleanliness, cold ac, and the people
  • Disliked — nothing, its perfect
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Paraiso del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paraiso del Sol

Address: Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 44 Hotels in Jaco
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Paraiso Del Sol Hotel
Hotel Paraiso Del Sol Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Paraiso del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.